Bringing TBI and Multi Port Fuel Injection to a New Level.     EFI Conversions and Tuning! Seattle to Portland! E-mail Tuning Consultant!
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Tuner Pro "No" To Changing Certain Parameters

  1. #1
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Age
    61
    Posts
    24

    Tuner Pro "No" To Changing Certain Parameters

    Hello,

    I have a question and I would ask it on the Tuner Pro RT forum but it appears that Registration is currently disabled on that forum. Obi Wan Kenobe . . . you are my only hope.

    I have a BIN and its mated and matched XDF file open on Tuner Pro but I'm a little perplexed when the program strongly recommends that I "NOT" change something. I mostly see this in the "System" tab when I want to change the engine type and transmission type.

    Should I worry or proceed on to change these items? Will this destroy the calibration data if I make these supposedly forbidden changes?

    Many thanks,

    Rick

  2. #2
    Super Moderator dave w's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    4,412
    The fuel table and spark table parameters are the most common to make adjustments to. The emissions parameters are the next most common.

    Until you have a good understanding of what the parameter does, do not change the parameter.

    Please post your parameter question, but be very specific. It is very helpful to Post the .bin file and the .xdf file your asking a question.

    dave w

  3. #3
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Age
    61
    Posts
    24

    Tuner Pro "NO"

    Hello Dave,

    OK, many thanks for the reply - bin and xdf attached. I have not written anything to a PCM so no worries (yet) about possibly bricking a PCM. Even when I do eventually write something, it will be using a three amp powered, bench harness to a lab rat, junk yard PCM for a vehicle that is not my daily driver.

    Please note the red circle on the picture attachment. If I can't pick a different engine or transmission within the System tab of an OS where I arguably have a correctly supporting XDF file, how do I do it? I would like it to be a 5.3 liter engine and 4L60E transmission, VIN change not required. There are other things I'd like to change but I won't because of the same warnings.

    Still learning here.

    Many thanks,

    Rick
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by B52Bombardier1; 2 Weeks Ago at 04:08 PM.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator dave w's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    4,412
    Thank you for posting the .bin and .xdf you are working with.

    I use TunerPro for most of the OBD1 computers I work with. I use TunerCats OBD2 for most of the OBD2 computers I work with. I have not used TunerPro for OBD2 computers.

    Hopefully other members using TunerPro for OBD2 will reply.

    dave w

  5. #5
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    196
    Parameters that you are encouraged not to change, were included in the XDFs for "information only" - to confirm the original vehicle platform and programmed options.

    As an example - changing the transmission type will often wreak havoc, as the accompanying "background" parameters are not changed.

    To make changes to the engine size (e.g. using a base 5.3L calibration to operate a 6.0L engine), change the Cylinder Volume (B0104), the Fuel Injector Flow Rate (B4001) - and other Fuel Injector parameters as are necessary, the Main VE Table (B0101), and the MAF Sensor Calibration (B5001).

    This is a grossly oversimplified explanation - but it should point you in the correct direction.

  6. #6
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Age
    61
    Posts
    24
    Hello Again,

    And still learning. Please see attached Tuner Pro RT screen shot picture. Its the red calibration numbers at the top right that worry me. I believe that this BIN and this XDF file are "meant" for each other. Do the red numbers for the calibration values indicate that they really are not meant for each other or that perhaps the BIN was tampered with before I got it?

    Rick
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #7
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    196
    The calibration segments will always be displayed in a red shaded box.

    Don't worry too about what colour the shading is in - TunerPro assigns the shading colour based on the allowed range of a parameter.

    Take a look at a Spark High Octane Table (B5913) - portions of the table will often be displayed with a red shading.

  8. #8
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    28
    Quote Originally Posted by B52Bombardier1 View Post
    Hello Dave,

    OK, many thanks for the reply - bin and xdf attached. I have not written anything to a PCM so no worries (yet) about possibly bricking a PCM. Even when I do eventually write something, it will be using a three amp powered, bench harness to a lab rat, junk yard PCM for a vehicle that is not my daily driver.

    Please note the red circle on the picture attachment. If I can't pick a different engine or transmission within the System tab of an OS where I arguably have a correctly supporting XDF file, how do I do it? I would like it to be a 5.3 liter engine and 4L60E transmission, VIN change not required. There are other things I'd like to change but I won't because of the same warnings.

    Still learning here.

    Many thanks,

    Rick
    I can tell you that changing those parameters with HP Tuners has no effect on the operation of the vehicle. Changing the cylinder volume parameter does though. Same with changing transmission type. No effect. People will try to make a calibration originally a 4L60 run a 4L80 by changing the transmission type parameter when it tales a segment swap to do that. My guess it is only for identification purposes only.
    Last edited by 2xls1; 2 Weeks Ago at 08:39 AM.

  9. #9
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Age
    61
    Posts
    24
    Hello,

    Many thanks to all who have answered here. I will try to keep the number of supremely stupid questions that I ask to a minimum but I will likely still ask plenty of only generally stupid questions.

    Such as - How does Tuner Pro RT support a segment swap? Is it even possible because I see nothing about segment swaps in the Tuner Pro Help.

    I see that LS Droid has a Segment Swap utility and I have supplied the information for a primary and alternate operating system but nothing happens after that. What am I missing here with LS Droid?

    Many thanks,

    Rick

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-06-2017, 06:03 AM
  2. Replies: 55
    Last Post: 11-13-2013, 03:55 PM
  3. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 02-28-2013, 06:38 AM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-10-2012, 08:38 AM
  5. Knock Sensor Tech "Topic of Week! 2/12/2012"
    By EagleMark in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 02-15-2012, 03:25 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •