Bringing TBI and Multi Port Fuel Injection to a New Level.     EFI Conversions and Tuning! Seattle to Portland! E-mail Tuning Consultant!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: 1227730 ecm, AZTY chip and a 3.4 Engine

  1. #1
    Electronic Ignition!
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Age
    39
    Posts
    19

    1227730 ecm, AZTY chip and a 3.4 Engine

    Hello

    Been new to this forum, so pleas forgive my possibly stupid questions....

    Some time ago, I changed my 3.1 v6 engine for a 3.4 (I know, is not a V8)
    Sticked with the v6, because over here, it is not allowed to change the engine, and a 3.4 is almost the same (So nobody will see)

    Leave the 1227730 inside, copied the AZTY bin to an empty chip.
    Engine runs ok, a little rich, but lacks power above 3500rpm (I know, a V6 lacks power everywhere :p :p :p)

    Ordered the Autoprom package from Moates, but seems like I cannot log any data....
    Just get some non-logical data, like voltage 0.40v, rpm 200 rpm.....
    Those data doesn't change with engine revs...

    use the 88 mask and tunerpro rt v5

    tried several other masks and bins, but seems like it stays the same....

    anyone that can help me with tips (or maybe a bin for a 3.4 to start with)?

    grtz, D

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Camden, MI
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,026
    AZTY is an $88 calibration.

    http://www.gearhead-efi.com/Fuel-Inj...Information-88

    are you using the ADX from there?
    1995 Chevrolet Monte Carlo LS 3100 + 4T60E


  3. #3
    Electronic Ignition!
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Age
    39
    Posts
    19
    Hello

    I used all the files from gearhead...
    And a couple of other files....

    today, I even tried 3 differend ecm's, just to be sure the problem was not the ecm...
    Problem stays the same...

    grtz, D

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Camden, MI
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,026
    sounds like a problem with the interface then. I was using that ADX for my wife's first car, which also ran $88 until I updated it to $A1.
    1995 Chevrolet Monte Carlo LS 3100 + 4T60E


  5. #5
    Electronic Ignition!
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Age
    39
    Posts
    19
    Today I tried a different laptop => same result

    If I have the time, I try tomorrow to connect it to another car (same year/type/model)

    Anyone who have some other suggestions to detect what the problem is here?

    grtz, D

  6. #6
    Electronic Ignition!
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Age
    39
    Posts
    19
    is it possible I cannot disable checksum in the $88 mask?


    grtz, D

  7. #7
    Electronic Ignition!
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Age
    39
    Posts
    19
    Hello

    Mask problem is solved.... Was a bit stupid thow....
    Was no present in the XDF, but I heard it was the 9th byte
    Got the value of 141 for the mask, so I thought I had to look in another byte...

    After some hours of searching, suddenly realized... => 141 = 88HEX STUPID of me....

    Next problem....
    Been searching and reading on the internet, but cannot find it, nor figure it out...
    Want to compare the fuel tables against the AFR ratio, so I can adjust the injector opening times.....
    Because of the 3.4 with the larger injectors, the ECM has to adjust too much, and because of that, most of the time the engine runs too rich.

    anyone who can set me on the right track here?

    grtz, D

  8. #8
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    78
    Hi,
    You should probably start with copying injector flow, offset and short pulse compensation tables from stock 3.4 bin. Tuning injectors with measured AFR is not the best way...

  9. #9
    Electronic Ignition!
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Age
    39
    Posts
    19
    Hello

    problem is actually that I cannot find the injector pulse tables at first sight in the XDF file I have.......

    can I assume that all the bin files for the different engines that use the 1227730 ECU have them on the same location in the memory chip?

    grtz, D

  10. #10
    Electronic Ignition!
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Age
    39
    Posts
    19
    Hello

    Is there someone who can set me on the right track.....

    I was expecting to simply find a table map/RPM/injector time and TPS/RPM/injector time, like on a lot of other programs I worked with....

    Seems like this setup is using volumetric efficiency, to determine the volume of air in the cilinders, and calculate how much fuel must be added....
    I already found the value for the flow rate of the injectors
    I am probable looking wrong, but for now I am searching for a value to change the volume of each cilinder (for the bigger engine: 3.1 => 3.4 )

    I presume If that is adjusted, I will need to change the VE values, until the desired AFR is reached without adjustments of the ECM

    Is that correct?

    grtz, D

  11. #11
    Electronic Ignition!
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Age
    39
    Posts
    19
    hello

    maybe I was a little bit too fast with my prevoius questions ...

    Done a lot of reading here on the forum and elsewhere on the internet, and I think I am a step further now....

    For the moment, I am still using te AZTY bin from gearefi, together with the 88 mask complete 1.01 from Robert Saar, and the 88ADX.

    Entered the correct flowrate of the injectors in the bin (18 lb/hr) (KDISFS).
    The flowrate for Alpha-N seems not possible to be changed, but I guess that is not an issue for now.. (It resets every time to 0.16)

    Made some historytables (BLM vs RPM vs MAP)
    After running some log files, notice that the BLM is somewhere between 100 and 110, but it changes a lot...

    Could this be by the bigger volume of the engine?

    What value should I opprox add to the VE table for lets say each value of 5 that is short in the BLM?

    grtz, D

  12. #12
    Electronic Ignition!
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Age
    39
    Posts
    19
    Hello

    Got the fuel ok by now bit by bit...
    First the low throttle, now started to the higher throttle...
    Almost all the BLM's between 126 and 130....

    Noticed that when I go full throttle, the ecm goes into open loop....
    Could someone tell me if it is possible to add conditions to the history tables....
    That way, I could ignore the values when goes out of closed loop.....

    Searched for it on this forum and on the internet, but didn't find any of this.....

    And one more question, but the car did this since I got it... (even with the 3.1 engine)
    When the engine is hot, it somethimes struggle to get it started....
    Seems like I hear a little 'ping' sometimes too....
    Advance is pre-set to 10, starter engine is new, and also the cable from the battery to the starter is new..
    Battery is good.
    Only this that stays the same is the distributor... (cap and rotor is new, cables and plugs also new)
    So I guess I could narrow it to the ignition module....
    Could this be faulty? What should be the other symptoms then?

    grtz, D

  13. #13
    Electronic Ignition!
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Age
    39
    Posts
    19
    @ Robert...

    You mentioned before that you switched to $A1
    I believe that is to use the DIS-system correct?
    Could you tell me what cables I have to reconnect/change to use the DIS?

    grtz, D

  14. #14
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Camden, MI
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,026
    any of the MPFI 60V6 masks will run DIS or a distributor pretty easily, I think only 3 values need changed in the calibration. as far as wiring, I've never had to do it, all of mine have been DIS already, but it can't be more than the couple of wires that run to the ICMs. they use the same signaling scheme over 4 wires (EST, EST bypass, 3X high, 3X low) that connect to the ECM.
    1995 Chevrolet Monte Carlo LS 3100 + 4T60E


  15. #15
    Electronic Ignition!
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Age
    39
    Posts
    19
    @ Robert

    Get the engine running with the DIS yesterday.
    Runs pretty good, as I just used a 3.1 VE table...

    I just have no tach...
    I connected the white tach wire to the pin C of the 6pin connector

    tach does not responds....

    Any tips are welcome...

    grtz, D

Similar Threads

  1. first chip engine still not running maybe bad IAC please look at log
    By Greased-lightning in forum TunerPro Tuning Talk
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-10-2015, 07:15 PM
  2. 1227730 ECM
    By 7399MGM in forum Introductions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-18-2013, 11:24 AM
  3. Replies: 58
    Last Post: 08-07-2013, 11:20 AM
  4. Chip Offsets stock chip?
    By POZE in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 01-27-2013, 04:06 PM
  5. Reading a 1227730 chip
    By EagleMark in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-03-2011, 05:38 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •