Thread: Tools are good...

Fuel Injected!

Tools are good...

I think my head is going to explode from the amount of reading I've been doing. This place is an amazing resource. I admit I'm a little nervous. This is my first attempt at converting an older style engine to EFI and tuning it. Hopefully I don't ask too many dumb questions...

I originally thought it best to buy the Moates APU1 AutoProm package for my project. But I was a little concerned about it being limited to the OBD1 Gm. Still, and amazing piece of kit. Instead I took a more universal and separate path for tools.

I purchased an Ostrich 2.0 for emulation, a GQ-4X4 universal programmer, and a FT232RL adapter for an ALDL cable I will make. The Ostrich I can use for a future Honda project I have, and the GQ-4X4 will be more useful for my bench. The GQ-4X4 will program a LOT more devices than just EProms/EEProms.

I also started some mods to the 16197427 memcal that will be used for this project. My plan is to modify the 16197427 PCM for MPFI use.

Some Pictures:

Progress will be slow but hopefully sure.

David

I feel the same way. There is so much tech and info on this site its hard to take it all in. I just picked up a Moates ALDU1, CABL1, and a BURN2. Now all I need is an Ostrich 2.0. If I can get some shop time it would be great.

Fuel Injected!
    Qweencityspeed,

I've read here having some way to emulate and change things on the fly is a huge time saver! So when I got the Black Friday discount offer from Xenocron in my inbox, I grabbed the Ostrich 2.0! The offer was $50 off a $175 order. Grabbed two SST 27SF512's at the same time.