Bringing TBI and Multi Port Fuel Injection to a New Level.     EFI Conversions and Tuning! Seattle to Portland! E-mail Tuning Consultant!
Page 60 of 61 FirstFirst ... 105055565758596061 LastLast
Results 886 to 900 of 914

Thread: new $EE tuning thing!

  1. #886
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    728
    Remember, all widebands read lambda. To give an AFR number, the lambda value is just converted to AFR using a math formula. So, it doesn't really matter what "ideal" or lambda =1 AFR is picked as ideal as long as you stick with it from wideband setup through logging to any fueling calculations. In theory, you can tune E85 using 14.7 as the ideal AFR if you wanted to.

    Now, using lambda does make it clearer because you're always working with ratios which correctly represent the fueling. 1.0 is the ideal mixture. 0.9 is decent for PE mode. 1.1 could be used for lean cruise.

  2. #887
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,167
    bumping this old thread for a new beta: http://fbodytech.com/eehack-4-8-beta/

    it uses a way newer QT library, so please help me test it to make sure nothing is seriously broken. it also dumps the contents of the flash write log to the debug log when it's done (so you can more easily copy the log for me if something goes wrong during a flash?)

  3. #888
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Age
    37
    Posts
    39
    Thanks Steveo! I'm not much help but will take a look and test. I'm always messing around with it some how. I finally ordered a WB and excited to see how it does with the data. I have never had a WB in my life. I've alway used my nose and spark plug readings but I'm no pro. I have read they need to be calibrated. Is there anything special I need to do to get it calibrated for EEHack? I won't have a gauge only using EEhack with the WB O2.

  4. #889
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,167
    calibrating a wideband through this ecm can be a bit weird, what wideband did you buy?

    generally the problem isnt calibrating the wideband itself, but getting accurate readings within operating range to the datastream

  5. #890
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Age
    37
    Posts
    39
    I got an NTK wideband but have a problem. I haven't messed with it in a month or so and decided to mess around with a few things. I went to go flash like I've done 250+ times always double checking that my laptop and car battery are up to par. I connected with EEHack v4.51 and got an error stating it was stuck in RAM and to disconnect the battery for a bit. I did so several times and got the same message but at least my car would start. So I left the battery disconnected for 24hrs. Went out an hour ago to retry and got a ton of messages now the fans run constantly and car wonít fire up. Iíve seen several cars do the same thing,,,,,when the computer is dirt! looks like Iím going to buying another ECM. I was hoping for a magic trick to get this one back to working order which I really doubt. I want to know what caused this so I don't fry another but it may have just been flashed to it's max though I've seen where they can go up to 1000 flashes. It's not major just sucks lol

  6. #891
    Fuel Injected! Terminal_Crazy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Lancashire England
    Posts
    122
    Quote Originally Posted by troutdog311 View Post
    I got an NTK wideband but have a problem. I haven't messed with it in a month or so and decided to mess around with a few things. I went to go flash like I've done 250+ times always double checking that my laptop and car battery are up to par. I connected with EEHack v4.51 and got an error stating it was stuck in RAM and to disconnect the battery for a bit. I did so several times and got the same message but at least my car would start. So I left the battery disconnected for 24hrs. Went out an hour ago to retry and got a ton of messages now the fans run constantly and car won't fire up. I've seen several cars do the same thing,,,,,when the computer is dirt! looks like I'm going to buying another ECM. I was hoping for a magic trick to get this one back to working order which I really doubt. I want to know what caused this so I don't fry another but it may have just been flashed to it's max though I've seen where they can go up to 1000 flashes. It's not major just sucks lol
    Yep, that's exactly what i got a month or so back. Finally got it reflashed & working again. and yes it sucks!
    '95 Z28 M6 -Just the odd mod.
    '80 350 A3 C3 Corvette - recent addition.

  7. #892

  8. #893
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    35
    I'd like to put my 2 cents into this discussion, after using this program for tuning a few f-bodies. Great work and it really makes life easier!

    For me it would make tuning even easier if the Analyzer result tables could be simply copied and pasted. Another thought is to make the tables resolution match the resolution of PCM tables.

    I have made a little spreadsheet to interpolate data from EEhack analysis for VE table adjustment, but entering the values by hand is a major PITA...

    There is the spreadsheet attached, maybe it will be useful for someone. To use it you must instal excell interpolation add-on from http://xongrid.sourceforge.net/
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by dzidaV8; 03-18-2017 at 05:22 AM.

  9. #894
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,167
    Quote Originally Posted by dzidaV8 View Post
    I'd like to put my 2 cents into this discussion, after using this program for tuning a few f-bodies. Great work and it really makes life easier!

    For me it would make tuning even easier if the Analyzer result tables could be simply copied and pasted. Another thought is to make the tables resolution match the resolution of PCM tables.

    I have made a little spreadsheet to interpolate data from EEhack analysis for VE table adjustment, but entering the values by hand is a major PITA...

    There is the spreadsheet attached, maybe it will be useful for someone. To use it you must instal excell interpolation add-on from http://xongrid.sourceforge.net/
    i totally understand what you're saying.

    i tried to make the VE and MAF analysis tables match the scale of the ones in $EE, but when subjected to ordinary datalogs it tended towards a really noisy unusable correction map, because the analysis that eehack does is fairly primitive and doesn't smooth/spread/interpolate anything, it just averages into the appropriate cell, and by that time i didn't feel like making a more complex analyzer.

    the weird thing is i thought i had copy/paste working. at the very least, i'm going to get that going for you in the next version.

    i wont spend more time on the analyzer itself, since i'm writing a far superior one right now that is more general purpose and will do everything you want. it'll be an external tool, but will easily work with eehack's data.

  10. #895
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    35
    Thanks, the resolution is not so much of an issue, because as you wrote there would still need to be some smoothing added. Just a thought.

    But being able to copy the tables would be great :)

  11. #896
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,167
    i think i'll just put a copy to clipboard button right below the ve and maf correction tables for you. i can't see any need to select/copy ranges for this use case.

  12. #897
    Fuel Injected! Terminal_Crazy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Lancashire England
    Posts
    122

    Filtering erronous logs

    Hi Steveo:

    Just been looking through a log and wondered on the best way to filter out erronous logs.

    At 5500 rpm I let off the throttle and map drops to say 20 , afr hits 11.5 briefly due to the lag in the data log. I'm currently averaging this into my figures.

    How would you filter that out, say every log should be with 10% TPS of the previous log? or only use logs within 10% of the target AFR ?


    Mitch
    Terminal_Crazy
    '95 Z28 M6 -Just the odd mod.
    '80 350 A3 C3 Corvette - recent addition.

  13. #898
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,167
    noise like that is usually rejected or at least softened by your averaging if you have enough data.

    if your analysis algorithm allows you to reject surrounding records you could just say reject all records within a few rows of map < 25 or something.

  14. #899
    Fuel Injected! fbody_Brian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    156
    Just wanted to drop in here and say thanks again.
    I compiled the latest version on linux. Seems to work fine, no issues to report as of now.
    Haven't been doing much with the car because driving without 3rd and 4th gear puts a damper on things.
    Got a new transmission in and ready to drive this thing!
    1994 LT1/4L60E Formula

  15. #900
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Age
    37
    Posts
    39
    Thanks again for the great work Steveo and others that put in work. Still use it almost every time I drive the car. I wanted to add that I ended up getting the PLX DM-6 Touchscreen + SM-AFR Wideband combo kit. I used Pin D27 and Innovative config tab in EEHack. After fully warm it's only about 0.5 lower than gauge though at times dead on as far as I can tell. The WB gauge is more steady than on EE that changes more rapidly. Not complaining just talking. Why didn't I buy a WB a long time ago. Probably one of the most useful things I've installed but EEHack is by far the most useful. The WB really does let me see exactly where I need adjusting.
    Had about 60 errors today while flashing during the write period but double checked the bin after this and it had written everything needed. I was sweating buckshot because I just bricked my last one last month due to the battery literally took a crap in the middle of a flash. I will be connecting the charger for now on. Thanks again for everything!

Similar Threads

  1. 1badcell and thats not the only thing
    By 1badcell in forum Introductions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-30-2013, 04:25 PM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-27-2012, 11:03 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-07-2012, 07:26 AM
  4. Minor thing.
    By historystamp in forum GearHead EFI Forum Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-21-2012, 02:00 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •