Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 48

Thread: repair an 8051 PCM

  1. #16
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    Orange, CA
    Posts
    757
    Quote Originally Posted by lionelhutz View Post
    You can't put power on the flash chip to program it without that power also powering the rest of the circuit assuming it all shares a common power supply.
    Except that this isn't necessarily the case. For example, I have an ICP header on one of my prototype boards that goes to the pins on my microcontroller required to program it were it to go faulty. Those pins are also used to talk over I2C to a DAC, and for other things. But if I'm not powering the board from the input rail and am instead connecting to the ICP header, then the rest of the circuit is unaffected as it's not powered up. Sure the signals I'm sending to the microcontroller are going to also hit the DAC, but the DAC isn't receiving any power so it won't matter.

    Similarly, if GM designed a header to allow in-circuit programming, why would you assume that programming the flash chip via this header would somehow power up the whole PCM? Similarly, if one were to make a jumper connector to flash the chip directly, why would the rest of what the chip's connected to matter since there's no power to the PCM?

  2. #17
    LT1 specialist steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    4,026
    my first dumbass thought was nipping the processor vss and reattaching it after. but im an ameture with this stuff and the chances of it catching fire are greater than zero.

  3. #18
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Marianna, FL
    Posts
    108
    So this bytes. Got my parts in but found the Ebay programmer I bought requires a parallel port and the program for it wont accept a serial port. Working with Win 7 on that computer if it helps.

    I looked back and the only difference I can find from the 28F512 in the 8051 ecm vs the 27SF512 used in my Corvette is pin 2. the 28F leaves it blank where the 27SF list it as A16. I am really out of my league reading these data sheets but one would think you could use the Burn 2 with an atapter and a little adjusting of some settings.

    27SF512 Data sheet
    28F512 data sheet

    For the most part it seems like all should carry over but I'm not sure about the unused pin and how that would play into the programming.

    Side note I have the sockets in and set already, that went a lot easier than I expected

  4. #19
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    1,475
    Don`t bother with burn2. They noted that other chips are not supported. It could be a software thing or a lack of 12v source needed for erasing and writing.

    Get an old PC with parallel port and xp and use the programmer you have. There are no requirements other than parallel port, so look for the cheapest one.

  5. #20
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    Orange, CA
    Posts
    757
    Space, when you look at the datasheets the only thing that matters is the programming/flashing section. This section explains which pins are used for this and how. I guarantee you that A16 won’t matter for programming purposes, so if the rest of the pins are the same, the reset vector is the same, and programming voltage is the same, you should be fine.

  6. #21
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Marianna, FL
    Posts
    108
    Quote Originally Posted by kur4o View Post
    Don`t bother with burn2. They noted that other chips are not supported. It could be a software thing or a lack of 12v source needed for erasing and writing.

    Get an old PC with parallel port and xp and use the programmer you have. There are no requirements other than parallel port, so look for the cheapest one.
    the 27SF512 sent by Moates denotes an 11.4-12v VppH for writing/ erasing the chip. not sure how the Burn 2 gets it. I had an older computer that I have not used in a few years but on trying to start it up for this it wont even post.

  7. #22
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    1,475
    They are different type of chips. The 27sf512 is eprom erasable type and the n28f512 is flash type. It is likely to use different commands set for the flashing process. So it must be a software limitation.

    You can try contacting Moates with the issue. They should be able to tell if it is possible.

  8. #23
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Marianna, FL
    Posts
    108
    Thanks Kur40, I emailed moates for the kicks and giggles but dont expect a fix.

  9. #24
    LT1 specialist steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    4,026
    amazon will have a usb to parallel or pci to parallel solution on your doorstep overnight for like 15 bucks

    there is a usb to anything adapter these days

  10. #25
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Marianna, FL
    Posts
    108
    I finally did it. I resurected my 12 year old gaming PC with a parallel port and worked my way through the files and switched but I have successfully burnt a chip, I think. About to fill the other and try to remember which one is T and E side

  11. #26
    LT1 specialist steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    4,026
    nice! the guys that originally developed this program probably had a 486. nothing wrong with old hardware.

    if it doesn't boot at first, after you ensure your socket is good, remember the height of the chip in that stupid socket is critical. since you have to snip the 'floor' out of the socket, and putting it back is a crazy glue job, you might need to shim the chip until the pins make contact.

    i fought with that one for a bit my first time thinking my chips were programmed incorrectly

  12. #27

  13. #28
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Marianna, FL
    Posts
    108
    Quote Originally Posted by steveo View Post
    nice! the guys that originally developed this program probably had a 486. nothing wrong with old hardware.

    if it doesn't boot at first, after you ensure your socket is good, remember the height of the chip in that stupid socket is critical. since you have to snip the 'floor' out of the socket, and putting it back is a crazy glue job, you might need to shim the chip until the pins make contact.

    i fought with that one for a bit my first time thinking my chips were programmed incorrectly
    thanks, I actually just tested it in the can and it wont communicate but its late and I have to work the next 2 days. I will absolutely try shimming before going crazy though.

  14. #29
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Marianna, FL
    Posts
    108
    IT LIVES!!! Seems I didnt have good contact on a few pins. I also noticed the data stream is more consistent.

    * it lived. After one startup it wont communicate again. maybe the chips moved,a project for another time
    Last edited by space387; 01-13-2020 at 07:52 PM.

  15. #30
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Marianna, FL
    Posts
    108
    So steveo I am now being met with an issue sending a tune. In EE hack I open up the program and connect just fine. I see data like Map fluctuating and TPS responds when I push the pedal. When I go to flash and hit stability test it says it can not get the access key to release( I think) and says to cycle the key but nothing changes it. Any Ideas? I am using the starter bins from your website.

Similar Threads

  1. LT1 ECM 16188051 repair source?
    By EDZIP in forum TunerPro Tuning Talk
    Replies: 51
    Last Post: 08-17-2021, 07:22 PM
  2. Mitsubishi ECM repair source recommendation
    By EDZIP in forum Other EFI systems and related topics
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-17-2016, 04:24 AM
  3. Help with tune 8051 95 $EE
    By jthompson122183 in forum TunerPro Tuning Talk
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 10-17-2014, 09:35 PM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-15-2014, 09:17 PM
  5. TBI throttle shaft repair recommendations
    By babywag in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-10-2013, 04:29 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •