Thread: 99 Isuzu 3.5 anyone know about these ECUs?

Carb and Points!

99 Isuzu 3.5 anyone know about these ECUs?

To start, I'm new to this board so hopefully my project I'm embarking on will be welcome here and there will be folks here both interested in helping as well as knowledgeable enough to help me in the areas I'm lacking in.

As my day job I work as a software engineer. I primarily work in languages such as puppet, go-lang and Ruby and focus heavily in a Linux infrastructure-oriented development environment. I also know C/C++ and have spent a lot of time toying around with the arduino platform. This doesn't necessarily I"m ready to take on everything this project will most likely present me with but it shows I'm no stranger to computers and how they work. I also spent a few years as a professional automotive tech, I have been working on cars basically my whole life, am good with a wrench and am not afraid to get my hands dirty.

Now about this project....
    I am a huge Isuzu enthusiast (yes we exist) I grew up in my dad's truck and now have the pleasure of owning my own. They're ultra reliable, easy to work on, and can take on just about anything off the road on the trails. This isn't to say they don't have their issues. Probably the #1 problem found on the late model Isuzu V6s (named 6VD1 3.2 and 6VE1 3.5) is their tendency to trigger CEL for a P0401 which is EGR flow insufficient. This is often times fixed by replacing the GM EGR valve, cleaning the intake side of the tube as it sometimes can get clogged with carbon or sometimes both. I want to try to establish a 3rd way of fixing this problem. And that being to delete the EGR system all-together. The benefits to this would include both lowing air intake temperatures and would lessen the amount of carbon and other junk being recirculated into the engine.