Bringing TBI and Multi Port Fuel Injection to a New Level.     EFI Conversions and Tuning! Seattle to Portland! E-mail Tuning Consultant!
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Limp mode

  1. #1
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    33

    Limp mode

    Hey guys, I have everything working, but I'm missing part of the process. I load the bin to the ostrich 2.0 then click emulate and start engine, l click scalars, change mask from OD to AA then scroll down to engine constants, double click injector flow rate and make adjustments then click save. After I turn engine off and start it back up, it is in limp mode. Where am I going wrong?

  2. #2
    Fuel Injected! mmigacz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Sheboygan Falls, WI
    Age
    44
    Posts
    161
    Is your SES flashing? You might have to reload the Bin into the emulator. I have already had it where I made changes and forgot to save before shutting the engine off. When I restart, the SES light flashes rapidly and the engine runs in limp mode. After reloading the Bin into the emulator, it goes back to normal.
    1986 ski centurion boat, 351W, gt40P heads, edelbrock performer rpm, 1227747 ecm, 72 lb/hr injectors (@18 PSI fuel pressure), .490/.490 lift, intake 278 duration, exhuast 282 duration, 112 lobe separation

    1969 camaro, 355ci, performer RPM intake, camel hump heads, 1227747 ecm, 454 throttle body (@18 PSI fuel pressure),

    2016 Chevy Cruz

    2014 Chevy Silverado

  3. #3
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    33
    mmigacz, yes I have had the rapid flash of the ses light once, but I reloaded like you said. I'm able to make changes to bin and upload them to the ostrich 2, then plug it into the ribbon cable, hit emulate, wait a minute then start the engine and changes are there and working. not sure if that is the procedure, but it works. Problem for me is in real-time emulating. When I make changes while running and save them, everything seems to be operating well but, when shut the the engine down, I'm back in limp mode at restart. I was using the Harris memcal and switched to the stock memcal to see if there is a difference. I'll get a driver and try again today, but I,m sure it's just my error because it's hard to find operating procedures, which is making it more challenging than it really is. I'm enjoying the learning curve and the help that I'm receiving.

  4. #4
    Fuel Injected! mmigacz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Sheboygan Falls, WI
    Age
    44
    Posts
    161
    gearhead.jpgDuring emulation, and after a change, I will chick the icon shown below with a 1 pointing to it. When I am done, I hit the icon with the 2 pointing to it. Then shut the engine off. Another thing I found was when data logging and emulating at the same time, my laptop locks up. I ended up using two laptops, one for emulating and one for datalogging.
    1986 ski centurion boat, 351W, gt40P heads, edelbrock performer rpm, 1227747 ecm, 72 lb/hr injectors (@18 PSI fuel pressure), .490/.490 lift, intake 278 duration, exhuast 282 duration, 112 lobe separation

    1969 camaro, 355ci, performer RPM intake, camel hump heads, 1227747 ecm, 454 throttle body (@18 PSI fuel pressure),

    2016 Chevy Cruz

    2014 Chevy Silverado

  5. #5
    Fuel Injected! De-stroker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Casper wy
    Age
    26
    Posts
    24
    Already I know you have a wire from the truck being shorted to another big power on the bottom of it. So one of your wires is being bad grounded.
    My .02
    Last edited by De-stroker; 05-18-2017 at 08:31 PM.

  6. #6
    Fuel Injected! De-stroker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Casper wy
    Age
    26
    Posts
    24
    Don't send big power back to your computer always ground everything out unless you like hot tots

  7. #7
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    33
    Thanks mmigacz, that helped a lot. I just needed to load the bin to emulator after making changes. De-stroker, you are right about the ground connections. After I had a bad ground at the fuel pump, I disconnected and cleaned all of them.

Similar Threads

  1. Questions about Limp Home Mode
    By DavidBraley in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-14-2017, 11:07 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-26-2016, 06:14 AM
  3. 7060 4l80e limp mode
    By myburb in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-05-2014, 10:13 PM
  4. What would cause a ECM?PCM to go into limp mode?
    By Woods in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-15-2014, 07:40 PM
  5. TPI in limp mode
    By Z1LE in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-23-2013, 01:33 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •