Thread: What XDF/Bin do I need?

Carb and Points!

What XDF/Bin do I need?

Hey all, I'm brand new to all this, and hoping not to display my ignorance by the questions I ask, but also not really wanting to brick too many pcms figuring it out myself.. First of all what XDF will I need to read my computer, and if I cant find the exact one, which one will work (see pcm/engine details below)? Is it the SERV# or HDW# on my pcm? Also, if I cant find the right XDF, will I have to download a bin and write that to my pcm or can I use the bin currently on my pcm? (the numbers have to match right?)

Here's the details on the engine/tranny/pcm
    5.3 lm7 with matching factory pcm out of a 2004 1500
    PCM Serv # 12586242 HDW#12583660
    2002 4l60e out of a seperate donor truck

Plan is to put them all together in an 80s square body

Fuel Injected!
    Hello,

The XDF is of zero use while reading the OS contents of your PCM. The XDF is only useful for viewing and editing the OS with a program such as Tuner Pro RT.

What are the colors for the connectors for your PCM? I'm guessing its blue / green. If yes, this is a 1 megabyte PCM and there is only one good operating system for your PCM that also has a good matching and richly featured XDF file. This is known by the last four digits of it OS number - "7603".

You are likely going to need a bench OBD2 wiring harness with a 2-3 amp power supply at no less than about 12.3 volts DC. I don't recommend writing to your PCM with it installed in a vehicle though many people are successful doing it.

What hardware and software do you plan to use to write your edited OS back to your PCM? For hardware, I recommend the Bluetooth OBDLink MX+. For writing software, there is "PCM Hammer" or "LS Droid".

I have never bricked a PCM but I do recommend buying a spare PCM from the junkyard. Or two, three or four such as I have. Some purchased for as little as $18.00 on Half Price Sale days.

Rick