Thread: Corvette TBI, Help with Ignition Spike during AE

Corvette TBI, Help with Ignition Spike during AE

I'm starting to dial in my conversion to fuel injection on my C3 Corvette. While logging some runs to test AE, I started seeing these ignition spikes in the 23,000 advance range. I double checked my tables to make sure I hadn't fat-fingered anything.

Only seems to be happening when I'm goosing the accelerator for Acceleration Enrichment.

Should add some details:
    Running 16197427 with the $0D mask from here.
    Distributor is set 12* BTDC. That is also recorded in the BIN.

Here is my BIN, ADX, and log. This is my first time posting this kind of info, is there any additional info that could help?

Any ideas?

Thanks!
    Matt
    Attached Files Attached Files

Would help if I gave a window where to look for the spikes in the log. Right around 21s, then 26s, 34s, 50s. Few more after that.

Usually huge spikes in a data log are caused by the data stream being interrupted with noise. The noise source can vary. I'd first check the grounds to the ECM and ALDL connector, then I'd check the ALDL connector wiring to the ECM. Sometimes wiring with "Butt" splice connectors can cause noise. I recommend solder splicing all EFI wires. Sometimes using an AC inverter to power a Laptop will cause noise in the data log.

dave w

Thanks Dave! I'm with you, only solder and heat shrink throughout. The couple of spots with thicker wires that required butt splices still got crimped then soldered.

I'll doublecheck all the wiring in that area. Just seemed to pop up after I put everything into the rear compartment to tidy up the car. Maybe the autoprom in there with close proximity to the wiring harness picking up something?

At least it isn't affecting the engine operation, correct?

The timing spikes should not be affecting the engine.

It can be very challenging to figure out what is causing the spikes. Below is a list if things I would try.