Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Thread: New Engine Help

New Engine Help

My list of plans for getting my truck back to new are still progressing, lol. I am getting about ready to start the new engine in the next few months. Gathering parts already. I am unsure of the exact horsepower of a build this style but am looking for input on what any of the experienced tuners here think or would do differently. And also what all I will need to do to the fuel system to upgrade to run the new engine. As this truck is a daily driver I will also not be opposed to pay someone to help with the tuning. I know I'm not experienced enough to tackle the tuning alone and get it close to start lol. Engine is a 350 vortec block I have that needs bored. I am going to be .030 over and was scared if the tbi could support it bumped to 383 so if it can let me know your thoughts please as this needs to be reliable not wanting to go to carb. I'm thinking 355ci. The heads looked at are promaxx 185cc intake vortec style. Never used promaxx before so let me know what you think if you have please. Chevy magazine had them rated at 430ft lbs 408 hp on a 350 build with a cam slightly larger than I'm looking at. Cam choice is lunati hydraulic roller. Specs are Advertised Duration (Int/Exh): 279/287Duration @ .050 (Int/Exh): 213/219
    Gross Valve Lift (Int/Exh): .447/.471
    LSA/ICL: 112/108
    Valve Lash (Int/Exh): Hyd/Hyd
    RPM Range:1500-5500