Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Introduction

Electronic Ignition!

Introduction

Hello everyone. I have been doing extensive research on swapping vortec heads onto the TBI 350 in my Caddy (in signature). While doing research, I was led to this site. My biggest hesitations with doing this swap are: not making the car run worse, not dealing with a check engine light, and not getting buried and overwhelmed with details like making a custom EGR setup or eliminating it altogether and tuning becoming a nightmare, not hurting gas mileage at all or too much. Anyway, I am a mechanic by trade, and thus very capable. I have a few other toys too including a '69 GTO project car, an '86 F150 Flareside 4x4, an '02 Harley Low Rider, a '71 M35A2 deuce and a half, and an '88 Baja Sunsport. My Caddy is my daily driver and my baby. It's a great cruiser that's just a little short on power. I get about 12 MPG city and 18-20 highway. I'd love to get some help getting the Caddy some more power. I want to retain the TBI EFI and swap on a good set of vortec heads I have. I don't know if I should make a separate thread for that in the GM EFI section or delve right into it here.
    1990 Cadillac Brougham with all original VIN 7 GM TBI roller 350. 78,000 miles, 3.23 rear, rebuilt and upgraded 700R4 with 1500 stall. Engine upgrades include: Ultimate TBI mods, big air cleaner, SMOG pump/system delete, cat delete, high flow y pipe.

I had excellent results using TBI heads on a roller camshaft Vortec 5.7 liter short block assembly. Using TBI heads saved money, time, and several headaches. Admittedly, the Vortec heads would yield slightly better performance. The Vortec roller camshaft required some timing and fuel table adjustments to the PROM chip programming to get things dialed in.

dave w

Electronic Ignition!