Bringing TBI and Multi Port Fuel Injection to a New Level.     EFI Conversions and Tuning! Seattle to Portland! E-mail Tuning Consultant!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: programming a $42 cip

  1. #1
    Carb and Points!
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Age
    50
    Posts
    4

    programming a $42 cip

    Hi, This is a first time to post hear, But I am new to this, I have a 89 chevy ecm #1227747 and I can not get it to program correctly? This is what I have done,I soldered the new dip socket and pluged a zf socket into that in the computer board,I can plug the original 4kb chip in and the truck will run fine, but if I copy the program on to a 27sf512 chip and plug it in with no changes to the program it runs in limp mode with the check engine light blinking. I am using a apu from moats for the programming, I have done an $od 64kb several times with no issues so I know it is something I am doing wrong. PLEASE can some one tell me where I am messing up!!! THANKS 83iroc383

  2. #2
    Super Moderator dave w's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    3,401
    Post the offsets you are programming the 27SF512 chip with.

    http://static.moates.net/manuals/FlashAndBurn.pdf

    dave w

  3. #3
    Carb and Points!
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Age
    50
    Posts
    4
    I have tried 000000,00ffff and 000000,000fff and neither work

  4. #4
    Carb and Points!
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Age
    50
    Posts
    4
    I looked at the file you sent and I think I had chip and buffer start and stop points backwards, I will try it tomorrow and let you know THANKS for the info

  5. #5
    Super Moderator dave w's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    3,401
    Quote Originally Posted by 83iroc383 View Post
    I have tried 000000,00ffff and 000000,000fff and neither work
    I think you missed an "F" in the Chip Start / End addressing 00F000 - 00FFFF

    dave w

    File Size
    Chip
    Buffer Start -> End
    Chip Start -> End
    4k (4096)
    27SF512
    000000 -> 000FFF
    00F000 -> 00FFFF

  6. #6
    Super Moderator dave w's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    3,401
    Buffer is the chip size, 4k chip is buffer address 00000 to 000FFF.

    Chip start -> end is the address you want the 27SF512 to have the 4K chip, Starting Addess is 00F000 with the ending address 00FFFF.

    The 27SF512 chip is 64K in size, you only need the last 4K of the 64K available in 27SF512.

    "There are 10 kinds of people" those that understand binary and those that don't.

    dave w

  7. #7
    Fuel Injected! uncabob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Age
    80
    Posts
    110
    Quote Originally Posted by dave w View Post
    Buffer is the chip size, 4k chip is buffer address 00000 to 000FFF.

    Chip start -> end is the address you want the 27SF512 to have the 4K chip, Starting Addess is 00F000 with the ending address 00FFFF.

    The 27SF512 chip is 64K in size, you only need the last 4K of the 64K available in 27SF512.

    "There are 10 kinds of people" those that understand binary and those that don't.

    dave w
    Dave: Did I read somewhere that 27SF512 had to be erased first? Can someone link me to info about programming it with apu1 or flash and burn?
    Don't force it, get a bigger hammer!

  8. #8
    Super Moderator dave w's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    3,401
    http://support.moates.net/autoprom-apu1/

    The 27SF512 will need to be erased before programming.

    dave w

  9. #9
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Age
    48
    Posts
    34
    Did you figure this out? Im having the exact same issue.

  10. #10
    Fuel Injected! uncabob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Age
    80
    Posts
    110
    Quote Originally Posted by falconvan View Post
    Did you figure this out? Im having the exact same issue.
    Are you using the APU1 with Tunerpro and a 27SF512 chip?
    Don't force it, get a bigger hammer!

  11. #11
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Age
    48
    Posts
    34
    Quote Originally Posted by uncabob View Post
    Are you using the APU1 with Tunerpro and a 27SF512 chip?
    Im using a Burn 2 with Tunerpro and a 27sf512 but Im using Flash & Burn to burn the chip. Dave sent me a starter bin file to put on the chip so I am taking that file directly to Flash & burn and onto the chip.

    S3TPI said that the flashing CEL indicates that the ECM is not reading the PROM and the chip adapter connection may be at fault. I had an electronics shop install the ZIF socket for me; just trying to eliminate other possibilities before I take it back to them.

    What did you find with yours, did you get it working?

  12. #12
    Fuel Injected! uncabob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Age
    80
    Posts
    110
    Quote Originally Posted by falconvan View Post
    What did you find with yours, did you get it working?
    TunerPro was not seeing my hardware (APU1) and I had to download the Moates drivers again (.dll files) and install them. Be sure to erase your chip first and address it right (see Dave's remarks).
    Don't force it, get a bigger hammer!

  13. #13
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Fort Smith, Ar
    Age
    43
    Posts
    46
    checksum can make cel flash too...................

  14. #14
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Age
    48
    Posts
    34
    Checksum? What is that?

  15. #15
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Age
    48
    Posts
    34
    I'll try this, too.

Similar Threads

  1. LS1 Flash Chip Programming
    By john h in forum OBDII Tuning
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11-23-2016, 02:21 PM
  2. help vortec 350 tbi programming
    By tamperedchevy in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 81
    Last Post: 10-01-2014, 09:08 AM
  3. Bench programming a LT1 PCM ?
    By EagleMark in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 01-25-2014, 06:37 PM
  4. PCM Programming for Dummies?
    By ezobens in forum OBDII Tuning
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-16-2013, 10:37 AM
  5. LT1 PCM Benchtop Programming with 7747?
    By EagleMark in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-18-2012, 06:23 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •