Bringing TBI and Multi Port Fuel Injection to a New Level.     EFI Conversions and Tuning! Seattle to Portland! E-mail Tuning Consultant!
Page 11 of 63 FirstFirst ... 6789101112131415162161 ... LastLast
Results 151 to 165 of 942

Thread: new $EE tuning thing!

  1. #151

  2. #152
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,249
    i'm going to try building eehack against a newer version of QT and let you try that.

    if that fails, im going to have to consider windows 10 UNSUPPORTED for the time being.

    i only have three users with windows 10, and all of them have crazy problems nobody else has.

  3. #153
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    109
    Oh no, it COULDN'T be windows 10.... :P

  4. #154
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    789
    That's too bad, I'll be using Win10 on a tablet in the spring as soon as I get the car out of storage. Win10 will become much more prevalent rather quickly going forward with the free upgrade MS is giving away.

    I could run it, but the PCM is in the car with the cable hardwired to the harness so I can't connect to anything right now.

    What are the QT libraries used for? It looks like they aren't officially supported on Win10.

  5. #155
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,249
    What are the QT libraries used for? It looks like they aren't officially supported on Win10.
    the entire program is based on QT. QT is a gui and portability layer to assist in rapid c++ development. im not good with gui programming, so it lets me roll the program out quickly and easily. without QT i would never have had time to write this junk. QT also offers the opportunity for the program to run on linux which is cool.

    That's too bad, I'll be using Win10 on a tablet in the spring as soon as I get the car out of storage. Win10 will become much more prevalent rather quickly going forward with the free upgrade MS is giving away.
    prevalent on desktops, yeah. but on hardcore tuning machines?

    sure it's a shame if all of your tuning software is buggy under windows 10 or with high dpi tablets, but it'd also be a shame if i had to waste many hours of my free time to support 2016 model shiny new devices with my utility software for tuning 1994 era 8 bit ECMs...

    i'll try my best to get it working, but since it's free software and runs on throw-away hardware, please, get hardware that works with my program instead of making me blow a ton of useful development time that i could spend on good stuff. seriously, people throw out windows 7 laptops now, and this software is useful enough to keep an old machine around for tuning.

    keep in mind, even if it stabilizes under windows 10, this is not the most awesome ui ever. this thing is a FIXED PIXEL INTERFACE. if you are running it on a high dpi tablet, you will be very dissapointed. it's not touchscreen optimized and does not scale well because i don't care about touchscreens and high dpi screens... and i have zero plans to make it dpi-scaleable. it's a crap ton of work. my fields dont get bigger as windows forces them to cram large font sizes in them as my interface is not dynamic enough. ui-wise, this is written like 90s software, not like 2016+ software. at the very least it'll require some compatibility mode stuff for such devices to make things readable.

    Oh no, it COULDN'T be windows 10.... :P
    lets find out, here's QT 5.5.1, i wrapped it in an installer, if this doesn't work, i don't know what will.

    i still have NO idea why it wouldn't even start on that computer, though, it's hard to imagine it's QT's fault...

    http://fbodytech.com/download/223/

  6. #156
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,249
    i got a windows 10 virtual machine going and reproduced the problem, it just doesn't start, although i have no idea what's going on yet.

    edit: found the problem with it mysteriously not starting. also played around quite a bit in the virtual machine (although not connected to a car) and couldn't make it fail.

  7. #157
    Fuel Injected! fbody_Brian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    156
    "Auto trans gear selectors do not work."

    I noticed the same thing, I have yet to be able to test with a recent beta. I'll give it a try.

    Quote Originally Posted by steveo View Post
    i think i've decided to offer an option for linear temperature scaling just so it matches other tools properly.

    edit: also think i might have made an error in that table somewhere, it does seem to be a bit far off..
    And here I was thinking my cts was somehow wrong!
    1994 LT1/4L60E Formula

  8. #158
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    109
    Steve, Beta6 isn't running either. I used the installed and put it in C:\Program Files(x86)\eehack just as it asked, then copy/pasted all of the additional files over from the other folder where I had the previous versions installed, being careful not to overwrite any newer files. Same problem as before. I tried running Beta3 from that folder, and I get a "the application failed to start because it could not find or load the Qt platform plugin "windows".

    I'm still able to run Beta3 just fine from my other folder.
    Just for giggles, I threw beta6 (eehack.exe by itself) into my other folder where Beta3 runs, and it says "The procedure entry point ?registerNormalizedType@QMetaType@@SAHABVQByteArra y@@P6AXPAX@ZP6APAX1PBX@ZHV?$QFlags2W4TypeFlag@QMet aType@@@@PBUQMetaObject@@@Z could not be located in the dynamic link library C:\Users\me\Documents\eehack\eehack.exe."

    If you'd rather me take this offline or via email we can do that so I'm not crapping up this thread with windows related problems.

  9. #159
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,249
    running beta 6 with beta 3 libraries wont work. im using a different set of libraries to see if it fixes your windows 10 issues. thats why i included new libraries with the installer for you; so please do use the included libraries that come with beta 6.

    sorry about the platform plugin issue, that was an issue with the installer itself (first time using it). you can correct it yourself if you want, it'll be fixed in the next installer. you need to make a 'platforms' folder in c:\program files\eehack and place the qwindows and qminimal dll files in there.

  10. #160

  11. #161
    Fuel Injected! fbody_Brian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    156
    The new beta versions sure look much better!
    1994 LT1/4L60E Formula

  12. #162
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,249
    thanks just dont get windows 10 !!!

    seriously i have windows 10 in a VM now, i'll be testing with it. so far i dont know why everyone is having so much trouble with it. works fine for me

  13. #163
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,249
    i'd really be interested to see if the gear selector and TCC lockup thing is working in the new beta.

    the gear selector in beta 3-4 didn't actually update itself (just an oversight), so if you did something else (changed timing or whatever) it probably would have kicked into the selected gear.

    i wish i had an auto to test with.

    edit: i just found my REAL mistake with the gear selector. i'll fix it shortly.

  14. #164
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    109
    Steve just a thought, I wouldn't spend any time optimizing that interface for tablets, etc. Your gifting and interest is in the LT1 interface. The trick is to find someone who's interested in working GUI development and let them optimize that side of the code. Any local colleges teaching courses on that stuff who have students who'd be interested in doing this as a project?

    Sent you an email directly about Beta7.

  15. #165
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,249
    Quote Originally Posted by sherlock9c1 View Post
    Steve just a thought, I wouldn't spend any time optimizing that interface for tablets, etc. Your gifting and interest is in the LT1 interface. The trick is to find someone who's interested in working GUI development and let them optimize that side of the code. Any local colleges teaching courses on that stuff who have students who'd be interested in doing this as a project?
    at this point that seems kinda like letting someone else work on my car, but i do take your point, although i question the size of the target audience for eehack-on-a-tablet.

    Sent you an email directly about Beta7.
    haven't got it yet..

Similar Threads

  1. 1badcell and thats not the only thing
    By 1badcell in forum Introductions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-30-2013, 04:25 PM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-27-2012, 11:03 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-07-2012, 07:26 AM
  4. Minor thing.
    By historystamp in forum GearHead EFI Forum Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-21-2012, 02:00 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •