Thread: New guy looking to learn a bit about tbi tuning.

Carb and Points!

New guy looking to learn a bit about tbi tuning.

Hi guys, I have a 1994 chevy k1500 with a Tbi 350/4l60e with the 16197427 ecu. Im looking to swap the tbi system for a holley 600 cfm classic carb system to lead up to my later project of a 5.3 lsx carb swap. Im hoping to keep the 4l60e and maybe tune the prom a bit to be able to use the stock distributor and computer timing to make my swap a little easier. I know its a bit oddball, but any help would be appreciated. Im new to tuning and am using tunerpro. If anyone has any ideas that will help me along with my carb swap, please let me know. Thanks in advance.

Fuel Injected!
    I can't help much, but I've gotta ask why the swap to carb, especially for the 5.3? You lose a lot of good things by getting rid of injection and on the 5.3 it gets more expensive than injection would be. On the TBI motor, you will have to keep the MAP sensor, coolant temp sensor and rig up a TPS. You'd probably want to keep the knock sensor as well.
    1973 K-5 Blazer, TBI 350, TH400, 1 ton axles & 38" SSRs'
    1975 280Z, TBI 350, 700R4
    1953 M-38A1, TBI Buick 231
    1951 Ford Panel, 5.3 with 4L80E

Carb and Points!
    Quote Originally Posted by fastacton View Post
    I can't help much, but I've gotta ask why the swap to carb, especially for the 5.3? You lose a lot of good things by getting rid of injection and on the 5.3 it gets more expensive than injection would be. On the TBI motor, you will have to keep the MAP sensor, coolant temp sensor and rig up a TPS. You'd probably want to keep the knock sensor as well.