Bringing TBI and Multi Port Fuel Injection to a New Level.     EFI Conversions and Tuning! Seattle to Portland! E-mail Tuning Consultant!
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Wideband Woes - Is it "better" to connect wideband directly to ECU?

  1. #1
    Fuel Injected! MAC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    ATL
    Age
    37
    Posts
    78

    Wideband Woes - Is it "better" to connect wideband directly to ECU?

    I've spent a week and a half trying to sort out wideband datalogging accuracy. Current setup is Innovative MTX-L as analog input to channel 1 on autoprom. I have tried the channel 2 and channel 3 inputs with about the same margin of error. Yes everything is grounded at the same place. Dave (from Moates) traded a few emails with me helping me out. Everything passes the "sniff test". I have implemented his recommendations and it is "close" but still not accurate enough - especially when you want to use the datalog in one of Dave's (from this forum) spreadsheets.

    My question is - how well does datalogging a wideband work when you run the analog output from the device directly to the ECU? The Advanced $E6 TPv5.adx file is already setup to receive the 0-5 volt input on pin B16. I don't need EGR anymore. Seems like many people have had success with this route. if you have first hand experience (positive or negative) please share!

    If I don't get a few "yes, worked for me, worth doing" responses from you guys, I think I will skip the effort.

    I've had a good bit of tuning success on getting BLMs to 128 by datalogging the narrow band and running the results through Dave's spreadsheets. Having the visual confirmation of the wideband while driving is very nice and makes sure don't melt anything. It has also been useful to identify a few trouble spots that were not showing up in the datalogs.

    BTW running $E6 on 16168625 ECU.

    Thanks in advance to anyone who shares their first hand experience with this.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator dave w's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    3,354
    I've never used the autoprom (APU1) for anything. I've always used the ECU for WBO2 input. Hands down ... no debate ... the BEST Tuning I've done is with WBO2!

    dave w

  3. #3
    Fuel Injected! MAC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    ATL
    Age
    37
    Posts
    78
    Well with an endorsement like that I will give it a go.

    I was looking at my ECU and it looks like I don't have a wire landed on pin B16. Does anyone have a connector they can sell me or is there a source for stuff like that?

    AC

  4. #4
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,238
    your local gm dealer should have some on hand and should just give you one if you ask nicely (at least that worked the last few times i needed a spare).

    there are a few different ones but i think GM# 12089660 is the one you want; don't quote me on that but at least gives you a talking point when you walk in there

  5. #5
    Super Moderator dave w's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    3,354
    The link below is for the pins (18 AWG) I use for making a new '7747 harness.

    http://www.mouser.com/Search/Product...ey829-12146448

    Maybe a GM dealer near you will have the same part # 12146448?

    dave w

  6. #6
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    78
    I have been usign autoprom inputs with great results, however, it's best to calibrate it first. Set your MTX-L to output steady voltage (can be done using Innovate PC software) and see what is the autoprom value. Measure across the range and calculate the equation to get accurate WB readings.

  7. #7
    Fuel Injected! MAC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    ATL
    Age
    37
    Posts
    78
    Quote Originally Posted by dzidaV8 View Post
    I have been usign autoprom inputs with great results, however, it's best to calibrate it first. Set your MTX-L to output steady voltage (can be done using Innovate PC software) and see what is the autoprom value. Measure across the range and calculate the equation to get accurate WB readings.
    Thanks for that tip Dzida.

Similar Threads

  1. TunerPro datalog "monitor" time zooming issues.
    By damanx in forum TunerPro Tuning Talk
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-22-2013, 08:09 PM
  2. Replies: 55
    Last Post: 11-13-2013, 05:55 AM
  3. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 02-27-2013, 08:38 PM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-09-2012, 10:38 PM
  5. Plug readings by Bruce Plecan AKA "Grumpy" R.I.P. dedication
    By EagleMark in forum Fuel Injection Writeups Articles and How to New and Old
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-20-2011, 11:14 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •