Results 1 to 15 of 74

Thread: 2 bar tune for Turbo LT1 F-body possible with '93 ECM? DA3

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Age
    36
    Posts
    354
    It's been talked about in the $EE code for a long time, but something was in the way-I am not sure what it was. I know the RPM limit is hardcoded and would require a major code redesign if you wanted to go higher than the factory PCM's max RPM (not the stock engine redline, but the "PCM" redline...) and I think the 2-bar MAP swap was something similar. Hopefully this thread will result in a proper 2-bar support for the LT1 PCM...there are a few old Nissan V8's that could REALLY benefit from this (they used a distributor with a timing output identical to the optispark!)

  2. #2
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Age
    46
    Posts
    62

    Need help with Baro update issue!

    Quote Originally Posted by Xnke View Post
    It's been talked about in the $EE code for a long time, but something was in the way-I am not sure what it was. I know the RPM limit is hardcoded and would require a major code redesign if you wanted to go higher than the factory PCM's max RPM (not the stock engine redline, but the "PCM" redline...) and I think the 2-bar MAP swap was something similar. Hopefully this thread will result in a proper 2-bar support for the LT1 PCM...there are a few old Nissan V8's that could REALLY benefit from this (they used a distributor with a timing output identical to the optispark!)
    I'm pretty sure the $EE code has the baro update feature worked out already. I think skinny pedal said he was able to turn it off.

    That being said, if someone was sharp, it seems as if they could use the code in $EE to find where it's buried at in $DA3, maybe it looks similar. Might be way off base on that. Again, over my head at this point.

    I think I'm at the point where I'm just gonna have to try it and see what happens. Then, if it doesn't work. . . . I"m not sure what I'll do. LOL
    J. Moen
    91 Camaro - NASA American Iron Road Racer #91 "The Menace", carb'd 350, FloTek heads, "because racecar"
    91 Camaro RS - '93 LT1 /T56 swap, 224/224, 60lb Siemens, garage ported heads, VS racing 78/75 turbo, Intercooled

  3. #3
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Age
    46
    Posts
    62
    VS Racing 78/75 turbo on the way. Intercooler, BOV, wastegate, oil lines, etc. here already. Still have to figure out the hotside, which isn't the easiest thing, but I have some ideas.

    Hoping the baro update deal doesn't bite me too hard.
    J. Moen
    91 Camaro - NASA American Iron Road Racer #91 "The Menace", carb'd 350, FloTek heads, "because racecar"
    91 Camaro RS - '93 LT1 /T56 swap, 224/224, 60lb Siemens, garage ported heads, VS racing 78/75 turbo, Intercooled

  4. #4
    LT1 specialist steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    4,055
    aww come on this is dumb, lets just find the DA3 barometric update parameters!

    there's a disassembly of DA3 that's partially completed in the $DA thread

    tracking down the routine for updating barometric pressure would just take some digging.

    since we don't know where baro is stored but have a gigantic pointer (the datastream message contains baro volts) go backwards from the datastream message to determine where barometric pressure volts are stored in memory

    then figure out anywhere that modifies that byte using a non-static value, you'll find the subroutine for baro update pretty quickly that way, probably right next to where TPS is compare to a static value, which will be your baro update tps %.

    i'll look at it later tonight if i have time

  5. #5
    LT1 specialist steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    4,055
    $003F is the memory address of baro pressure volts

    at C366, we see:

    C366 : LDAA $00DA
    C368 : STAA $003F

    00DA is the map pressure (isn't it cool they put a speed density ECM's MAP memory address the same as its mask? im probably the only one that finds this cool.)

    this is probably inside the barometric update subroutine, now just need to analyze the conditions and branches that reach this code to figure out how to disable.

    or be super evil and just patch 'er like this:

    C366 : LDAA $003F
    C368 : STAA $003F

    also found this,

    E5E4 : LDAA #$FF
    E5E6 : STAA $003F

    this is probably a barometric initializer, sets baro to max, perhaps set this to $7F for a 2 bar system?

    more research required.

  6. #6
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Age
    46
    Posts
    62
    Quote Originally Posted by steveo View Post
    $003F is the memory address of baro pressure volts

    at C366, we see:

    C366 : LDAA $00DA
    C368 : STAA $003F

    00DA is the map pressure (isn't it cool they put a speed density ECM's MAP memory address the same as its mask? im probably the only one that finds this cool.)

    this is probably inside the barometric update subroutine, now just need to analyze the conditions and branches that reach this code to figure out how to disable.

    or be super evil and just patch 'er like this:

    C366 : LDAA $003F
    C368 : STAA $003F

    also found this,

    E5E4 : LDAA #$FF
    E5E6 : STAA $003F

    this is probably a barometric initializer, sets baro to max, perhaps set this to $7F for a 2 bar system?

    more research required.
    Like all this, how do I learn about all the code etc.? Might as well be Chinese.
    J. Moen
    91 Camaro - NASA American Iron Road Racer #91 "The Menace", carb'd 350, FloTek heads, "because racecar"
    91 Camaro RS - '93 LT1 /T56 swap, 224/224, 60lb Siemens, garage ported heads, VS racing 78/75 turbo, Intercooled

  7. #7
    LT1 specialist steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    4,055
    if i'm reading it correctly this routine ensures baro is never less than map (should never happen in an n/a engine) so i guess it's a keep-alive separate from update? we might want to nerf it for a turbo system too.

    A3CF : LDAA $00DA
    A3D1 : CMPA $003F
    A3D3 : BLS $A3D7
    A3D5 : STAA $003F

  8. #8
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Age
    36
    Posts
    354
    Setting the baro to be equal to baro is not a bad plan, but you just need to update that baro value on startup only. Once the baro value is worked out, next on the list is gonna be making sure the auto trans code doesn't cause problems in a manual transmission application, (could freak out about map greater than 100 and cause issues in other parts of the code) and EGR routine stuff (even if EGR isn't hooked up, it modifies the spark tables), and then working out how to get good control of the spark tables and timing retard due to engine knock tables. This stuff shouldn't be too hard, but it will be important.

    Just like boosting the P66 code has resulted in air conditioning weirdness...I totally forgot to post that stuff I told Ku4o I'd post last week...

  9. #9
    LT1 specialist steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    4,055
    i can dig into other stuff that uses map to see if adjustment is necessary

    i'd like to say we can set baro to a static value for a boosted engine, assuming it isnt going cross country (or maybe even if it is)

Similar Threads

  1. Base Tune or close to spec tune for 0411 SBC406AFR-HSR
    By evilstuie in forum OBDII Tuning
    Replies: 47
    Last Post: 08-20-2020, 05:58 PM
  2. Tuner Pro XDF 1999-2000 F Body + Y Body
    By john h in forum OBDII Tuning
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 02-02-2020, 11:12 PM
  3. Turbo LT1 Tune
    By Skinny Pedal in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-31-2018, 09:09 PM
  4. F-body engine install to B-body
    By serge_an in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-22-2016, 02:51 PM
  5. 95 F-body Fuel Pump with 95 B-Body Engine/Tank
    By EPS3 in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-19-2016, 02:40 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •