Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: help with vortec and 4l80 swap please

Fuel Injected!

help with vortec and 4l80 swap please

so im new to the whole tuning stuff and everything and would like to learn more.
    im going to be starting on a swap in the next month or so i have a 1987 v20 chevy pickup with a tbi350 that im redoing. im doing a vortec head swap on it and a 4l80 swap too. i have a complete 1992 chevy with the 4l80. so what my plan is is to take the computer, wiring, tranny and anything else ill need to make it work.
    im just uncertain on how to make it work and what im going to have to change
    the computer in the 87 is a 7747. im not sure what it is in the 1992 since i havent torn it apart yet.
    also what kind of tuning stuff should i get? ive been looking at the moates website but not sure what to buy forsure

Fuel Injected!
    would i be better off keeping my 7747 to control the motor and making my computer from the 1992 a standalone or swap and make it all work off the 1992 computer.
    also would the apu1 setup from moates be a good idea/ investment to buy?

The APU1 is an option, I decided on the Ostrich 2.0 emulator which eliminates the need for a chip.

dave w
    Last edited by dave w; 02-12-2016 at 12:24 AM. Reason: Controversial Comments

Fuel Injected!
    ill have to try and check tomorrow and see what computer is in my parts truck. i dont think there wiring harness would work since i have one of the first gen 4l80's
    what else would i need to get to be able to use the ostrich? just the cables or does it come with them?
    im just trying to gather as much info on the swap before i dive head first into it

I installed my Ostrich 2.0 with a Moates.net G1 memory adapter board.

dave w
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by dave w; 02-12-2016 at 12:26 AM. Reason: Controversial Comments

Fuel Injected!
    okay sweet and i went out a little bit ago and got the number off the parts truck ecm and its a '7060