Thread: 57 Rochester FI - any experts?

Fuel Injected!

57 Rochester FI - any experts?

Hi I am trying to dial in a 57 Vette 283 FI. I have a few questions.

Administrator
    I'm not an expert. I can try and help based on RFI manual and experience with EFI and limited experience MB Mechanical FI. I have heard these systems are finicky so my help may be worth no more than the cost of membership here.

Fuel Injected!
    OK here is the story.
    I work at Major Corvette shop in Riverside Ca.The Car came in with a carb and high rise manifold on a 1960 283 / Turbo 350 and all the original 57 FI parts in a box - everything from Manifold to distributor.
    I went through every FI item - Replaced all gaskets, seals, and diaphragms. Made sure that all injectors and lines were clean and clear.
    The car actually runs quite well until you shut it down. Upon restart it is always flooded and needs 1/2 throttle to start and clear out. At times the cylinders are so full of gas that it will Hydro lock damn near. I removed the upper manifold and any intake valves that were shut have that port full of gas.
    Question is --- What id used as say a check valve to keep the system from draining into the cylinders? Is it the spring tension on the spill valve that would shut the fuel off? Could i have damaged the spider when I blew air and carb spray through the spider? Is there a check valve in the Fuel spider?
    I have done several others with no problems on restart - this car is got me baffled.
    Last edited by Byron; 08-23-2016 at 06:28 AM.

Fuel Injected!
    We are talking a lot of years ago but I had a couple of friends with the old rochester fi. I think there was a check valve that failed a lot. I can't remember how it was done but they both put in manual shut offs after hydro locked bent rods. l haven't talked to them in a long while but could try and get ahold of them if no one else chimes in.
    6395, BHDF, 7.4 BBC lightly modded now 6395 BMHM back to BHDF