Bringing TBI and Multi Port Fuel Injection to a New Level.     EFI Conversions and Tuning! Seattle to Portland! E-mail Tuning Consultant!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: Weird problems with eehack

  1. #1
    Electronic Ignition!
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Age
    34
    Posts
    15

    Weird problems with eehack

    I have previously had no trouble with eehack and have used it to data log and several times to flash. The car sat for a couple months with the engine out while I was rebuilding it to a 383 and now having all kinds of issues after engine install. As soon as I went to data log random codes I have never seen before were flashing up even with the engine off. The car is kind of a pile of junk so I figured it was a wiring issue. I rechecked all of the grounds pulled apart all the connectors to check for water intrusion anything I think could have screwed up. I decided to just go for it and drive it anyhow and it did drive great from my last tune although rich at wide open throttle according to the wideband. After two or three hours of run time it died in flight but was able to get it started again however now it has a near constant miss that I believe to be spark from the opti dropping out. I already ordered an opti and will install but am concerned about flashing any new tunes for the car with the literally hundreds of errors that show up. Is it the cable? How would I test the cable? Car is a 96 buick roadmaster wagon with a 95 4.3 impala pcm if it matters.

  2. #2
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,445
    I already ordered an opti and will install but am concerned about flashing any new tunes for the car with the literally hundreds of errors that show up. Is it the cable? How would I test the cable? Car is a 96 buick roadmaster wagon with a 95 4.3 impala pcm if it matters.
    unsure what the problem is, but don't flash it while you're getting errors, you'll brick it for sure.

    probably it's a body module on the aldl bus causing you grief

  3. #3
    Electronic Ignition!
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Age
    34
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by steveo View Post
    unsure what the problem is, but don't flash it while you're getting errors, you'll brick it for sure.

    probably it's a body module on the aldl bus causing you grief
    There is not much left in the car, I am building it for a drag car so removed everything that didnt make it go. Like I said, previously I had no issues with it but now its got a mind of its own. Codes will flash up and be gone in less than a second, on the main screen of eehack it will flash back and forth randomly between saying acquire data and send m4 parameters at first it was doing it like crazy fast then stop for 10 or 15 seconds then go at it again. I set it to run in compatibility mode and now it seems to do that less. I just dont understand what the hell I did to mess it up.

  4. #4

  5. #5
    Electronic Ignition!
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Age
    34
    Posts
    15
    yes, same issue with scan9495. Blinks on and off green red for sync, bunch of random codes all the time. I still have 2 96 pcms I may try putting on of those in and see what comes up with my Modis scanner.

  6. #6
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,445
    how about temporarily interrupt the data wire right at the ecm and jumper it to your aldl cable, and then ground to clean chassis, to see if you get good data..that'd rule out wiring or other modules on the bus

  7. #7
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    465
    I have seen that kind of behaviour, when was working on a beta patch. It turned out that spi communication between two side got broken for a split second and that`s the time when the random errors pop out, and some scrambled data.

    Do you have logs?

    I suggest it could be bad tune, or some serious grounding issues in the pcm, bad pcm, or electric interference. Pcm dont like grounding at the chassis. Only acceptable ground points are at engine block, close to knock sensor and at ignition coil module.

    Try bench testing the pcm to reject bad tune and bad pcm options.

  8. #8
    Electronic Ignition!
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Age
    34
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by kur4o View Post
    I have seen that kind of behaviour, when was working on a beta patch. It turned out that spi communication between two side got broken for a split second and that`s the time when the random errors pop out, and some scrambled data.

    Do you have logs?

    I suggest it could be bad tune, or some serious grounding issues in the pcm, bad pcm, or electric interference. Pcm dont like grounding at the chassis. Only acceptable ground points are at engine block, close to knock sensor and at ignition coil module.

    Try bench testing the pcm to reject bad tune and bad pcm options.
    All ground have been checked and are at their factory locations. I do have logs, several. I put in a new opti over the weekend that of course was bad out of the box. Swapped just the pickup from the old opti into the new one. So been dealing with that and have not had time to start checking the data wire. Hopefully have time tomorrow to hook up the scope and get down to actually diagnosing this turd, frustrated to have all these problems with the fresh engine.

  9. #9
    Electronic Ignition!
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Age
    34
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by steveo View Post
    how about temporarily interrupt the data wire right at the ecm and jumper it to your aldl cable, and then ground to clean chassis, to see if you get good data..that'd rule out wiring or other modules on the bus
    Finally got some time to work on it, same problem with the flashing all different codes up for a split second. It does seem a little slower with the errors but who knows if its just wishful thinking or something. I have also now hooked my scope up to all of the ignition components to check the wave form and they all looked good except the ignition module which I changed but haven't hooked the scope back up to see if it fixed that. It was having an ignition issue I originally thought was unrelated to the data stream issue but now am not sure as everything is testing good but it is definitely having an intermittent rough run and hard start.

  10. #10
    Electronic Ignition!
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Age
    34
    Posts
    15
    So, I took out the obd1 pcm and put in an ob2 pcm from a 96 fbody, I hooked up my modis scanner and couldnt see anything weird in the datastream, there were several codes all of which were from things that were unplugged other than the crank position sensor which I am not sure why it had that code as it is hooked up even though the obd1 pcm doesnt use it. It ran really good until it switched to closed loop when I shut it off. It never showed any missfires with the obd2 pcm although I am not sure if it can easily detect them without the ckp working properly.

  11. #11
    Electronic Ignition!
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Age
    34
    Posts
    15
    I decided to just go through and remove all of the fuses I thought the car would run without and test. It appears you were correct steveo as it is no longer throwing a bunch of random codes for split seconds. there were a couple codes that stayed on for the trans so ill need to figure out if its just from the fuse removal but at least I am headed in the right direction.

  12. #12

  13. #13
    Electronic Ignition!
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Age
    34
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by steveo View Post
    how about run a direct wire from your ECM to your aldl port, if you don't care about the other modules?
    I did exactly that and still had the same problem. It is my wideband causing the issue. As soon as I disconnect power to the wideband it gets zero errors. I am using an AEM wideband with the gauge and also have it routed into the a/c pressure wire. It is not as stable as my gauge is and does seem to jump around a little bit in the datalogger. It does this even with wires running right from the pcm to the aldl port and a wire direct to the pcm from the wideband gauge. Maybe try using that different pin?

  14. #14

  15. #15
    Electronic Ignition!
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Age
    34
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by steveo View Post
    ah weird, where is the wideband grounded to?
    It is grounded to the body at the drivers side kick panel using the same bolt as several other interior grounds. Maybe interference from the other stuff there? I have a good body to engine ground and body to battery ground. I would happily run a ground straight from the wideband to the the battery if I thought it would fix the problem with datalogging.

Similar Threads

  1. Wrong MPH in EEHack and Scan9495 for LT1
    By TexasWino in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-25-2017, 11:13 AM
  2. EEhack
    By Stroked 388 in forum Introductions
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 02-25-2017, 10:29 AM
  3. eehack question - which bank is which?
    By atlantadan in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-18-2017, 01:02 PM
  4. EEHack target afr
    By Terminal_Crazy in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-04-2016, 08:17 AM
  5. '94 LT1 EEHack analysis using WB
    By babywag in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 11-16-2016, 02:26 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •