Thread: Jet DST LT4 Vette Headers and Cold Air?

Carb and Points!

Jet DST LT4 Vette Headers and Cold Air?

Hi all I am new to the Forum and I have a newbee question!
    So I have an LT4 Vette with 1 3/4" ARH headers/cats, and Cold Air. I just bought a used JET DST and am familiar with tuning terms for the most part. I have already programmed my cooling fans to turn on faster and eliminated my CAGS (JET calls it CARS for whatever reason).
    My car runs great no issues but I am wondering if more HP could be gained by tuning the fuel and spark? If there is not much to be gained then I won't bother tuning as the car does run great.
    If there are decent gains by tuning then should I tune at an RPM level around 4000 RPM and up? I have a scan tool that will take readings and let me upload to my computer. I am thinking of making a few WOT runs to see what it looks like and then start adjusting but I am new to this so any suggestions would be appreciated

Carb and Points!
    What is CAGS/CARS? I also just started using DST and trying to learn the terms. Thx

Carb and Points!
    Quote Originally Posted by TonyT1996 View Post
    What is CAGS/CARS? I also just started using DST and trying to learn the terms. Thx
    CAGS is Computer Aided Gear Selecton (it is when you are driving slow and the computer engages a solenoid inside the manual transmission to force a 1st to 4th shift). JET DST calls this CARS and I have no idea why, I think they misspelled CAGS.
    Good luck with your tuning there is certainly not much out there for help on the LT4 engines. I stopped playing after turning off the CAGS, lowering my electric fan turn on temperature and giving a slight timing boost in the upper RPMs.
    The car doesn't ping and runs great but it is trial and error and I was extremely conservative with my adjustment (probably no gain at all for horsepower but the engine runs nicely).
    Last edited by grandspt; 03-31-2017 at 02:25 AM.

Administrator