Thread: Noob here. Looking to learn. 01 single cab Silverado with 5.3 swap

Carb and Points!

Noob here. Looking to learn. 01 single cab Silverado with 5.3 swap

So I have probably one of the most simplest swaps n it’s been hell getting here but I’ve made it. My truck runs n drives but my cluster is lit up like a Christmas tree. Those are all things I aim to fix n I welcome any recommendations from any one.

i signed up here to learn about tuning and I wanna start with a stock tune but with the vats and speed limiter removed. Hopefully some one here can pointe in the right direction.

Thanks.

dave w

Fuel Injected!
    What PCM? What operating system in the PCM in your running vehicle? Who and what system has already killed off "VATS" - Vehicle Anti Theft System? Changing your particular stored "stock tune" might not be possible but a very similar "stock tune" as a replacement is very possible.

Do you live in an area with strict emissions control laws?

Rick
    1970 Chevy El Camino, LM7 Engine, 4L60E - Two 896 and two 0411 PCM's

Carb and Points!
    I guess I’m confused on the information I have been reading. Idk any of the details yet of my pcm. But I have a donor 01 extended cab Silverado so what ever came on it. I don’t think I’ll have much off an issue as far as it goes to emissions and if so I know a guy.

As far as tuning goes I’m still in the research faze and first I need to build me a test bench for my pcm. So at the moment I do have 2 pcms.

I plan to mess with this with a laptop unless I absolutely have to use an android phone. I have the obd link lx which I had planned to use.

Fuel Injected!
    Hello,

If you are running the stock original 2001 model year PCM, it'll be a "P01", 512 k byte memory capacity device with red / blue connectors. Both of your PCM's need to be of this type for least confusion. These are typically identified by the "0411" or "896" numbering in the last digits on the white PCM labeling on each device.