Bringing TBI and Multi Port Fuel Injection to a New Level.     EFI Conversions and Tuning! Seattle to Portland! E-mail Tuning Consultant!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 38

Thread: repair an 8051 PCM

  1. #1
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Age
    31
    Posts
    56

    repair an 8051 PCM

    So I have found the walk through on how to remove and replace the botched memory chips for the 8051 ecu but when it come to what you have to flash on them and with what device you flash seems to be clear as mud. I have a Moates Burn2, first off if I find an adapter can I use this to flash? Second I am fairly sure it was the E-side that died but would like to be able to swap them both out, can some one direct me to the bins to burn or do you send the tune like you would through EEhack?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    Orange, CA
    Posts
    142
    If you get an adapter, the Burn2 should work just fine. I have a cheap Chinesium MiniPRO TL866 and it does the job, in case for some reason the Burn2 doesn't have a definition for the chip in question, chances are the TL866 does.

    You absolutely need a BIN, because the EEPROM programmer uses this binary data to flash the chip. If the data on the chips are bad, then the PCM won't communicate over ALDL, so you can't flash with EEHack.

    The BINs are not the same BINs you'd use for EEHack, because for some reason the raw chip data is "scrambled" compared to BINs flashed over ALDL. The correct BINs for burning to the chips directly are here: http://www.gearhead-efi.com/Fuel-Inj...ll=1#post14452

    Best of luck!

  3. #3
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,816
    ...when it come to what you have to flash on them...
    yeah that's a bit unclear. there's a thread on it here but since i can never find it, i should make a page on my site about it. here ya go... http://fbodytech.com/bin-files-2/ecm-repair-bins/

    ...and with what device you flash...
    any programmer with a socket adaptor to fit those eeproms will work fine. your burn2 is totally capable of that.

  4. #4
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Age
    31
    Posts
    56
    Steveo I was searching and saw you post something about trying to flash the chip on the board. Did anything ever come of that?

    Also I'm sure I'm not searching correctly but can anyone find a link to the adapter I need to flash the mem chip with a burn2?

    Come to thing of it if some one can pass along the pinout cross reference of what pins match what spot on the burner I'll make my own
    Last edited by space387; 3 Weeks Ago at 10:45 PM.

  5. #5
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,816
    Quote Originally Posted by space387 View Post
    Steveo I was searching and saw you post something about trying to flash the chip on the board. Did anything ever come of that?
    nah never finished that project. believe me if i did i'd be offering low cost repair services for these ecms. maybe one day when i get another test bench ecm going

  6. #6
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    942
    Check ebay for a PLCC32 to DIP32 adapter. Should be easily under $5. Too cheap to try and do yourself. But, if you did want to, then download the datasheets or Google Image search the 28F010 flash chip and you'll see pinouts for both the DIP and PLCC versions. The adapter would be made by matching it up pin for pin PLCC to DIP.

  7. #7
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    Orange, CA
    Posts
    142
    That doesn't help you do it on the board itself though. I did find a potential way to do that but I haven't wired it up yet to try, not to mention I don't have a spare PCM laying around I can sacrifice since both of mine are in running cars. If you're trying to do something on the board, an adapter to try that out is gonna run you a lot more than $5. ;)

  8. #8
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    942
    When did this thread turn into one about programming the chips while they are still on the board? It's probably not a good idea to try that anyways. If your PCM is working then you flash it over the ODB port.

    The OP asked about removing the chips and socketing the PCM and a <$5 adapter will put a PLCC chip into a DIP programmer socket.

    It's not clear from the Moates description if the Burn2 would do it, but it doesn't appear it can. Possibly try the 29F040 chip selection but only do 1/4 of the size to program the same size as the 28F010?

  9. #9
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    Orange, CA
    Posts
    142
    Quote Originally Posted by lionelhutz View Post
    When did this thread turn into one about programming the chips while they are still on the board?
    Quote Originally Posted by space387 View Post
    Steveo I was searching and saw you post something about trying to flash the chip on the board. Did anything ever come of that?
    Right about here. ;)

  10. #10
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,816
    wow i never realized the burn2 was such a limited programmer, that's too bad. might not work. unclear if it's a software limitation or what

  11. #11
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,816
    Quote Originally Posted by lionelhutz View Post
    When did this thread turn into one about programming the chips while they are still on the board? It's probably not a good idea to try that anyways. If your PCM is working then you flash it over the ODB port.
    there's a header on the board with each pin leading directly to the chip, probably GM designed it for programming on-board, however it's unclear how/if it works. it's definitely not something i'd 'just go ahead and try' without someone else doing it first.

  12. #12
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    942
    Trying to drive the address and data lines when the onboard circuitry is also doing the same isn't generally a good idea.

  13. #13
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    Orange, CA
    Posts
    142
    How about when they aren’t? If the PCM isn’t powered up, why would connecting directly to the flash chip be a problem?

  14. #14
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    942
    You can't put power on the flash chip to program it without that power also powering the rest of the circuit assuming it all shares a common power supply.

    But, say the other circuitry had no power. There usually is transient voltage protection on each pin of an IC that is built to keep the pin voltage between the voltages applied between Vcc and Vss. So, with both Vcc and Vss at 0V, the pins shouldn't have any voltage applied to them at all.

    You should start your own thread to discuss if it's possible to program the chip directly instead of thread jacking the OP's post asking for help to repair his PCM.
    Last edited by lionelhutz; 3 Weeks Ago at 06:29 PM.

  15. #15
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,816
    the OP is the one who asked about this in the 4th post
    so i answered
    others then discussed
    what’s the problem here
    you cant thread jack your own damn thread man

Similar Threads

  1. LT1 ECM 16188051 repair source?
    By EDZIP in forum TunerPro Tuning Talk
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 16 Hours Ago, 01:00 PM
  2. Mitsubishi ECM repair source recommendation
    By EDZIP in forum Other EFI systems and related topics
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-16-2016, 06:24 PM
  3. Help with tune 8051 95 $EE
    By jthompson122183 in forum TunerPro Tuning Talk
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 10-17-2014, 11:35 AM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-15-2014, 11:17 AM
  5. TBI throttle shaft repair recommendations
    By babywag in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-10-2013, 06:29 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •