Bringing TBI and Multi Port Fuel Injection to a New Level.     EFI Conversions and Tuning! Seattle to Portland! E-mail Tuning Consultant!
Page 57 of 63 FirstFirst ... 7475253545556575859606162 ... LastLast
Results 841 to 855 of 942

Thread: new $EE tuning thing!

  1. #841
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    763
    The values in the pressure tables are not the line pressure in psi. They are just values from 0-96 which represent the minimum to maximum possible line pressure. All of the various applicable "psi" values are all added together and then used to lookup the force motor current in the force motor table. A look at the code would be required to confirm, but in theory the modifiers should all just add to the main pressure table value and a higher final answer would command more line pressure.

    The tables are likely used to create a smoother shift. The performance applications typically seem to only have non-zero values in the 3-2 table. This could partly explained because of 2nd gear using the 2-4 band. The pressure might be dropped so the band doesn't bite too hard and make the shift abrupt. Bands can be trickier to apply because once they start to grab enough mechanical action takes over and makes them apply harder and harder.

    But, it could also just be because low speeds in the gear mean low rpm's so when you kick it down the converter is flashing and putting the maximum torque into the transmission hence upping the line pressure. Then, at high speeds the converter is closer to locked so no torque multiplication and you want a softer shift.
    Last edited by lionelhutz; 08-25-2016 at 08:26 AM.

  2. #842
    Fuel Injected! 91ss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Age
    55
    Posts
    36
    Yeah,didn't think it would be psi. Good info the range.
    Like the Ford EPC, the values relate to the current going to pressure control. The higher the current, the more the control closes off which reduces pressure. No, current - full pressure.. aka a failsafe if something goes wrong. I'm thinking the tables and force motor might work the same way. The cop and towing caprice bins have more negative values sooner.

  3. #843
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    763
    You can say the 0-96 "pressure" signal works inverted, but that would be wrong. The 0-96 "pressure" signal is directly related to line pressure. The force motor table lookup converts the "pressure" signal into line pressure and the inversion is done in that table. A "pressure" of 0 gives the highest current and a "pressure" of 96 gives the lowest current with a lower giving a higher line pressure.

    The offset table would have to be subtracted from the main line "pressure" for the table to work in reverse. This could be happening. The only way to know would be following the value through the code and seeing what is done with it. A simpler way might be to hookup a pressure gauge with the table values set to 0. Kick it down and see what the pressure does. Then, program the table values to -50 and kick it down again and see what effect -50 has on the pressure.

  4. #844
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    29
    Quote Originally Posted by steveo View Post
    if you can find out specifically what fuse you have to pull to get it working, that might be a start to us figuring out why it just doesn't work on some b-bodies. some experimentation is definitely required.
    I pulled the SLS underhood fuse, and the #15 AC/DRL, and #25 air bag fuses in the main panel. That stabilized it a LOT and made the program useable for datalogging, but it still errored out. I'll continue poking. Those are the exact fuses I have to pull to use TunerCat to flash in this wagon.

  5. #845

  6. #846
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    28
    Very cool tool Steevo! Thank you. I'm working with a 94 Fleetwood PCM. Connectivity seems very stable. I am having issues with my TPS fluctuating back and forth from 0 to 31%. Not sure what to make of it, it tests fine. I need a new IAC and connections to the VSS.

  7. #847
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,240
    Very cool tool Steevo! Thank you. I'm working with a 94 Fleetwood PCM. Connectivity seems very stable. I am having issues with my TPS fluctuating back and forth from 0 to 31%. Not sure what to make of it, it tests fine. I need a new IAC and connections to the VSS.
    that's not normal. does it 'test fine' on a scope, or just a volt meter? you should start the logger (car not running) then slowly push the gas pedal to the floor, and then slowly back off again a few times. then graph tps and see what it looks like.

  8. #848
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    28
    Tests fine on voltmeter. Voltage appeara to vary linearly, ohms are within spec. Whole different picture thru pcm. Blips between 0 and 31%. IAT was also drifting all over the place. Iat tests bad. Figured that was problem but still have TPS drift with IAT disconnected. Idles at 1550 showing target idle of 4500 or so. Ive checked grounds, power connections. Going to replace iat connect vss and hope for less wierdness. Im not sure what to make of it all.

  9. #849
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    109
    Steve, FYI, I just uploaded a tune to a B-body PCM (94 Roadmaster wagon) that I had previously uploaded a tune using EEHack 4.0 in december 2015. It took several attempts before I could read successfully due to Mode 13 (Security?) failures, and I was unable to write using EEHack 4.0 because of continual Mode13 failures. So I downloaded EEHack 4.6, selected B-body and attempted to connect but I couldn't. So I selected F-body and was able to connect, read and flash just fine.

    EDIT - This was using a direct programming harness I built between the PCM and the laptop, NOT through the vehicle.
    Last edited by sherlock9c1; 09-01-2016 at 11:21 AM.

  10. #850
    Fuel Injected! 91ss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Age
    55
    Posts
    36
    Hi Sherlock, wondering if you're missing syracuse at all and the snow? Should be starting soon :) I just downloaded it last night too. Just to get a looksee in the house. Does it let you the scalars and tables like TunerPro does? Seems like mostly logging, loading and reading. And some very basic settings. Couldn't find anything 'deeper' Is there a trick?

  11. #851
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    32
    There is a lot to read in this post but i wanted to ask? is anyone working on the EE Hack XDF for the 2bar ve tables and spark tables? I know Cats offers a 2bar file in which i have but with the success of EE hack and the nice logger is there a way to implement into the XDF and the datalogger?

  12. #852
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,240
    i've tuned a few 2 bar lt1s and i just do it in my head, dividing by two is just too easy

    if you wanted to just rename the table columns to make it easier to view that'd be nice too, post your work so we can all benefit. i could do it myself if there was enough demand.

    as far as eehack goes, that'd be easy for the most part. the definition is human readable, just find the map conversion values and change the multiplier. but that doesn't deal with the analyzer, of course... if that's really important i'll consider doing it too?

  13. #853
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    29
    Update: After removing the three fuses I mentioned above, I was able to use eeHack to flash a tune in my car. So its stable enough to do that when the offending systems have been silenced.

  14. #854
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    32
    Hmm i thought the cats file had more resolution but i guess not its still bound to 16 columns. I guess the scalling could work but would be nice if we could patch to 2bar and not have to do the math. I also am not at all any good at coding, so if i mess with your code im sure id wreck it and my computer would explode.

  15. #855
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,240
    Hmm i thought the cats file had more resolution but i guess not its still bound to 16 columns. I guess the scalling could work but would be nice if we could patch to 2bar and not have to do the math. I also am not at all any good at coding, so if i mess with your code im sure id wreck it and my computer would explode.
    increasing the table resolution is possible, you need a space big enough for the larger table, then simply move it and reconfigure it. the benefit would be minimal as map isn't used at a very high resolution anyway.

    why don't you just edit the tables you want to change and enter the new column values? it'll be really easy. you can manually copy the column values out of tunercat's 2 bar definition file if you want to avoid doing the math, they'll be the same.

    Attachment 10935

    Update: After removing the three fuses I mentioned above, I was able to use eeHack to flash a tune in my car. So its stable enough to do that when the offending systems have been silenced.
    i wish we could figure out what those systems are and how to silence them...

Similar Threads

  1. 1badcell and thats not the only thing
    By 1badcell in forum Introductions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-30-2013, 04:25 PM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-27-2012, 11:03 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-07-2012, 07:26 AM
  4. Minor thing.
    By historystamp in forum GearHead EFI Forum Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-21-2012, 02:00 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •