Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 1070

Thread: new $EE tuning thing!

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    1,478
    No screwing. It was on my high priority list. Command interface was the biggest obstacle so far, but since my coding skills improved drastically, now it is all done. It might need some optimization the way t-side sends the info to e-side, but that`s not that hard to do. I will test it on car when the weather improves a bit, so far bench test are succesfull.

  2. #2
    LT1 specialist steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    4,056
    How do you like the new interface I made. It is almost done with some small bugs fixed.
    looks good! i'm glad you got what you wanted with the individual cylinder trim. what's with the crazy green and grey control backgrounds though?

    Do you have somewhere the latest v6 source code you were working on? I might try to clean it up a bit and make a basic version.
    it didn't get very far, i might have chucked it. the problem was always that i had never written a qt program before eehack, so i definitely spent all my time trying to get the ui to cooperate.. i didn't spend enough time on abstraction (so you could easily redo parameters for different ECMs). the definition file was definitely a start, though. technically if you rewrite the definition properly, it should connect to a V6 ecm without too much reprogramming and at least datalog, but the rest of the program is a different story.

    there's a lot i would do differently now.

    i've often thought of writing something like eehack but as adaptable as tunerpro, but i don't think there's enough people tuning this old stuff for it to be worth the massive effort it would take.

  3. #3
    LT1 specialist steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    4,056
    have you tried, just for fun, just making a basic definition file for the v6 to see if it connects? might just take a new "connection mode" kind of like we did with the b-body and y-body variants that were having trouble

    it would be nice if it was built into eehack instead of a fork

  4. #4
    Fuel Injected! spfautsch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Montgomery City, MO
    Age
    53
    Posts
    883
    Quote Originally Posted by kur4o View Post
    I will test it on car when the weather improves a bit, so far bench test are succesfull.
    I'm hoping to have mine running tonight or tomorrow and I'd love to test, any chance you could post a zip of the source or create a fork on github?

  5. #5
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    1,478
    Since I haven`t time to test it yet, the patches were not implemented in eehack yet.
    You have to apply patch manualy, from the xdf I provided.

    Insert only patches with the following names from SD_AIRFLOW_PATCH folder:
    v2_[Tside....
    delta ve +....
    end of inject.....
    Cyltrim realtime.....

    Ignore any indeterminate data does not match error by first pressing remove patch , than apply patch.

    If you still have troubles, send me a bin and I will apply the needed patches.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by kur4o; 04-22-2018 at 09:47 AM.

  6. #6
    Fuel Injected! spfautsch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Montgomery City, MO
    Age
    53
    Posts
    883
    Thanks, I'll report back if and when I get to test. I'm currently fighting with an untested diy-ltcc prototype, so I may be several days before I'm ready to tweak on the bin.

    edit: I meant to add some possibly anecdotal information I noticed the other night trying to flash a few changes w/ eehack. Mind you this is on a y-body where the CCM is the aldl master. After having the ECM disconnected, I was unable to get it into programming mode - the exact error escapes me at the moment but it was something related to the key seed - eehack suggests trying key off and trying again. The only way I could get into programming mode was to try starting the engine. After that it flashed on the first attempt. Same thing happened when I pulled the red connector to check some pinouts were correct.

  7. #7
    Carb and Points!
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    1
    Hi.

    Seen some posts on this topic before.. Norton don't like eehack4.7-install.exe.

    Won't let me install.

    Probably Norton being paranoid as usual.

    norton.jpg

  8. #8

  9. #9
    Fuel Injected! spfautsch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Montgomery City, MO
    Age
    53
    Posts
    883
    Quote Originally Posted by steveo View Post
    any antivirus that would think eehack is a virus should be taken off the market
    I'm not sure I've seen one that should be "on the market". Antivirus software is a lot like credit monitoring / identity theft protection, the majority of which are marketed by the companies that maintain said data (Equifax ring a bell with anyone). The words "conflict of interest" come to mind.

    Sorry I haven't had a chance to test these yet, my chariot is finally running but today was largely spent getting blades sharpened and oil changed on all the lawn mowers I'm responsible for. Yesterday wasn't a great day either b/c I discovered that I think I have a valve sticking slightly, and my new dual friction clutch was engaging like I'd mistakenly left my wristwatch between the friction disc and pressure plate.

  10. #10
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    1,478
    Quote Originally Posted by kur4o View Post
    Since I haven`t time to test it yet, the patches were not implementet in eehack yet.
    You have to apply patch manualy, from the xdf I provided.
    I did some limited initial testing and all works fine.
    Now have to figure out how to insert patches through eehack program.

