Bringing TBI and Multi Port Fuel Injection to a New Level.     EFI Conversions and Tuning! Seattle to Portland! E-mail Tuning Consultant!
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Tablet and TunerPro?

  1. #1
    Fuel Injected! brian617's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Arkansas
    Age
    38
    Posts
    519

    Tablet and TunerPro?

    Would like to datalog with TunerPro on a tablet. Curious what I need to look for in a tablet in order to do so. Maybe some suggestions on compatible tablets.
    89 K1500 Scottsdale 5.7L 5spd 3:42

    Build specs: 97 4 bolt main block 350ci, Eagle rotating assembly with flat tops and 4 valve reliefs, Dart 165cc/67cc Iron Eagle heads, Manely SS valves and springs 110lbs seat @1.7, GM Ram Jet cam 196/206 @.50 .431/.451, stock intake and throttle body, heads and intake gasket matched, Delco EP377 fuel pump @ 22 psi, 427 PCM.

  2. #2
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    732
    Almost anything that can run Tunerpro (so Windows based) with a USB port should work. I use a cheap Acer tablet. Touch screen is handy for operating in the car compared to trying to manipulate a touch pad.

  3. #3
    Fuel Injected! brian617's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Arkansas
    Age
    38
    Posts
    519
    I figured it would have to be windows based, thanks for the confirmation. You know what model Acer you use?
    89 K1500 Scottsdale 5.7L 5spd 3:42

    Build specs: 97 4 bolt main block 350ci, Eagle rotating assembly with flat tops and 4 valve reliefs, Dart 165cc/67cc Iron Eagle heads, Manely SS valves and springs 110lbs seat @1.7, GM Ram Jet cam 196/206 @.50 .431/.451, stock intake and throttle body, heads and intake gasket matched, Delco EP377 fuel pump @ 22 psi, 427 PCM.

  4. #4
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    732
    Not sure, something like a P170. I think it sold being called an ultrabook laptop but it was really a tablet with a bluetooth keyboard case and mouse. It first sold for a fair bit of cash but it shipped with W8 and wouldn't update to W10 because the video driver wouldn't load so they cleared them out at a big discount. I found that if you messed with the W10 upgrade until it crashed on boot that it then re-installed W10 and the video driver works. Dumb, but that's how the upgrade went. For the price it works great but I wouldn't have paid the non clear-out price for it. It's i5, 4gig and 128SSD and I still couldn't buy one as good or better to replace it for less then I paid over a year ago.

  5. #5
    Fuel Injected! brian617's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Arkansas
    Age
    38
    Posts
    519
    Don't know a lot about PCs found this on eBay (WinBook TW101 2GB ram, 32GB storage, Intel Atom 1.33ghz and Windows 10) Is that enough PC?
    89 K1500 Scottsdale 5.7L 5spd 3:42

    Build specs: 97 4 bolt main block 350ci, Eagle rotating assembly with flat tops and 4 valve reliefs, Dart 165cc/67cc Iron Eagle heads, Manely SS valves and springs 110lbs seat @1.7, GM Ram Jet cam 196/206 @.50 .431/.451, stock intake and throttle body, heads and intake gasket matched, Delco EP377 fuel pump @ 22 psi, 427 PCM.

  6. #6
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    732
    That would probably work. The 32gig SSD limits how many programs you could install.

  7. #7
    Fuel Injected! brian617's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Arkansas
    Age
    38
    Posts
    519
    TunerPro is all I care to put on it. My old HP laptop is fubar, just want to datalog with something small enough to throw on the seat.
    89 K1500 Scottsdale 5.7L 5spd 3:42

    Build specs: 97 4 bolt main block 350ci, Eagle rotating assembly with flat tops and 4 valve reliefs, Dart 165cc/67cc Iron Eagle heads, Manely SS valves and springs 110lbs seat @1.7, GM Ram Jet cam 196/206 @.50 .431/.451, stock intake and throttle body, heads and intake gasket matched, Delco EP377 fuel pump @ 22 psi, 427 PCM.

  8. #8
    Carb and Points!
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Topeka Kansas
    Age
    26
    Posts
    3
    I've been curious about the tablet approach as well for some time. I have been specifically looking for one to be mounted in my suburban. I back road explore, and hit a lot of trails. Id like to mount a tablet to the dash for google maps, tuning, weather, etc. I could also keep all the diagnostic info running in real time. Its the best of all worlds. Especially if your running older laptops, those ol girls can take up a lot of room and can have some heft.
    1988 V20 5.7tbi/Sm465/Dana60/14bff------1991 Z28 Camaro 5.7TPI/700r4-------1968 Mustang Coupe 302/c6

  9. #9
    Super Moderator Six_Shooter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    2,812
    You can also look at Android based tablets, if you want to use ALDLDroid.
    The man who says something is impossible, is usually interrupted by the man doing it.

  10. #10
    Fuel Injected! brian617's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Arkansas
    Age
    38
    Posts
    519
    Quote Originally Posted by Six_Shooter View Post
    You can also look at Android based tablets, if you want to use ALDLDroid.
    I considered that option. Will ALDLDroid make histrograms ?
    89 K1500 Scottsdale 5.7L 5spd 3:42

    Build specs: 97 4 bolt main block 350ci, Eagle rotating assembly with flat tops and 4 valve reliefs, Dart 165cc/67cc Iron Eagle heads, Manely SS valves and springs 110lbs seat @1.7, GM Ram Jet cam 196/206 @.50 .431/.451, stock intake and throttle body, heads and intake gasket matched, Delco EP377 fuel pump @ 22 psi, 427 PCM.

  11. #11
    Carb and Points!
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Age
    46
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by brian617 View Post
    Would like to datalog with TunerPro on a tablet. Curious what I need to look for in a tablet in order to do so. Maybe some suggestions on compatible tablets.
    Hello, I've SUCCESSFULLY had TP RT running off of my Microsoft Surface Pro 3 and Pro 4's running Windows 10. Furthermore, even having only a single USB port on the Surface, I've used a USB hub and plugged both my moates ALDL data logger and my moates Ostrich 2 emulator with success. The touch functionality works great! The only very minor issue is that floating utility tabs (dashboard) becomes a new window when using Tablet mode (in Windows) and is hard to navigate between the two windows using touch. Using the mouse, via the keyboard attached, is perfect and negates this problem anyway. In summary - everything (that i use) works like a champ!!

  12. #12
    Carb and Points!
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Age
    34
    Posts
    8
    I use a lenovo ideatab lynx 11.6" tablet running Win10, it only has one micro-usb port for both charging and data transfer. I did find an OTG cable that allows me to charge and split to a standard USB for data. I've used this tablet for both HPTuners for OBDII GM cars & trucks as well as TunerProRT I'm using for my Bosch Motronic M3.3. I can safely say it's an absolute PITA to tune via touchscreen without a keyboard and mouse. For that reason I suggest bigger is better
    Last edited by Mykk; 12-25-2016 at 01:42 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Dell tablet for tuning
    By roughneck427 in forum Other EFI systems and related topics
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-23-2014, 09:49 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •