Bringing TBI and Multi Port Fuel Injection to a New Level.     EFI Conversions and Tuning! Seattle to Portland! E-mail Tuning Consultant!
Page 61 of 63 FirstFirst ... 11515657585960616263 LastLast
Results 901 to 915 of 942

Thread: new $EE tuning thing!

  1. #901
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,247
    widebands usually reduce sample rate by averaging internally, while their analog outputs are real-time, but the average of the analog output should be similar to what the gauge displays (this is why eehack has a smoothing option for the wideband in its settings)...

  2. #902
    Fuel Injected! spfautsch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    133
    Per our discussion in the trimalyzer thread, can you speculate why eehack isn't discarding trashed frames?

    Am I correct to assume that's what's supposed to happen here in aldl_read_reply()?

    Code:
      // look for bad checksum
      if(checksum_test() == false) {
        serial_error_occurred();
        pkt_fail_counter++;
        return 0;
      }
    Here are three adjacent frames from a log taken this morning. Note how knock count "jumps" in the middle. This one is actually pretty subtle but I've found frames like this where VSS will be 255mph and there are three or four trouble codes, MAF reading 400g/s, etc.

    frame-37168.png
    frame-37169.png
    frame-37170.png

    This is by no means a huge problem, but I've been chasing my tail on false knock and the huge knock events these generate make it really hard to see the "real" false knock.

    BTW, I have some patches I want to send you relevant to the knock scope that adds the timestamp to the tool tip bubble. Will try to push to git today.
    '95 C4 LT-1 ZF-6, Polo Green
    Comp 467 / XFI 280, UltraProMag RRs, LE1 Heads, Lunati 73925 Springs

    Somebody stole the spark plugs out of my other car, yet it still runs???

  3. #903
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,247
    the only explanation is that the checksum is correct. so either you have a/d or whatever noise causing an actual blip or there's a bug of some kind in the ecm itself?

  4. #904
    Fuel Injected! spfautsch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    133
    Blip? Bug? In the 90s we called stuff we didn't understand a "glitch".

    It's simple to filter these out in trimalyzer b/c I just compare knock count from the last, current, and next frame and drop the frame if it "bumps" as in the example.
    '95 C4 LT-1 ZF-6, Polo Green
    Comp 467 / XFI 280, UltraProMag RRs, LE1 Heads, Lunati 73925 Springs

    Somebody stole the spark plugs out of my other car, yet it still runs???

  5. #905
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Age
    39
    Posts
    28
    Hi Guys! Trying to get EEHack to work with my Wideband. It seems that the wideband is causing interference with the serial connection.

    I am getting the error in EEHack "SERIAL: ECHO CORRUPT! (bad serial interface?)

    I am running an AEM wideband powered by the aux power wires by the shifter in my Camaro. Also using a Red Devil River cable if that matters.

    EEHack connects fine if I disconnect the power to the wideband gauge. The gauge also causes an issue with Winflash too. It will only read or flash if I disconnect the gauge. Datamaster works fine with the gauge connected.

    The only two things I can think of trying are powering the gauge from somewhere else or maybe a different cable. Any suggestions? Thanks!
    1996 Camaro SS #308, M6, 3.42 (4.10 on the way), OBD-I Conv, OBX 1-7/8" Stainless Headers, Custom 3" Stainless Y Pipe, 2OTL
    355-Stock Crank, 6" Forged Rods, Forged Pistons-11.5:1 SCR
    LE2 Heads, LE2 Ported Intake, LE/Lunati 231/239 110 LSA Cam, Comp Pro Mag 1.6 RRA, Bosch III 30-lb Inj, Stock TB, Tune In Progress

  6. #906
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,247
    that's weird for sure. do you have the analog output through the a/c input or what? what are you using as signal ground there?

  7. #907
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Age
    39
    Posts
    28
    Quote Originally Posted by steveo View Post
    that's weird for sure. do you have the analog output through the a/c input or what? what are you using as signal ground there?
    Thanks for reply Steve. Awesome program you have put together. Looking forward to playing around with it.

    My white analog output wire is connected to the Red and Black wire of the AC pressure sensor line.

    Not sure what you mean by a signal ground. Should I ground one of the AC pressure sensor wires?

    I tried hooking the gauge power lines directly to the battery. No change.
    1996 Camaro SS #308, M6, 3.42 (4.10 on the way), OBD-I Conv, OBX 1-7/8" Stainless Headers, Custom 3" Stainless Y Pipe, 2OTL
    355-Stock Crank, 6" Forged Rods, Forged Pistons-11.5:1 SCR
    LE2 Heads, LE2 Ported Intake, LE/Lunati 231/239 110 LSA Cam, Comp Pro Mag 1.6 RRA, Bosch III 30-lb Inj, Stock TB, Tune In Progress

  8. #908

  9. #909
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Age
    39
    Posts
    28
    Quote Originally Posted by steveo View Post
    so if you disconnect the signal wire but not the gauge power, then what happens?
    Tried it both ways. I get an error if the signal wire is connected or if it is disconnected. The only time I do not get an error is if the power to the gauge is disconnected.
    1996 Camaro SS #308, M6, 3.42 (4.10 on the way), OBD-I Conv, OBX 1-7/8" Stainless Headers, Custom 3" Stainless Y Pipe, 2OTL
    355-Stock Crank, 6" Forged Rods, Forged Pistons-11.5:1 SCR
    LE2 Heads, LE2 Ported Intake, LE/Lunati 231/239 110 LSA Cam, Comp Pro Mag 1.6 RRA, Bosch III 30-lb Inj, Stock TB, Tune In Progress

  10. #910

  11. #911
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Age
    39
    Posts
    28
    I do not have an oscilloscope. I do belong to a car club I can ask to see anyone has access to one. Would it be a real involved process to figure out the problem if I can get access to an oscilloscope?
    1996 Camaro SS #308, M6, 3.42 (4.10 on the way), OBD-I Conv, OBX 1-7/8" Stainless Headers, Custom 3" Stainless Y Pipe, 2OTL
    355-Stock Crank, 6" Forged Rods, Forged Pistons-11.5:1 SCR
    LE2 Heads, LE2 Ported Intake, LE/Lunati 231/239 110 LSA Cam, Comp Pro Mag 1.6 RRA, Bosch III 30-lb Inj, Stock TB, Tune In Progress

  12. #912
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,247
    Quote Originally Posted by Casey96SS View Post
    I do not have an oscilloscope. I do belong to a car club I can ask to see anyone has access to one. Would it be a real involved process to figure out the problem if I can get access to an oscilloscope?
    it would just be nice to know what kind of interference the wideband's power supply is introducing

  13. #913
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Age
    39
    Posts
    28
    Quote Originally Posted by steveo View Post
    it would just be nice to know what kind of interference the wideband's power supply is introducing
    I know nothing about developing or writing software, but any ideas on why my wideband would work fine with datamaster but not EEHack or Winflash? Would there be anything I could play around with in the COM port settings? Just trying to think of some ideas...
    1996 Camaro SS #308, M6, 3.42 (4.10 on the way), OBD-I Conv, OBX 1-7/8" Stainless Headers, Custom 3" Stainless Y Pipe, 2OTL
    355-Stock Crank, 6" Forged Rods, Forged Pistons-11.5:1 SCR
    LE2 Heads, LE2 Ported Intake, LE/Lunati 231/239 110 LSA Cam, Comp Pro Mag 1.6 RRA, Bosch III 30-lb Inj, Stock TB, Tune In Progress

  14. #914
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,247
    Quote Originally Posted by Casey96SS View Post
    I know nothing about developing or writing software, but any ideas on why my wideband would work fine with datamaster but not EEHack or Winflash? Would there be anything I could play around with in the COM port settings? Just trying to think of some ideas...
    aldl interfaces run in a state of loopback. the recieving and sending line are the same wire. datamaster doesn't really care if the echoed data is corrupted. eehack does.

    but none of this stuff is driver level

    also i bet datamaster is giving you a bunch of bunk data

  15. #915
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Age
    39
    Posts
    28
    Quote Originally Posted by steveo View Post
    aldl interfaces run in a state of loopback. the recieving and sending line are the same wire. datamaster doesn't really care if the echoed data is corrupted. eehack does.

    but none of this stuff is driver level

    also i bet datamaster is giving you a bunch of bunk data
    Hey Steve finally had a chance to get my car back together and do a little data logging yesterday with the wideband disconnected. The ABS Inop and Low Trac lights seems to be turning on occasionally while logging. If I look at the graphs in EEHack while this is happening there is a flat spot on any of the data and I cannot double click in the flat area. The lights do not come on if I do not have the laptop hooked up. Hope this makes sense. Any idea what is going on? Thanks!
    1996 Camaro SS #308, M6, 3.42 (4.10 on the way), OBD-I Conv, OBX 1-7/8" Stainless Headers, Custom 3" Stainless Y Pipe, 2OTL
    355-Stock Crank, 6" Forged Rods, Forged Pistons-11.5:1 SCR
    LE2 Heads, LE2 Ported Intake, LE/Lunati 231/239 110 LSA Cam, Comp Pro Mag 1.6 RRA, Bosch III 30-lb Inj, Stock TB, Tune In Progress

Similar Threads

  1. 1badcell and thats not the only thing
    By 1badcell in forum Introductions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-30-2013, 04:25 PM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-27-2012, 11:03 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-07-2012, 07:26 AM
  4. Minor thing.
    By historystamp in forum GearHead EFI Forum Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-21-2012, 02:00 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •