Bringing TBI and Multi Port Fuel Injection to a New Level.     EFI Conversions and Tuning! Seattle to Portland! E-mail Tuning Consultant!
Page 12 of 63 FirstFirst ... 278910111213141516172262 ... LastLast
Results 166 to 180 of 942

Thread: new $EE tuning thing!

  1. #166
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    789
    There's no need for anyone to get their panties in a knot about Windows 10 tablets. A W10 tablet is basically a PC that has a touch screen instead of or as well as a mouse and keyboard. It's the exact same OS.

    QT's info was rather sparse when doing a quick look besides it being libraries for some type of use. What you're saying is that QT is similar to using Visual Studio, but it's currently behind on supporting Windows 10. They'll probably officially support W10 before too long.

    What resolution are you developing for? 16x10 ratio WXGA or 16x9 ratio 1366x768 are typical lower end laptop and tablet resolutions.
    Last edited by lionelhutz; 12-28-2015 at 04:36 PM.

  2. #167
    Fuel Injected! jthompson122183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    160
    well i got the problems now too. every since beta 4 eehack wont show, it acts like wants then nothing. windows 10 user here preview build 10586. Who all is in the windows insider preview program?

    back to beta 3 for the time being

    oh i could careless about the touchscreen stuff too, Do what you do best Steveo Hack Away!
    Last edited by jthompson122183; 12-28-2015 at 04:56 PM.
    97z28 A4 obd1 swap(16188051)
    Tunerpro Newbie

  3. #168
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,249
    There's no need for anyone to get their panties in a knot about Windows 10 tablets. A W10 tablet is basically a PC that has a touch screen instead of or as well as a mouse and keyboard. It's the exact same OS.
    i'm not getting my panties in a knot. but interfaces designed for a mouse may not work well with a touchscreen.. and this is designed for a mouse. for example good luck using my sliders with a touchscreen. might work alright but i doubt it.

    Quote Originally Posted by lionelhutz View Post
    QT's info was rather sparse when doing a quick look besides it being libraries for some type of use.
    http://doc.qt.io/qt-5/classes.html

    i chose it not just because i hate writing gui code, but also because i'd never written with QT before and i figured now would be a good chance to try it out. it's worked well enough

    Quote Originally Posted by lionelhutz View Post
    What resolution are you developing for? 16x10 ratio WXGA or 16x9 ratio 1366x768 are typical lower end laptop and tablet resolutions.
    my ui is 800x600 fixed, just so it'll fit on whatever crappy netbook without me having to worry about dynamically re-sizing anything.

  4. #169
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,249
    Quote Originally Posted by jthompson122183 View Post
    well i got the problems now too. every since beta 4 eehack wont show, it acts like wants then nothing. windows 10 user here preview build 10586. Who all is in the windows insider preview program?

    back to beta 3 for the time being

    oh i could careless about the touchscreen stuff too, Do what you do best Steveo Hack Away!
    seriously? any errors? even with beta 7?

    this is disappointing because i want to release this thing soon.

    seriously, im testing with windows 10 right now, and it's working awesome. we need to figure out what's goin on here

  5. #170
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    789
    I've been using both HPTuners and Tunerpro on the tablet with the touchscreen. It works well enough. 800x600 is an OK resolution.

  6. #171
    Fuel Injected! jthompson122183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    160
    Quote Originally Posted by steveo View Post
    seriously? any errors? even with beta 7?

    this is disappointing because i want to release this thing soon.

    seriously, im testing with windows 10 right now, and it's working awesome. we need to figure out what's goin on here
    yes im for real sir even beta 7 yes. beta 3 works for me after that nothing. when i click on eehack the loading circle beside the pointer starts spinning then quits no errors nothing nothing . i understand your frustrations.
    97z28 A4 obd1 swap(16188051)
    Tunerpro Newbie

  7. #172
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,249
    are you sure you're running the right executable and library set? remove any 'compatibility' settings?

    here's a clean copy, beta 8, i fixed the installer up a bit and made a few minor changes, http://fbodytech.com/download/223/

    just to be sure i started fresh, uninstalled everything, installed it on windows 10, and it fired right up.

    remove c:\program files\eehack, then use the installer, and make sure you're running only this current version and it's associated libraries....

    edit: make sure you dont have any antivirus getting in the way too, maybe temporarily disable it or whatever?

  8. #173
    Fuel Injected! jthompson122183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    160
    ok so if i start task manager and then try to run eehack i can see it start in the process tab then quits. it shows 1.5 mb memory use beta 7
    Attachment 10059

    give me a min and ill try 8
    97z28 A4 obd1 swap(16188051)
    Tunerpro Newbie

  9. #174
    Fuel Injected! jthompson122183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    160
    Success!! with beta 8 Attachment 10060
    97z28 A4 obd1 swap(16188051)
    Tunerpro Newbie

  10. #175
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,249
    awesome!

    so at the other end of the spectrum from our fancy new windows 10 machines, i just tried the new beta on my netbook - a relatively old and slow intel ATOM with xp sp3), and although it worked, things did not go well.

    it seems qt5.5's timers are different than qt5.4 somehow (or maybe the serial interface is faster or slower?) first thing i noticed is that i seem to have lost a few records per second of throughput, which speaks to some kind of timing issue.

    then flashing, it failed during the erase stage, which is a horrifying thing, but luckily my flash routine kicked into recovery mode, increased serial delays, re-executed the erase program, and managed to salvage the situation. still doesn't explain why it happened in the first place.

    i'd be interested to see if people with faster computers have this problem with the new beta (which uses newer QT libraries)

    i might have to roll back to QT5.4 but considering the windows 10 issues, i'd rather stick with the current branch..

  11. #176
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    109
    I ran the 4.0 Beta 8 installer, then asked it to run eehack.exe. It says
    "Unable to execute file: C:\Program Files(x86)\EEHack\eehack.exe

    CreateProcess failed; code 740.
    The requested operation requires elevation."


    UPDATE seconds later - I turned off "compatibility mode" and "run as administrator" and then clicked on eehack.exe. It started right up. I'm going to try to connect to a car tonight and try the interface.

    UPDATE 2: GOOD NEWS: Key on / engine off (test car is loud and it was late):

    • EEhack 4.0 Beta 8 starts instantly
    • Connection works well.
    • Fast mode gets me to about 13.7 records/sec.
    • I tried all the auto and TCC control buttons and I could hear all the solenoids clicking appropriately in the pan. I would say this functionality works, though I was unable to test what happens when I return to "auto" mode.


    Nice work Steveo!
    Last edited by sherlock9c1; 12-28-2015 at 09:06 PM.

  12. #177
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,249
    CreateProcess failed; code 740.
    The requested operation requires elevation."
    it's only happening because it's trying to launch eehack (because you left the 'launch eehack' button checked in the installer)

    ... and windows 10 is too braindamaged to maintain backwards compatibility and sane default security settings. god knows why it's not ok for one process to launch another process with normal windows system calls.

    it does work in previous versions of windows. i can remove the option for release and users can just click the icon themselves after.

    edit: i did google a workaround though, i'll try it out.

  13. #178

  14. #179
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,249
    Quote Originally Posted by sherlock9c1 View Post
    • EEhack 4.0 Beta 8 starts instantly
    • Connection works well.
    • Fast mode gets me to about 13.7 records/sec.
    • I tried all the auto and TCC control buttons and I could hear all the solenoids clicking appropriately in the pan. I would say this functionality works, though I was unable to test what happens when I return to "auto" mode.


    Nice work Steveo!
    thanks so much, that's such a relief it's working and you're getting good data rates! at least it's just my old winxp laptop having serial issues.

    one thing i'd like if you don't mind, even without a driving test, if you'd see if the gear selection DISPLAY matches the gear selection BUTTONS. im only like 50% sure i got the solenoid combinations correct as they may be stored in a different order than the display bits. im totally in the dark on this automatic trans stuff.

    please also play around and see if you can break it in windows 10

  15. #180
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    109
    Will do. The gear indicators seemed to work correctly, at least I didn't notice anything out of whack, and I would have noticed that stuff pretty quickly given how familiar I am with the 4L60E.

    BTW, sent you TWO additional emails on the injectors with links.

Similar Threads

  1. 1badcell and thats not the only thing
    By 1badcell in forum Introductions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-30-2013, 04:25 PM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-27-2012, 11:03 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-07-2012, 07:26 AM
  4. Minor thing.
    By historystamp in forum GearHead EFI Forum Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-21-2012, 02:00 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •