Thread: KlingonFiero saying Hi.

Electronic Ignition!

KlingonFiero saying Hi.

Hello All.

Been watching this site for long time now.

I'm an ex ASE cert mechanic, specializing in GM wiring.
    Lately I've been working on Pontiac Fieros , built a couple from the ground up. Currently have a 1986 SE sitting in storage - trying to decide to sell or do an engine swap...

My passion has been split between the Fiero and the first gen Blazers.

Finally found a decent '93 LT Tahoe - loving the leather :)

Just moved to southwestern VA from Denver, towed about 5000 lbs without a problem except the ignition switch failing in Kansas.

Got too VA and the truck experienced a set of cascade failures. Spent 3 weeks fixing her back up, but am still having issues that I think are related to the PCM/memcal/programming.

Wish me luck!

Fuel Injected!
    Welcome! The fiero is a great platform for swaps and is very accommodating. I've swapped in the 3.4 from a camaro, an F23 trans from a cavalier, and ran it with a 7730 ecm. Both very good choices, but if I'd had it available at the time, I'd swap in a 3500 pre-vvt from a g6 and an F23 or f40 trans.
    Anything over 160hp will make the fiero move like it was intended. Good luck!

Fuel Injected!
    Sounds like you're a guy after my own heart... check my signature!
    -Phil, in Charleston, SC

'89 S10 Blazer: SOA SAS: Dana 44s, 5.7L V8, 700R4; 35s, 4.10:1; TBI with 1227747 ECM
    '94 Grand Cherokee: 4.0, 4" lift, 31s
    '90 Jeep Cherokee: In progress: 5.7L V8,700R4,NP231C, D44s. TBI with 1227747 ECM
    '87 Fiero GT: 3.8SC (initial research stage)

Electronic Ignition!
    Nice to not be hated on because of my Fiero Affair! Or being told they all catch fire...

My last driver was an 86 that I completely gutted, welded in a flat pan up front, for a battery tray and small toolkit. No spare because of the 16" rims and wide tires.