Thread: 302 to 350 conversion question

Carb and Points!

302 to 350 conversion question

Hi , I have a customers car that has come to me from another workshop after a 302 to 350 conversion in a TPI 1985 Camaro Z28 Auto.
    I'm new to using this tech but not new to tuning as such.

I've worked out its a 1227165 ECU using a AUM3236 Chip 01228291 with a $32 XDF which I've found here:
    http://www.gearhead-efi.com/Fuel-Inj...Information-32
    Now the other workshop has fitted larger injectors and tweaked the idle adj screw to get it to run without tuning anything.
    I'm going to size the injectors as I can't find the part number on the net 01D180B Lucas type. Any ideas?

Now whats the best way to go about setting this up? Do I stick to the AUM3236 calibration and adjust the MAF scale for the larger injectors and tune from there
    OR do I load in a 350ci calibration like BUA 86 adjust the MAF scale and tune from there.

Basically the customer just wants his car running how it should without idle and stalling problems etc etc.
    Its a basic crate engine 350ci with std cam so nothing fancy.

I've heard that you can "upgrade" to a $6E xdf and an appropriate bin file that has faster baud rate for datalogging... Can I do this with this ECM or not?

Equipment used is an Ostrich 2, Tunerpro RT, ALDL cable and a Burn 2 and my brain power :)

Thanks for your help
    Mike

I would start with a 350 .bin file. I can't find information on the injectors either. Maybe an adjustable fuel pressure regulator would help the tuning?

Something seems odd to me, 1985 TPI systems used ECM 1226870.

The cold start injector is eliminated with $6E, which has been very helpful with the TPI engine transplants I've done.

Lately, the TPI transplants I've been involved with I've been using to the 1990 ~ 1992 Speed Density (MAP) 1227730 ECM. I'm not a huge fan of tuning the TPI MAF system.

Attached are the correct 1227165 TunerPro RT files for a 5.7 liter to use $6E.

dave w