Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New member swapping 4.3 for 5.7 tbi

Electronic Ignition!

New member swapping 4.3 for 5.7 tbi

Hello All! I've been a frequent reader of the forum (especially recently), but never registered. I have a 1994 K1500 5-spd that I'm trying to finish up a 4.3 to 5.7 tbi swap on. I'm new to working on SBCs and not finding a lot of useful help here in WV.

I found the Jasper 5.7 in a 1990 Cadillac Fleetwood with 89k documented miles. Engine started and ran great in the donor. I have the 5.7 in my truck and running. Trying to button up a few things to get it running great. I'm using the 4.3 wiring harness and ECM with 5.7 sensors.

I'm currently getting a code 43 (ecm/knock sensor) and low idle. I've talked to some other people who have completed a 4.3 to 5.7 swap and they claim that the 4.3 chip can be used for the 5.7. The truck is running "ok," but I think it could be better. I ordered a Jet 29404-S chip and realized it wouldn't fit my 16197427 ECM. Jet tech support told me that I needed a chip for the 5.7 that their performance chip could piggyback on.

I'm having trouble finding the correct chip for my ECM. I figured it was time to join the forum and ask for expertise from someone who knows. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I've been thinking most, if not all, 94 K1500 with a 5.7 would have an automatic transmission. Maybe you can program your own chip with the modified attached .bin file? You have the option of using an adapter board to use a chip you program for yourself, see attached pictures. I think the Code 43 is because you will need a different knock sensor. Based on personal experience, I would use the knock sensor for a 1994 K1500 5.7 liter with AUTOMATIC Transmission with the 16197427 computer.

dave w
    Attached Images Attached Images

Electronic Ignition!
    Quote Originally Posted by dave w View Post