  11. #11
    LT1 specialist steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    4,056
    Now have to figure out how to insert patches through eehack program.
    i made it fairly easy

    in bin_file.cpp:

    see the apply_patches() function; it calls functions to apply each individual patch component

    by the time the apply_patches function is called, the bin is already split.

    they all call install_patch(bin_side,patch_offset,patch_data,siz eof(patch_data))

    see patch_enhanced_logging() or patch_eside_comms() for a good example of how to use it

    you could also do some tests on the raw eside or tside bin at this point to make sure it's OK to apply your particular patch, returning false if you can't.

  12. #12
    Fuel Injected! spfautsch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Montgomery City, MO
    Age
    53
    Posts
    883
    Quote Originally Posted by kur4o View Post
    I did some limited initial testing and all works fine.
    Now have to figure out how to insert patches through eehack program.
    I still haven't had a chance to test, but I had some time today to port some older mods into the 4.9 branch you posted earlier. Things like tying accelerator keys to functions in the controller ui. For instance I tied the 'S' key to the spark skew checkbox so you can adjust timing by just pressing S and then using the arrow keys (no clicking required). If you have a chance to test in another branch, it would be great to see these mods make it back to the main source tree. This also includes all the diffs in my previous post to allow compiling under QT 5.8 and newer.

    I'm going to pull my engine back out to swap to a tamer clutch disk and have the sticky valve guides honed, so I'm going to be several more weeks before I can test.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  13. #13
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    1,478
    I test it on 5.6 and it compliles without error.
    However the base source code you used was some old beta test version that is not good.

    Here is an upload of the latest tested source with all mode 4 working and some initial changes to patch.
    I am sorry to tell you but you will have to transfer all the changes to this source code.

    The keyboard shortcuts is very good idea. I did give it a test and it is awesome. It will be great to other m4 controls and expand it to other functions of the program, like call mode4 window with a button or call datalog window.

    Steveo I am thinking to split the patch on main patch and some add-on enhancements which will be user configurable. The main patch will contain only logging enhancement and sd/maf switching. The add-ons will add extra mode4 controls. That way when you are finished with tuning you can load the basic version and save PCM cpu power with unnecessary jumps.

    The patch side is implemented by global enable switch and is hard to manupilate. The easiest way will be to add a check box on the flash window that will be visible in the bin_file.cpp. I hope you can help with the linking or give some hints how can it be done.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  14. #14
    Fuel Injected! spfautsch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Montgomery City, MO
    Age
    53
    Posts
    883
    Quote Originally Posted by kur4o View Post
    Here is an upload of the latest tested source with all mode 4 working and some initial changes to patch.
    I am sorry to tell you but you will have to transfer all the changes to this source code.
    No problem, I'll try to get it done and post back later today / tonight.

  15. #15
    LT1 specialist steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    4,056
    Quote Originally Posted by kur4o View Post
    Steveo I am thinking to split the patch on main patch and some add-on enhancements which will be user configurable. The main patch will contain only logging enhancement and sd/maf switching. The add-ons will add extra mode4 controls. That way when you are finished with tuning you can load the basic version and save PCM cpu power with unnecessary jumps.

    The patch side is implemented by global enable switch and is hard to manupilate. The easiest way will be to add a check box on the flash window that will be visible in the bin_file.cpp. I hope you can help with the linking or give some hints how can it be done.
    you could do user configurable custom patches for sure. adding more checkboxes to enable patches wouldn't be too hard.

    you do have to think about something, though.. right now eehack has a patch version scheme so it knows exactly what functionality is present when you connect, and it can modify the ui accordingly, hide/disable controls, whatever. i did it like this so you could plug it into any car and it would behave properly, whether it was patched, factory, or even patched with older versions.

    if you did individual switchable patches, you could either:

    - extend that version scheme, maybe assign a second byte or two somewhere so you have enable switches for each additional patch you do, something that is 0x00 in the factory bin, and at least that would make it backwards compatible with bins patched from older eehack versions

    - forget it and leave the ui inconsistent with controls that may or may not work depending on which patches the user chooses to install, which would confuse everyone

    - store the last patch state and use that as your 'detection', which would be very easy to do and work just great as long as you are only tuning one vehicle and only flashing with eehack

    i hope you pick the first one, things are pretty seamless right now, which took a lot of thought to achieve

    just what kind of enhancements are you working on anyway?

Similar Threads

  1. 1badcell and thats not the only thing
    By 1badcell in forum Introductions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-31-2013, 02:25 AM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-27-2012, 09:03 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-07-2012, 05:26 PM
  4. Minor thing.
    By historystamp in forum GearHead EFI Forum Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-22-2012, 12:00 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •