Bringing TBI and Multi Port Fuel Injection to a New Level.     EFI Conversions and Tuning! Seattle to Portland! E-mail Tuning Consultant!
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: TP Dash Display

  1. #1
    Fuel Injected! dktool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Covina, CA.
    Posts
    88

    TP Dash Display

    Is there a way to use an android tablet for a TP dash display ?
    I have a nice 10" model collecting dust that would make a nice dash.
    Dean

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Six_Shooter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    2,890
    ALDLDroid uses Tuner Pro files and has a customizable dash.
    The man who says something is impossible, is usually interrupted by the man doing it.

  3. #3
    Fuel Injected! dktool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Covina, CA.
    Posts
    88
    I am revisiting this subject, I purchased and installed ALDLdroid on a Samsung 10" Galaxy Note model SM-P605V tablet.
    I transferred my working adx file to the adx folder in the app, the menu items show up on it as expected and I moved / edited some to make a simple test dash display.

    So far all went well but..... I try to connect via usb using a female-female usb coupler from the cable from my moates aldl box to a usb-mini usb cable into the table. No workie

    Anyone have any tips to help make this connect ?

    Is the adx file the only one it needs or does the xdf also need to be in there or ??
    Dean

  4. #4
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,712
    only the adx is needed

    it's probably an issue with your cabling

    there's a (small) difference between a female to female usb coupler (which is a mostly useless device) and a usb OTG adaptor

    you need an OTG adaptor so your tablet can connect to a usb device through a port which usually goes the other way

    tablet also needs to support usb host mode (think that one does)

  5. #5
    Fuel Injected! dktool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Covina, CA.
    Posts
    88
    Thanks, I will try that adapter.
    Dean

  6. #6
    Fuel Injected! MQQN28's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Age
    72
    Posts
    58
    dktool

    One other thing to check is that the ADX file is not set to receive via Bluetooth. If it is it may not work with a cable.
    This is the RS232 checkbox in the tuner pro ADX editor.

    A quick way to check is look at the ADX file, (use note pad to open it)

    example
    <!-- Written 09/12/2017 17:18:22 -->
    <ADXHEADER>
    <guid>18af8016-89a1-4b91-8b8a-92d2d7d416c3</guid>
    <flags>0x10000</flags>
    <objectcount>50</objectcoun

    This shows the flag 0x10000 this indicates RS232 not set
    If it was 0x01 the rs232 is set.

    Make changes using tuner pro editor.

    I've tried an early 10" Samsung tablet via Bluetooth ok, so right settings and cable it should work.

    MOC
    Ford 28 Roadster Pick Up
    Ford Flathead 51 8BA. Balanced, ported,3/4 cam, Edelbrock 59A heads, C4 trans, 8" diff 3.55 narrowed 40mm /side.
    Fuel injection by Flatattack racing, 60mm Holden TB.
    ECM Delco 1227808 160 baud.

  7. #7
    Fuel Injected! dktool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Covina, CA.
    Posts
    88
    Steveo nailed it, I received the OTG adapter, plugged in and the tablet asked permission to use the usb for the app and that was it ......... instant data.

    This app is also much easier to edit the display, move and resize the data then using the laptop with TP
    Dean

  8. #8
    Fuel Injected! dktool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Covina, CA.
    Posts
    88
    So now I find that I cannot charge the tablet through the otg adapter, no big deal just interesting.
    Is there a way to have the moates box providing data and a source charging the tablet at the same time ?
    Dean

  9. #9
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,712
    only kinda. an otg adapter tells the host its providing power but not accepting it. there are adaptors that sometimes help with that

  10. #10
    Fuel Injected! dktool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Covina, CA.
    Posts
    88
    Dean

  11. #11
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Newzealand
    Posts
    493
    The adaptor you linked won't charge the tablet they provide power to whatever is plugged into the usb like hard drives etc as far as I've searched you can't charge via otg .people have tried with modified rooted phones and extra external hardware its very difficult to get it to work

  12. #12
    Fuel Injected! dktool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Covina, CA.
    Posts
    88
    Quote Originally Posted by delcowizzid View Post
    The adaptor you linked won't charge the tablet they provide power to whatever is plugged into the usb like hard drives etc
    That could be helpful if the moates box consumes power from the tablet ??
    Dean

  13. #13
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    51
    Here is my setup that I have installed in my truck and works great. It is a Raspberry pi 3B with a 5in touchscreen mounted in the dash. I have a relay that turns on a 12v to 5v 3a convertor to power it. then have the obd1 connector to usb. I have a second usb out to a connector in the lower dash for the usb stick to copy the datalogs. It boots in about 45 sec and is running android os so I have the android tuner pro app. I don't have to worry about taking the laptop or it not being charged just power on and datalog, also it can be used as a digital dash display. 20180212_220317041_iOS.jpg

    not sure about android but for the iphone/pad they make a thunderbolt out to 2 connectors so you can charge and connect to a device, maybe they have something like that for your tablet. The other possibility is to get a bluetooth obd1. I had one a few years abo when I used the tablet to datalog but when I went to the raspberry pi I sold it and just used the usb to obd1

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-13-2017, 11:46 AM
  2. 2 1/16 gauge ECM data display
    By 3400tZ in forum Other EFI systems and related topics
    Replies: 83
    Last Post: 09-02-2015, 07:38 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-26-2015, 07:31 AM
  4. Issues getting bin data to display correctly in TPRT
    By buddrow in forum TunerPro Tuning Talk
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-09-2014, 07:17 AM
  5. Can not get PCM bins to display correctly
    By JeepsAndGuns in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 09-19-2011, 04:45 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •