Thread: New guy to forum

Carb and Points!

New guy to forum

I am new to fuel injection swaps. I have raced dirt drags and speed pit mud runs for years and can make a holly double pumper do what ever you want but I have little knowledge on efi swaps. Joined the forum to hopefully be able to gain knowledge into what most people on here, I would assume would tell me is and easy swap. I am building a street / play toy truck for my daughter. She will be 16 in a year and 1/2. The truck is a 4wd 86 chevy swb it have a carburated 350 in it now but. I have a complete 93 chevy 4wd TBI 350 and 4l60. My goal is to build a 383 stroker with mild cam and convert it to efi minus the egr and cat. Building the engine no problem getting the harness modified is doable sure I will have questions. But tuning and engine with a computer is what worries me.

Carb and Points!
    I forgot to mention I also have access to a throttle body from a BBC if anyone thought the SBC throttle body would be to small. I also have considered injecting a 500 caddy in this truck if that is feasible. I would like to retain the lock up feature of the torque convertor also.

Welcome. Where are you located?

Carb and Points!
    Southern Ohio

I would use the BBC throttle body, even on a 350.

The caddy engine can be TBI injected, using a 7 pin module / HEI distributor.

The 1227747 TBI ECM is a good computer to learn TBI with.

Are planning on burning your own chips?

dave w

Carb and Points!
    I will probably go with the 383 I will have to look and see what # ecm I have. I don't know what is required to burn a chip as of yet. I would like at some point to be able to do my own yes. We offroad along with racing and I could see it being nice to be able to burn my own chips for trail vehicles.

The EFI learning curve will be steep, but very doable!

Do you have an OBD1 TBI vehicle you can start learning EFI with? Having a running driving OBD1 TBI vehicle will help with learning TBI.

dave w

Carb and Points!