Bringing TBI and Multi Port Fuel Injection to a New Level.     EFI Conversions and Tuning! Seattle to Portland! E-mail Tuning Consultant!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: First time chip swap and tune: 7747 $42

  1. #1
    Fuel Injected! Opas69's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    St Louis, Mo
    Age
    60
    Posts
    32

    First time chip swap and tune: 7747 $42

    Changed chip in ECM. Loaded Tuner Pro RT Ver 5. Downloaded AMUR .bin file(89 GMC 5.7 700R4). Thought this was good fit as my setup is 5.7 with 700R4 in 69 Camaro. I am guessing I should use $42-1227747-V5.2.adx and $42-1227747-V5.9.3.xdf files as the $42-1227747-V3T.adx and $42-1227747-V4T.xdf look like they are for Turbo 400 and 3 speeds. I am sure this is the first of many questions. Thanks for the help, Steve.

  2. #2
    Fuel Injected! Opas69's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    St Louis, Mo
    Age
    60
    Posts
    32
    I realized that $42-1227747-V5.2.adx and $42-1227747-V5.9.3.xdf are the files to use. These files are loaded with parameter information. THANK YOU to whoever has written and added all that info. I disabled EGR, with the patch provided, since I removed EGR. I disabled Air Diverter. I unchecked Pass EGR. I unchecked Code 32 so I don't get a CEL. I changed stoich from 14.7 to 14.13 because of E10 fuel. I changed Max Spark Allowed from 41.84 to 36. My 5.7L is not too far from stock. 9.4-1 CR, Melling MTC-1 Camshaft, Shorty header w 2 1/2" out the back. I think I am just going to kick up the fuel pressure a few pounds, add a little BPW, fire it up and tune from there. Antone see any problems with me doing this?

  3. #3
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Euless, TX
    Posts
    1,425
    Quote Originally Posted by Opas69 View Post
    I realized that $42-1227747-V5.2.adx and $42-1227747-V5.9.3.xdf are the files to use. These files are loaded with parameter information. THANK YOU to whoever has written and added all that info. I disabled EGR, with the patch provided, since I removed EGR. I disabled Air Diverter. I unchecked Pass EGR. I unchecked Code 32 so I don't get a CEL. I changed stoich from 14.7 to 14.13 because of E10 fuel. I changed Max Spark Allowed from 41.84 to 36. My 5.7L is not too far from stock. 9.4-1 CR, Melling MTC-1 Camshaft, Shorty header w 2 1/2" out the back. I think I am just going to kick up the fuel pressure a few pounds, add a little BPW, fire it up and tune from there. Antone see any problems with me doing this?
    I would not have reduced the spark timing allowed. That setup easily needs that much timing in certain areas. Think low load, higher RPM. I have areas in my 350 Vortec Express van that run 48 of timing. I also would not kick up the BPW. Stay stock or reduce it when you up the pressure.

  4. #4
    Fuel Injected! Opas69's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    St Louis, Mo
    Age
    60
    Posts
    32
    I have not started it yet. I will put the timing back and reduce the BPW. If I remember it is 135. Should I reduce it 10%? I do not understand exactly what the BPW and Spark Advance Hack would do for me. Is it strictly for information? Thanks again. I appreciate the help.

  5. #5
    Fuel Injected! jim_in_dorris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    768
    The spark advance and bpw hack inserts those values into the aldl data stream for monitoring in a data log.
    Square body stepsides forever!!!

  6. #6
    Fuel Injected! Opas69's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    St Louis, Mo
    Age
    60
    Posts
    32
    Getting ready to start my engine tomorrow or Tuesday. I will need to break in the cam. I have a WBO2 in and working. I am hoping that I will be able to run some where around 12AFR for the break in period. Don't want to burn up my ceramic headers. Will it be okay if I wait to adjust IAC and TPS until after the cam break in. Thanks

  7. #7
    Fuel Injected! Opas69's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    St Louis, Mo
    Age
    60
    Posts
    32
    I am needing some help. I have loaded an AMUR .bin file into TP5. I have loaded $42-1227747-V5.2.adx and $42-1227747-V5.9.3.xdf data files also. When I call up the dash to see TPS values and battery voltage I have no values. If I look at sensor values it has Bogus info, a high coolant temp, a vacuum value, open loop status and some others. The engine is not running. ALDL is on Com4 and cable checks out good. Any ideas for me?

  8. #8
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    732
    What's the check engine light doing? It sounds like either the ALDL connection is bad or the chip didn't work.

  9. #9
    Fuel Injected! Opas69's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    St Louis, Mo
    Age
    60
    Posts
    32
    I get nothing on cel. When I set up com4 aldl cable checked good. Checked wire from ALDL connector to ecm, they are correct. When I burn chip Flash n Burn says it is good. Maybe ECM bad?

  10. #10
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    732
    Can you try a stock chip just to check that you can read data?

  11. #11
    Fuel Injected! Opas69's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    St Louis, Mo
    Age
    60
    Posts
    32
    I will try that in the morning. The only thing that I can tell that happens when I turn the key on is the fuel pump relay comes in for a few seconds.

  12. #12
    Fuel Injected! Opas69's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    St Louis, Mo
    Age
    60
    Posts
    32
    Changed com4 to com3. Now I can connect and read data with stock AMUR chip. I have tried two 27sf512 chips using AMUR and ASDU bin files and cannot connect/read either one. Would not think two bad chips. Checked offsets when I burned chips, they were correct. Any ideas? Bad solder job?

  13. #13
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    732
    Ya, either the chip is programmed wrong or there is a problem between the chip and the ECM board.

    Generally when loading a binary file to program a chip with there is a setting for filling blank areas and it can be 00x or FFx. I don't know which one you should set it to, but I can say that the wrong one doesn't work.

  14. #14
    Fuel Injected! Opas69's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    St Louis, Mo
    Age
    60
    Posts
    32
    Got it figured out with the help of Dave at Moates. Had a small soldering error that made six pins common on the G2 adapter not five. Thank you to Dave at Moates, what great customer support!!

  15. #15
    Fuel Injected! Opas69's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    St Louis, Mo
    Age
    60
    Posts
    32
    I am using an .adx file (7747 ecm) that Eaglemark has added several patches to. One of the patches are a few dashboards he has put together. As I look at the values for the AutoProm 1 WB AFR in the ADX editor it appears that it uses 0-5v. Would it be able to use the 0-5v (white and blue wire) from my AEM Uego WBO2? Should this be posted in TunerPro Tuning Talk?

Similar Threads

  1. '7747 Flash Chip Conversion (27SF512)
    By dave w in forum Fuel Injection Writeups Articles and How to New and Old
    Replies: 53
    Last Post: 02-27-2017, 10:25 PM
  2. tune on 4.3 tbi chip
    By uncle mike in forum Introductions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-12-2015, 07:01 PM
  3. re tune time but need help
    By kingcat400 in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-12-2015, 09:33 AM
  4. First time start up, too much fuel. 350 chev 7747,
    By live2wheel in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 07-02-2013, 04:58 PM
  5. Finished my tune....how do i put it on a chip?
    By chevyownz60s in forum TunerPro Tuning Talk
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-12-2012, 08:14 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •