Thread: Lotus Esprit Turbo definition file help please

Carb and Points!

Lotus Esprit Turbo definition file help please

I've been working on decoding the Lotus Esprit S4 .bin The Lotus Esprit uses a GM ecu with part number: 01228708 It's the same ECU as some GM v6 stuff and 1991 Corvettes.

The catch is that I don't know assembly. I have managed to identify a bunch of tables with the help of using other GM .bin files and masks like $8D. But I fear am I at the end of my knowledge and ability. I am attaching my tunerpro files I have been working on. This is my FIRST ATTEMPT at a definition file so please don't be too harsh on me.

The file starts out just like GM code, but clearly Lotus deviated from the normal rules pretty quickly. For example the number of cylinder at address $09 is AF, that doesn't match any explanation I have found (00-8 C0-6 10-4 18-TBI)

Some people have suggested using the Code59 stuff and trying to run the car on that. That's a reasonably good idea, but I think the boost control code in the Lotus is better (maybe I am wrong) and the Lotus runs two additional injectors (it uses the Quad driver to run them). I have considered setting up the two additional injectors on a separate fuel system (fuel cell, fuel pump, regulator) and running E85 through them. This would give me the long range and easy availability of 93 octane gas for long trips, but the extra octane of E85 when I'm deep into the turbo boost.

Also in a real dream I would like to convert from a 2 bar map sensor to a 3 bar.

Thanks for any help in advance,

Aaron
    Attached Files Attached Files

Administrator
    Hello, and welcome to Gearhead-efi. You've certainly picked a tough project to dive into. Hopefully you can find enough support to stay with it.

I'm surprised folks are still holding onto the definition files that are out there. This application is 25 years old. Is there really that much $$ out there in the custom chip market for these cars?