Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Replaced L03 with an L31 in my Firebird and it has been a tuning nightmare ever since

Replaced L03 with an L31 in my Firebird and it has been a tuning nightmare ever since

Okay guys, first off pardon my long-winded nature but I'm very detail-oriented. I'll start off with a little background on myself as I am new to this forum. I'm a master technician at a local Chevy dealer and have about 11 years with GM now with experience at all 6 of the original major brands. My mainline experience would be with Chevy and Cadillac focused on light-body and major engine repair. I have been tuning for about 5 years now, but primarily on near-stock vehicles and "converting" them to run on E85. I found out on my current project just how little I know about ecm tuning (I am quite adept with a carb and HEI for a person my age). The swap was rushed and I was not properly prepared, but my L03 was quickly fading and I had 3 easily repairable L31's sitting in crates.

The vehicle and hardware;