Thread: Help me brake in my 383 cam...........

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Carb and Points!

Help me brake in my 383 cam...........

So I am new to the site, but have been reading here for a long time. I am a novice when it comes to tuning, but want to try and do it myself.

Truck 88 GMC Jimmy (fullsize)
    Motor: 383 stroker (10:1)
    Cam: SUM-1105 flat tappet cam. (summitracing)
    Aluminum 190cc heads (64cc chamber)
    Stock 454 Throttle body (80lb injectors)

My ecm right now is a 7747 and has a stock 350 tune.

I don't want to ruin my new cam by having a tune that won't start up and run good enough to break the cam in right away. I don't need it to run perfect, just good enough at first, and then I can fine tune if from there. I am assuming my current stock 350 tune isn't up to the task, but I wonder if I could do a stock 7.4L tbi tune to break the cam in? I know one guy who successfully did this, but it was with a 350 with a cam. I would assume it would work better with the added displacement of the 383.

I am thinking the easiest thing to do is snag someone's bin for a moderately built 383 who used big block injectors and go from there.
    Any help is appreciated.

If you can you burn your own chip, the attached screen shot is the BPW for a '7747 / 383 / 80 lb. injectors.

dave w
    Attached Files Attached Files

Super Moderator
    a neat trick may be to temporarily setup the commanded idle speed tables to the 2000 or so RPM you'll be spinning the engine at for the break-in procedure.
    1995 Chevrolet Monte Carlo LS 3100 + 4T60E

Carb and Points!
    Thanks for the quick reply.