Bringing TBI and Multi Port Fuel Injection to a New Level.     EFI Conversions and Tuning! Seattle to Portland! E-mail Tuning Consultant!
Page 24 of 27 FirstFirst ... 14192021222324252627 LastLast
Results 346 to 360 of 393

Thread: Uber-easy DIY USB ALDL Cable

  1. #346
    Fuel Injected! -=Jeff=-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Chicago Suburbs
    Age
    45
    Posts
    127
    I have been wanting to try this on my 90 corvette.

    I have a FTDI breakout from Spark fun.. some questions:
    -Do I need the Diode on the TX?
    -Do I need the resistor (1K) on the RX?
    -Do I need to program and invert the signals for this??

    It will end up being plugged into an android for use with ALDL.

    I have a blue tooth device, but a hardwired solution would be great
    -=Jeff=-
    1990 Corvette ZR-1
    Black/Red Interior

  2. #347
    Super Moderator Six_Shooter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    2,868
    I've rarely had a PL2303 chip work for me. FTDI or nothing anymore.
    The man who says something is impossible, is usually interrupted by the man doing it.

  3. #348
    Electronic Ignition!
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Age
    25
    Posts
    13
    Hi guys. It's been nearly two years since I last posted a question in this thread.

    I finally got my cable working. One of the cheap FTDI clones, a chopped up OBD1 plug, and drivers I found from a listing of a different ebay FTDI clone and it's all running. Glad it works too because my old L body died and I got a new one to replace it, but it was throwing a CEL. Turns out I need to steal the EGR from my dead L body and throw it on the new one.

    Thanks guys for all your help!

  4. #349
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Charleston, SC
    Age
    46
    Posts
    152
    OK I have a 5.7 V8 using 1227747 ECM , so it's the old 160-baud OBD1 system....

    Also have a Max232 and an FT232 unit I've tried to get this working with. With diode and resistor, and without. No joy.

    I see this is a 24 page thread, so I'm going to settle in for a long read and hope the info is in here soomewhere- or someone drops in and explains what I am doing wrong.

    I have not been able to get a good test out of Tunerpro with either unit, connected or disconnected from the truck. Otherwise, they look good in the Device Manager.

  5. #350
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Charleston, SC
    Age
    46
    Posts
    152
    Quote Originally Posted by RobertISaar View Post
    with the one i posted:

    connect the RXD and TXD pins together(solder would be my method), then connect that circuit to the ALDL pin M, then connect the ground pin on the converter to the ground pin in the ALDL connector (pin A).

    it's that simple.
    That's for the 8192-baud ECU, right? What about 160-baud?

  6. #351
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Charleston, SC
    Age
    46
    Posts
    152
    Quote Originally Posted by phonedawgz View Post
    Earlier OBD1 vehicles need a 10K resistor between pins A and B to start the data flow.

    Later OBD1 use bi-directional data flow on pin M and don't require it. Having the 10K resistor between pins A & B won't hurt however.
    Is it possible that my 1989 S10 needs this 10K resistor present and that's why I'm not getting data?
    -Phil, in Charleston, SC

    '89 S10 Blazer: SOA SAS: Dana 44s, 5.7L V8, 700R4; 35s, 4.10:1; TBI with 1227747 ECM
    '94 Grand Cherokee: 4.0, 4" lift, 31s
    '90 Jeep Cherokee: In progress: 5.7L V8,700R4,NP231C, D44s. TBI with 1227747 ECM
    '87 Fiero GT: 3.8SC (initial research stage)

  7. #352
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Charleston, SC
    Age
    46
    Posts
    152
    Quote Originally Posted by EagleMark View Post
    This 10K needed for 160 Baud ECM is a horrible rumor created on internet that won't go away! Even the Moates website shows 10k resistor needed for all 160 Baud ECMs. 10K really messes up good data on 1227747 and other old 160 Baud ECMs by putting the ECM in ALDL mode, it increases idle and adds timing, not needed at all for data!

    Other then checking codes by crossing A and B I've had no use for 10K, it is needed in $6E to start data flowing. I have no idea what else it is used for except to screw up data.
    See, this is why I should have kept reading before posting that last ...
    -Phil, in Charleston, SC

    '89 S10 Blazer: SOA SAS: Dana 44s, 5.7L V8, 700R4; 35s, 4.10:1; TBI with 1227747 ECM
    '94 Grand Cherokee: 4.0, 4" lift, 31s
    '90 Jeep Cherokee: In progress: 5.7L V8,700R4,NP231C, D44s. TBI with 1227747 ECM
    '87 Fiero GT: 3.8SC (initial research stage)

  8. #353
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Charleston, SC
    Age
    46
    Posts
    152
    Quote Originally Posted by shimniok View Post
    In TunerPro RT, I had to set 4800 baud and uncheck RS232 echo and it started acquiring data, and revealed an issue to chase down.

    Where is this done?
    -Phil, in Charleston, SC

    '89 S10 Blazer: SOA SAS: Dana 44s, 5.7L V8, 700R4; 35s, 4.10:1; TBI with 1227747 ECM
    '94 Grand Cherokee: 4.0, 4" lift, 31s
    '90 Jeep Cherokee: In progress: 5.7L V8,700R4,NP231C, D44s. TBI with 1227747 ECM
    '87 Fiero GT: 3.8SC (initial research stage)

  9. #354
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Camden, MI
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,026
    in tunerpro V5, Acquisition->edit definition will bring up the screen that will allow changes to baud rate and the ability to deselect the RS232 echo.
    1995 Chevrolet Monte Carlo LS 3100 + 4T60E


  10. #355
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Charleston, SC
    Age
    46
    Posts
    152
    Thanks for the quick reply.

    Baud rate should obviously match between two devices so they can communicate. What does this need to match? The 160 baud aldl streaydoesnt appear trouble be it, and I've tried 2400,4800 and 9600

    Obviously the bitlength, parity, and check/stop bits all have to match, and are all set to 8/n/1....
    -Phil, in Charleston, SC

    '89 S10 Blazer: SOA SAS: Dana 44s, 5.7L V8, 700R4; 35s, 4.10:1; TBI with 1227747 ECM
    '94 Grand Cherokee: 4.0, 4" lift, 31s
    '90 Jeep Cherokee: In progress: 5.7L V8,700R4,NP231C, D44s. TBI with 1227747 ECM
    '87 Fiero GT: 3.8SC (initial research stage)

  11. #356
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Camden, MI
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,026
    for 160 baud applications, I either use tunerpro V4 or just import a known-good V4 ADS file that way it's all setup correctly already.
    1995 Chevrolet Monte Carlo LS 3100 + 4T60E


  12. #357
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Charleston, SC
    Age
    46
    Posts
    152
    Looks like I have a clone chip and the latest driver update more or less nuked it.

    Will verify theory with realterm tonight, but it's looking pretty certain that I'm going to just buy one from Robert.

    Thanks for your help!
    -Phil, in Charleston, SC

    '89 S10 Blazer: SOA SAS: Dana 44s, 5.7L V8, 700R4; 35s, 4.10:1; TBI with 1227747 ECM
    '94 Grand Cherokee: 4.0, 4" lift, 31s
    '90 Jeep Cherokee: In progress: 5.7L V8,700R4,NP231C, D44s. TBI with 1227747 ECM
    '87 Fiero GT: 3.8SC (initial research stage)

  13. #358
    Electronic Ignition!
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Age
    25
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by 89S10_Project View Post
    Looks like I have a clone chip and the latest driver update more or less nuked it.

    Will verify theory with realterm tonight, but it's looking pretty certain that I'm going to just buy one from Robert.

    Thanks for your help!
    I thought I was in the same boat. Latest driver just doesn't allow the cable to talk. I found some drivers that do work through an eBay auction for knockoff chips. That was the missing piece for me.

    http://www.waveshare.com/wiki/FT232_Software

    My cheap cable doesn't need any diodes, resistors, anything. Just wired to ground and the Pin M for data. (I have a 1994 Chevy Corsica, so my ECU is 8192)

  14. #359
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Charleston, SC
    Age
    46
    Posts
    152
    Thanks pizzaboy, will definitely try that out tonight.
    -Phil, in Charleston, SC

    '89 S10 Blazer: SOA SAS: Dana 44s, 5.7L V8, 700R4; 35s, 4.10:1; TBI with 1227747 ECM
    '94 Grand Cherokee: 4.0, 4" lift, 31s
    '90 Jeep Cherokee: In progress: 5.7L V8,700R4,NP231C, D44s. TBI with 1227747 ECM
    '87 Fiero GT: 3.8SC (initial research stage)

  15. #360
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Charleston, SC
    Age
    46
    Posts
    152
    Well whatever is on that site doesn't appear to be a usable archive. Grrrr...
    -Phil, in Charleston, SC

    '89 S10 Blazer: SOA SAS: Dana 44s, 5.7L V8, 700R4; 35s, 4.10:1; TBI with 1227747 ECM
    '94 Grand Cherokee: 4.0, 4" lift, 31s
    '90 Jeep Cherokee: In progress: 5.7L V8,700R4,NP231C, D44s. TBI with 1227747 ECM
    '87 Fiero GT: 3.8SC (initial research stage)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •