Thread: K1500 5.7 tbi project.

Carb and Points!

K1500 5.7 tbi project.

Hey guys. I recently got a 1994 chevy k1500. With 350 and 4l60e. And I am kinda new to TBI. Well moding it any ways. My dad got 88 k1500 brand new. And eventually gave it to me. But I yanked out all the electronics for good old 4 bbl fun. But this time I want to keep it TBI .
    I will be putting on a set of shorty headers and duals exhaust. In the next week or so. Also getting a Holley projection intake. Now where I need help the is getting a cam that the ecu can operate with. And get a chip made for it. As I am not a computer guy.

Thanks

There are many cam options.

Several years ago I helped with a Vortec / TBI engine swap using the stock 5.7 liter L31 roller camshaft short block assembly and TBI Heads / TBI Intake, NOT THE VORTEC HEADS. There are additional expenses with Vortec Heads, so keeping the budget to a bare minimum the TBI heads and TBI intake were reused. The computer was fairly happy with the combination of L31 Roller camshaft and TBI heads / intake.

I'm thinking your combination will ultimately need custom tuning for optimal performance.

dave w

Carb and Points!
    Who would a person talk to. To get a chip done ?

Fuel Injected!
    Is it a roller cam ready block?

Carb and Points!
    I did not check yet. But 94 should be. The block is not machined for a fuel pump.

Quote Originally Posted by 884x4400ci View Post
    Who would a person talk to. To get a chip done ?
    That is a challenging question.

The sample screen shots below shows most of the information (data lot) needed to tune a chip. Without the data log, tuning a chip would be like trying to tune an early 70's engine (with points ignition) without a dwell meter, without a timing light, and without a vacuum gauge.

dave w
    Attached Images Attached Images

I did not check yet. But 94 should be. The block is not machined for a fuel pump.