Results 1 to 15 of 74

Thread: 2 bar tune for Turbo LT1 F-body possible with '93 ECM? DA3

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Age
    36
    Posts
    354
    Setting the baro to be equal to baro is not a bad plan, but you just need to update that baro value on startup only. Once the baro value is worked out, next on the list is gonna be making sure the auto trans code doesn't cause problems in a manual transmission application, (could freak out about map greater than 100 and cause issues in other parts of the code) and EGR routine stuff (even if EGR isn't hooked up, it modifies the spark tables), and then working out how to get good control of the spark tables and timing retard due to engine knock tables. This stuff shouldn't be too hard, but it will be important.

    Just like boosting the P66 code has resulted in air conditioning weirdness...I totally forgot to post that stuff I told Ku4o I'd post last week...

  2. #2
    LT1 specialist steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    4,056
    i can dig into other stuff that uses map to see if adjustment is necessary

    i'd like to say we can set baro to a static value for a boosted engine, assuming it isnt going cross country (or maybe even if it is)

  3. #3
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Age
    46
    Posts
    62
    Quote Originally Posted by steveo View Post
    i can dig into other stuff that uses map to see if adjustment is necessary

    i'd like to say we can set baro to a static value for a boosted engine, assuming it isnt going cross country (or maybe even if it is)
    Thank you, thank you , thank you SteveO and Xnke for thinking about / looking into this for me. Looks like there's a few items in there to get me in trouble!

    So you could potentially set baro = 100 manually, but I'd still use the 2 bar MAP and set all the tables as such, where 55kpa = 100 in reality?


    I don't have much to offer in the way of solutions, as I just don't understand the code and how it works. (but I can test it! ) Is there somewhere you would suggest that I could learn up on this?
    J. Moen
    91 Camaro - NASA American Iron Road Racer #91 "The Menace", carb'd 350, FloTek heads, "because racecar"
    91 Camaro RS - '93 LT1 /T56 swap, 224/224, 60lb Siemens, garage ported heads, VS racing 78/75 turbo, Intercooled

  4. #4
    LT1 specialist steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    4,056
    Quote Originally Posted by hotrodf1 View Post
    Thank you, thank you , thank you SteveO and Xnke for thinking about / looking into this for me. Looks like there's a few items in there to get me in trouble!

    So you could potentially set baro = 100 manually, but I'd still use the 2 bar MAP and set all the tables as such, where 55kpa = 100 in reality?


    I don't have much to offer in the way of solutions, as I just don't understand the code and how it works. (but I can test it! ) Is there somewhere you would suggest that I could learn up on this?
    if running fixed baro i think you'd set it to something like 50kpa (7F)

    these are all motorola 68k instructions, look up a tutorial on 68k (aka 68000) assembly code online somewhere, there are lots of them

  5. #5
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Age
    46
    Posts
    62
    Quote Originally Posted by steveo View Post
    if running fixed baro i think you'd set it to something like 50kpa (7F)

    these are all motorola 68k instructions, look up a tutorial on 68k (aka 68000) assembly code online somewhere, there are lots of them
    Ok I’ll check it out.

    And the ecu currently reads 55.4 kpa as the baro reading. So if we set it to that my current tune and all would remain valid I think.
    J. Moen
    91 Camaro - NASA American Iron Road Racer #91 "The Menace", carb'd 350, FloTek heads, "because racecar"
    91 Camaro RS - '93 LT1 /T56 swap, 224/224, 60lb Siemens, garage ported heads, VS racing 78/75 turbo, Intercooled

  6. #6
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Age
    46
    Posts
    62
    Quote Originally Posted by steveo View Post
    i can dig into other stuff that uses map to see if adjustment is necessary

    i'd like to say we can set baro to a static value for a boosted engine, assuming it isnt going cross country (or maybe even if it is)
    Hello Steveo,

    I've been looking at the disassembly some with the code you referenced in previous posts. I can at least find it in there, big step for me LOL. Currently reading up on the Motorola 68k stuff. Learning curve for me, I'm certainly not a programmer.

    Where do we go from here?
    J. Moen
    91 Camaro - NASA American Iron Road Racer #91 "The Menace", carb'd 350, FloTek heads, "because racecar"
    91 Camaro RS - '93 LT1 /T56 swap, 224/224, 60lb Siemens, garage ported heads, VS racing 78/75 turbo, Intercooled

  7. #7
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Age
    46
    Posts
    62
    More parts have showed up. Hotside stuff will all be here in a couple days.

    Any time to look into the baro update deal Steveo?
    J. Moen
    91 Camaro - NASA American Iron Road Racer #91 "The Menace", carb'd 350, FloTek heads, "because racecar"
    91 Camaro RS - '93 LT1 /T56 swap, 224/224, 60lb Siemens, garage ported heads, VS racing 78/75 turbo, Intercooled

  8. #8
    LT1 specialist steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    4,056
    i took that DA3 xdf and added a patch for what we discussed earlier, so apply that patch, then modify the scalar named ** BAROMETRIC INITIALIZER

    i -think- that will force whatever initial baro value you set. please test it, even key on engine off just to see if the initializer holds.

    i also noticed that the xdf is a bit error prone, for example the map threshold for PE entry had no conversion on its value (i added a conversion), just be wary of any MAP related parameters that dont max out at ~105kpa, they might not have their math done properly.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  9. #9
    LT1 specialist steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    4,056
    just to detail what we're doing with this hacky fixed baro patch (want to modify as little as possible)

    - @0xC366 instead of setting baro=map during its update routine if conditions are met, it simply sets baro=baro and moves on.

    - @0xA3CF during the keep-alive (or other update) routine (which ensures map never exceeds baro), it compares map to baro, but doesn't actually store the value (i just changed STAA to LDAA, so it's loading the value again and continuing on)

    - @0xE5E4 we override the initial value for BARO (0xFF / 104.5KPA) to a new fixed value (about half of that for your two bar thing)

    keep in mind the bin offset is 0x8000 and disassembly addresses are relative to 0x0000.. so if you're looking at the bin, subtract 0x8000 from the addresses above

  10. #10
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Age
    46
    Posts
    62
    You da man Steveo!

    Thank you for the help. I have found a couple resources for operations / coding / instruction for the 68HC11, but still so much to learn. The computer science stuff I took in college was FORTRAN, and I remember about none of it LOL. So cool you are able (and willing!!) to help me out and make this work. I still can't believe TunerPro is out there, and these files are available, basically for free.

    Anyhow, tonight I got it loaded onto the EEPROM per your instructions, and tried key on engine off first. Baro was showing 54.63, which is what I had set it to in the scalar var. you put in the XDF ( ** BARO INITIALIZER ). So far so good . . .

    Then decided to start it, and see what happens. No drama! She starts and drives just like before. I didn't have the wideband on it, so not sure if the A/F ratio is right where it was, but it seems close enough for now. After driving for a bit, some cruising, some WOT stuff, etc., the BARO was still the same. So it appears that is working.

    So, is there anything to worry about here, with setting the baro manually like we have? If the weather changes etc., altitude changes, will I have issues with the A/F ratio getting thrown out of whack? I'm sure the Baro reading has a strong influence on the fuel delivery calculation. I have no idea how "sensitive" to a small change in actual Baro it would be. Remember I'm in open loop, so there's no BLMs at work here.

    Also, should I expect to get the "high MAP sensor" code 33 when I go into boost? Obviously can't try that just yet.

    Some of the stainless hotside mandrel bends showed up today. Gettin ready to get serious, not lacking much now.
    Last edited by hotrodf1; 08-10-2018 at 04:56 AM.
    J. Moen
    91 Camaro - NASA American Iron Road Racer #91 "The Menace", carb'd 350, FloTek heads, "because racecar"
    91 Camaro RS - '93 LT1 /T56 swap, 224/224, 60lb Siemens, garage ported heads, VS racing 78/75 turbo, Intercooled

  11. #11
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Age
    46
    Posts
    62
    Quote Originally Posted by steveo View Post
    just to detail what we're doing with this hacky fixed baro patch (want to modify as little as possible)

    - @0xC366 instead of setting baro=map during its update routine if conditions are met, it simply sets baro=baro and moves on.

    - @0xA3CF during the keep-alive (or other update) routine (which ensures map never exceeds baro), it compares map to baro, but doesn't actually store the value (i just changed STAA to LDAA, so it's loading the value again and continuing on)

    - @0xE5E4 we override the initial value for BARO (0xFF / 104.5KPA) to a new fixed value (about half of that for your two bar thing)

    keep in mind the bin offset is 0x8000 and disassembly addresses are relative to 0x0000.. so if you're looking at the bin, subtract 0x8000 from the addresses above
    When I subtract 8000 from E5E4, I get 65E4. I notice the address for the barometric scalar in TunerPro definition file is 65E5. Could this be why manual baro setting doesn't work?
    J. Moen
    91 Camaro - NASA American Iron Road Racer #91 "The Menace", carb'd 350, FloTek heads, "because racecar"
    91 Camaro RS - '93 LT1 /T56 swap, 224/224, 60lb Siemens, garage ported heads, VS racing 78/75 turbo, Intercooled

Similar Threads

  1. Base Tune or close to spec tune for 0411 SBC406AFR-HSR
    By evilstuie in forum OBDII Tuning
    Replies: 47
    Last Post: 08-20-2020, 05:58 PM
  2. Tuner Pro XDF 1999-2000 F Body + Y Body
    By john h in forum OBDII Tuning
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 02-02-2020, 11:12 PM
  3. Turbo LT1 Tune
    By Skinny Pedal in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-31-2018, 09:09 PM
  4. F-body engine install to B-body
    By serge_an in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-22-2016, 02:51 PM
  5. 95 F-body Fuel Pump with 95 B-Body Engine/Tank
    By EPS3 in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-19-2016, 02:40 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •