Thread: whaddaya know...another 700r4 TCC lockup thread.........

Fuel Injected!

whaddaya know...another 700r4 TCC lockup thread.........

Alright, after a year and a half, I finally took the plunge and rebuilt that spare '91 700r4 transmission I have.

Pretty much a success and am very happy with the results of it.

Now it's on to "re-tuning" since the transmission is running like it should and up to date, I've tuned the BIN around the crappy transmission.

At the moment, I've been fighting with the TCC lock up.

Now, to share what I have learned based on MY setup, which is the following:

(DISCLAIMER: What I am sharing below is what I have learned about MY setup. I am not an expert on 700r4's, nor am I an expert on tuning.)

1985 S-15, originally had a carbureted 2.8, now has a '93 Firebird 3.4L
    I put an Edelbrock intake on it with a Holley 390 carb.
    From there, I installed a complete TBI system from a 1988 S-10 with a 2.8L. This is the 1228062 ECM.
    I then installed 4.3L injectors along with the bigger bore throttle body.

I then tuned the BIN file around the '85 700r4 in it with apparently worn out 3/4 gears.

Moving on, now that I've got the freshly rebuilt r4 in, the task at hand was to figure out the TCC lockup and how to tweak the parameters as this transmission has a different lockup solenoid wiring setup than the '85.

The '85 has just the solenoid. This solenoid was controlled via the vacuum switch through the brake switch.

The '91 has the solenoid and a 4th gear pressure switch, which feeds the "high gear" signal to the ECM.

My goal was to have the TCC lock and unlock completely controlled by the ECM. This was easily accomplished as I just added a wire for the run between the 4th gear pressure switch and the brake switch connection on the transmission to the ECM. Running the TCC lockup from the ECM to the transmission wasn't an issue either.