Bringing TBI and Multi Port Fuel Injection to a New Level.     EFI Conversions and Tuning! Seattle to Portland! E-mail Tuning Consultant!
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: 350 TBI - increasing idle setting for AC Switch?

  1. #1
    Fuel Injected! Mrgto68's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    46

    350 TBI - increasing idle setting for AC Switch?

    I'm looking for a way to manually increase the idle setting of my 350 tbi.

    Installed a new engine harness, removed all electronics not necessary to the operation of the motor. One option I'm looking at is the AC switch. Throwing the AC to ecu wire on a toggle switch when toggled on it throes the signal to the ecu. Is it possible to program the chip to increase the "AC" idle to let's say 950 rpm's?

    Thanks

  2. #2

  3. #3
    Fuel Injected! Mrgto68's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    46
    Quote Originally Posted by steveo View Post
    probably possible but we need to know what ECM/mask you're using each time you ask questions like this

    ahhh my bad, I thought had uploaded the photo. .

    AHWZ 7639

    20190217_114932.jpg

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Lakes Region, NH
    Age
    49
    Posts
    3,126
    The ecm is the 1227747.
    The mask is $42.
    The BCC is AHWZ.


    Is it possible to program the chip to increase the "AC" idle to let's say 950 rpm's?
    Yes, it's possible to program the ecm to increase idle speed if it appears the A/C is engaged.

  5. #5
    Fuel Injected! Mrgto68's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    46
    Quote Originally Posted by 1project2many View Post
    The ecm is the 1227747.
    The mask is $42.
    The BCC is AHWZ.

    Yes, it's possible to program the ecm to increase idle speed if it appears the A/C is engaged.
    This is good news! What would be the easiest and most affordable way to accomplish this? I'm an old Carburetor Wrencher, I was able to figure out how to install TunerPro RT and get the ecu to throw live data to my laptop, this is new territory for me.

    thanks again!

    -Mike

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Lakes Region, NH
    Age
    49
    Posts
    3,126
    The easiest way is to pay someone else.

    Affordable will depend on how many additional changes you may want as time passes. If you invest in the tools then you can make your own changes whenever you'd like.

  7. #7
    Fuel Injected! Mrgto68's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    46
    Quote Originally Posted by 1project2many View Post
    The easiest way is to pay someone else.

    Affordable will depend on how many additional changes you may want as time passes. If you invest in the tools then you can make your own changes whenever you'd like.
    Good point. This is for a custom off road use only vehicle. 5 mph average, possible up to 20 mph. It sits at idle 80% of the time it's being use turning two high output Alternators, which is why I'm looking to manually bump the idle. I won't be doing much in the way of programming besides bumping the AC Idle switch. Would love to program it to increase AC Switch idle to 950-1000 rpm with the flip of the switch.

    What would I be looking at to have someone program it for me.

  8. #8
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,594
    i had a peek and there are already added steps for when a/c is engaged in your stock calibration (so it doesn't stall out from the load), but then the 'idle target' isn't increased so it would settle back to stock idle target.

    your stock idle target is 600, here's a bin with the idle target 300 more rpm when it thinks a/c is on

    now you just need to get some programming gear together so you can modify your chip and throw it on there, recommend stuff from moates.net i guess

    attached xdf and the bin, load both in tunerpro and make further changes if you want
    Attached Files Attached Files

  9. #9
    Fuel Injected! Mrgto68's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    46
    Thanks for this! now need to go read up on the stuff from moates.

    wondering if there are any members that know how to do this stuff in Vegas. nah that would be too easy lol

Similar Threads

  1. Setting Base Idle using tunerpro 1227730 ecm.
    By tommylee11491 in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-02-2017, 12:38 AM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-06-2016, 07:06 AM
  3. VE table changes (increasing size)
    By beestoys in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 02-21-2014, 11:25 AM
  4. Increasing TBI fuel pressure
    By mmigacz in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-28-2013, 04:57 PM
  5. Setting up my TBI
    By 1great40 in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 04-18-2013, 06:46 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •