Bringing TBI and Multi Port Fuel Injection to a New Level.     EFI Conversions and Tuning! Seattle to Portland! E-mail Tuning Consultant!
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 23 of 23

Thread: Issues with using TunerPro on a 94 Vette with 155k miles

  1. #16
    Carb and Points!
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Age
    63
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by steveo View Post
    that's alright except for the ADX file, wont work with your 'vette. you don't need the ADX anyway, eehack will do all of your datalogging

    your modifications are minimal, wouldn't expect much tuning required

    read this thread

    http://www.gearhead-efi.com/Fuel-Inj...-lt1-M6-tuning
    Hi Steveo,

    I did read the thread shown above. I was able to try datalogging my 95 C4 yesterday, and I have a couple of questions. When I hooked it up to the running car, several SES lights immediately came on. I think it was ASR off, Service ASR, Service Engine Soon, and maybe another (can't recall). Also, as I drove off on my lap around the block, the gas gauge read 'reserve' (pretty sure I wasn't that low), and the coolant temperature was at 76F and never changed. I never figured out how to load the BIN or XDF files into eehack. Do these files have to be in the same folder as the program? The files were on the desktop, not in the folder, and I'm thinking that might be an issue. I've attached the data file, in case you have time to take a quick look at it. Of much greater concern is that my transmission began acting funny after I stopped for gas. It was slipping from a start as if it was low on fluid, and didn't want to upshift. I limped it home and checked fluid level (seemed OK) and then shut it off. So, could running the car with eehack, using probably the wrong (or no) support files affect the operation of the electronic 4L60E trans? Also, if I put the BIN and XDF files in the program folder with eehack, will it recognize them and work correctly? The engine seems to run well, except that the idle speed is about 1200 to 1300 when the car is in park or neutral. I've checked for vacuum leaks in all the 'small' hoses, but still need to double check the PCV, brake booster, and maybe the canister purge lines. From my readings, it seems that a vacuum leak is the most likely scenario, but I haven't found it (yet). If you can give me any feedback, it would be greatly appreciated!

    Thanks,
    John

  2. #17
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    892
    EEhack doesn't use the bin or xdf file. That is a Tunerpro thing. Does it run right once you disconnect the laptop and cycle the key off and then re-start it? It should.

  3. #18
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,424
    When I hooked it up to the running car, several SES lights immediately came on. I think it was ASR off, Service ASR, Service Engine Soon, and maybe another (can't recall).
    because we have to silence the CCM (command and control module) to do any datalogging, it may disable or affect some instrumentation or functions that the CCM is responsible for, but i didn't think the fuel gauge and temperature were one of them. the CCM definitely doesn't contain any functions that affect how the engine or transmission run, even if it's unplugged the car should drive as normal.

    Of much greater concern is that my transmission began acting funny after I stopped for gas. It was slipping from a start as if it was low on fluid, and didn't want to upshift. I limped it home and checked fluid level (seemed OK) and then shut it off. So, could running the car with eehack, using probably the wrong (or no) support files affect the operation of the electronic 4L60E trans?
    there's nothing 'by default' that eehack does that could affect your transmission

    it does have a line pressure control but you have to enable 'expert mode'. it does have an override gear selector too. these are in the control section. i'm sure you'd remember doing that.

  4. #19
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,424
    i looked at your log, looks about normal for a stock 'vette, its trims are a bit lean but all corvette calibrations are for some reason. of course your car isn't really modified so i'm not sure what you'd expect to see there, shorty headers and a catback don't exactly throw off a calibration

  5. #20
    Carb and Points!
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Age
    63
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by steveo View Post
    i looked at your log, looks about normal for a stock 'vette, its trims are a bit lean but all corvette calibrations are for some reason. of course your car isn't really modified so i'm not sure what you'd expect to see there, shorty headers and a catback don't exactly throw off a calibration
    Thanks Steveo,
    It's comforting to know that the log looks normal, as the car runs pretty well, except for the dang high idle! With respect to the SES lights, if they aren't causing an actual problem (which you indicate they aren't) then I'm not concerned. I stepped though the codes on the car and got the following:
    1.
    H41
    4.
    H77
    H22
    9.
    H64
    H72

    I cleared them all, but haven't started the car yet. I'm going to do another datalog with eehack this weekend. Just so I'm sure of the steps I should follow:

    1. Start eehack (no support files necessary) with usb cable plugged in to computer, but ODBII plug not connected to car,
    2. Select Port and Vehicle Type in Settings Window,
    3. Start engine,
    4. Plug ODBII in to car,
    5. Begin driving and logging.

    Does this sound correct?

    In the log file I sent you (trial 1), I looked at the graph in the area of 290 to 350 seconds, when I came to a complete stop and put the car in park. At this point, my Idle Target RPM was about 550, my Idle Air Controller Position was around 20, but my Idle speed was around 1300. Does this data support the possibility of a vacuum leak? I'm not sure what other parameters I should look at to help track down what the problem is. If you have any suggestions or ideas, I would greatly appreciate hearing them.

    One more quick question. In the ECM/Calibration Info window, the VIN and Cal ID# do not match my car. I assume this means the ECM has been replaced at some point, correct? I see there are Set VIN and Set CALID buttons. Should I put my data in here, or doesn't it matter?

    Thank you for all the help so far. It is greatly appreciated! I'm sending you a few bucks for an adult beverage or two. Your program is Awesome!

    Regards,
    John

  6. #21
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,424
    Quote Originally Posted by Injected CJ7 View Post
    I cleared them all, but haven't started the car yet. I'm going to do another datalog with eehack this weekend. Just so I'm sure of the steps I should follow:

    1. Start eehack (no support files necessary) with usb cable plugged in to computer, but ODBII plug not connected to car,
    2. Select Port and Vehicle Type in Settings Window,
    3. Start engine,
    4. Plug ODBII in to car,
    5. Begin driving and logging.
    you're overthinking it. plug the cable into your car and laptop before starting eehack, turn the key on, and connect. you can log whether the engine is running or not. your old port and vehicle type settings will be remembered from last time. also eehack is always logging (just remember to save after..)

    One more quick question. In the ECM/Calibration Info window, the VIN and Cal ID# do not match my car. I assume this means the ECM has been replaced at some point, correct? I see there are Set VIN and Set CALID buttons. Should I put my data in here, or doesn't it matter?
    you can definitely set your vin if you want, but it doesn't matter. the calibration id is 16200891 in your last log, this does match a 1994 auto 'vette so no problem there

    In the log file I sent you (trial 1), I looked at the graph in the area of 290 to 350 seconds, when I came to a complete stop and put the car in park. At this point, my Idle Target RPM was about 550, my Idle Air Controller Position was around 20, but my Idle speed was around 1300. Does this data support the possibility of a vacuum leak?
    did not meet the conditions for idle. look at your TPS (throttle position) during that time, it's at 9%, and other parameters indicate an open throttle condition. either you didn't have your foot off the gas, or your throttle was partially stuck open for some reason (cable, sticky plates, floor mat?). the log doesn't indicate a TPS fault of any kind.

  7. #22
    Carb and Points!
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Age
    63
    Posts
    4
    Thanks Steveo,
    I understand the logging procedure now. The calibration shown in my log was automatically downloaded by eehack from my ECM, correct? My car is actually a 95. I assume the ECM must have come from a 94, but the cal is for a 3.07 axle A4 also, so the calibration must be close, I'm guessing. I assume that the only way to get the 'correct' calibration (16212471, from fbodytech), would be to flash the ECM. Is this necessary?

    With respect to my high idle issue, I don't think my throttle plates or cable are sticking open, as I can confirm that the throttle arm is against the adjustment screw while the idle is high. Is it possible that the PO has turned the throttle stop in slightly so the blades cannot close enough? I had the throttle body out during my engine work, and I cleaned it out quite well, especially the throttle plates/bores, and IAC passages/pintle. I was reluctant to back off the stop screw based on my understanding of how it all works, but if my throttle is physically against the stop, and my TPS shows 9%, should I try backing it off slightly? Your thoughts?

    Edit: As I look more at my initial log session, I'm starting to think that my TPS is bad. If you look between 232 and 236, the TPS drops off to zero, with a very erratic pattern before and after. Also, after 300 sec, my speed slows down to a stop (braking), but the TPS stays constant at around 9% or 10%. I know my foot was off the gas pedal at that point. For the most part, the TPS never gets down much below 9% after I start driving, even though I know I'm off the gas a lot...

    Regards,
    John
    Last edited by Injected CJ7; 06-21-2018 at 10:47 AM.

  8. #23
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,424
    I understand the logging procedure now. The calibration shown in my log was automatically downloaded by eehack from my ECM, correct? My car is actually a 95. I assume the ECM must have come from a 94, but the cal is for a 3.07 axle A4 also, so the calibration must be close, I'm guessing. I assume that the only way to get the 'correct' calibration (16212471, from fbodytech), would be to flash the ECM. Is this necessary?
    there are differences in transmission control on an f-body between those years, unsure on the y-body

    With respect to my high idle issue, I don't think my throttle plates or cable are sticking open, as I can confirm that the throttle arm is against the adjustment screw while the idle is high. Is it possible that the PO has turned the throttle stop in slightly so the blades cannot close enough?
    on a stock LT1, the throttle screw should be backed off until the plates bottom out in the bore, turned back in until just touching the throttle stop, then add maybe 1/2 turn. you don't want the plates open much, the idle air is supposed to come from the idle passages for more even distribution in the intake manifold. as long as they aren't sticking in the bore you can't have them closed far enough

    it is possible your TPS is bad, it just doesn't quite look like it from the logs, but further testing is required. the ecm self-sets the TPS to zero (remembers the lowest voltage it sees as zero), so even if they did turn the screw out a bit, the TPS should reset itself

    maybe reset the ecm (pull the pcm bat fuse for a bit so it loses its memory) after playing around with the screw just to force it to reinitialize

Similar Threads

  1. Tunerpro Data issues-Help implementing a solution?
    By Xnke in forum TunerPro Tuning Talk
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-28-2017, 11:59 PM
  2. Newbie, Vette -90, logging with TunerPro
    By Robban_C in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-31-2016, 03:46 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-16-2016, 08:31 PM
  4. TunerPro conneting issues
    By surfer57 in forum TunerPro Tuning Talk
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-03-2014, 04:26 PM
  5. 2 issues with tunerpro
    By 1badcell in forum Introductions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-10-2014, 11:41 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •