Bringing TBI and Multi Port Fuel Injection to a New Level.     EFI Conversions and Tuning! Seattle to Portland! E-mail Tuning Consultant!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 31

Thread: s-10 283 tbi conversion

  1. #1
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    ny
    Age
    41
    Posts
    154

    s-10 283 tbi conversion

    Sup guys!!.. I been working on my 283 tbi conversion and finally have it running.. now comes the tuning process..It runs but not good... this is a complete Frankenstein setup... let me start off with the engine is a 283 bored over .060. The heads are from a 89 305 tbi pickup... has edelbrock rpm intake and a crane compucam with .494 lift I believe (I have the cam card around here somewherr)... got a 700r4 tranny with a ford 9 rear with 3.50 gears..

    So.... I used a painlesswiring tbi harness for the install... has the orange colored injectors from a 350... tbi bores have been opened some with new butterflies and thinned throttle shaft with an adjustable regulator... The 747 ecu has been modded to a writable chip...I have the autoprom and tunerpro rt as you guys helped on tuning my other truck...

    The truck is not on the road so for right id like to tune what I can in the driveway...so im sure 18psi is way to much so I gotta change the spring... im starting with a bin from a 305 tbi... the bpw is set to 100... I havent changed any of the tables yet but turned off all things for good blm's...Im not sure where to start with things so far out!! What you guys think?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator dave w's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    3,332
    Three things that help me understand what is happening with the TBI system.
    1. TunerPro RT .xdl data log file of the engine running.
    2. TunerPro RT .adx file your using.
    3. The .bin file your using.

    If you post these files, I should be able to help.

    dave w

  3. #3
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    ny
    Age
    41
    Posts
    154
    ok i got a log file... adx,xdf,bin and log...first thing i see is the blms are not changing..not sure why...then after about 45 seconds the data stream stops and it runs very bad...so i thought it maybe cause of the gauge cluster i had wired in from the 95 donor vehicle so i unplugged it ran ran it again...this time i got a few mins of run time befor the data stream stopped..so thats the log i posted..i knoiw not up to running temp but i cant keep it running long enough...when i shut the key off and restart the engine it runns fine again for another few mins befor data stops again...when you watch the log youll see what i mean..perhaps a wiring problem??.. I am using the same pc and auto prom that i used on the other truck so i know thats not the problem...
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    ny
    Age
    41
    Posts
    154
    opps...didnt change the mask id to AA...

  5. #5
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    ny
    Age
    41
    Posts
    154
    so changing the mask id did nothing..blms still not changing...did another log which ended with it stalling..and the check engine light is blinking like its giving a code...
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    ny
    Age
    41
    Posts
    154
    was i suppose to have data tracing on?

  7. #7
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    ny
    Age
    41
    Posts
    154
    also i see error 51-prom...

  8. #8
    Super Moderator dave w's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    3,332
    I think maybe the flash chip modification to the 7747 might need a closer look to see if everything is 100% correct. There is absolutely no room for any kind of error when doing a '7747 flash chip modification.

    The two attached screen shots are why I think the flash chip modification might have something not correct.

    If the vehicle was in my shop, here is what I'd do
    1. Install a known good '7747 ECM with a custom 283 chip.
    2. Maybe you can borrow a known good '7747 ECM with a stock 305 chip?

    dave w
    Attached Images Attached Images

  9. #9
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    ny
    Age
    41
    Posts
    154
    ok dave... i grabbed a bin from this site and started over..did a new log and no prom error this time take a look...but still blms not moveing...i have another ecm i can use although this is a brand new ecm that i modded...it runs much better with this bin. didnt stall either...isnt aldl mode suppose to be disabled cause its not...factory test and diagnostic modes are disabled...forgot how to disable aldl mode
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by hammertime371; 09-12-2014 at 12:30 PM.

  10. #10
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    ny
    Age
    41
    Posts
    154
    had issues finding the file!
    Attached Files Attached Files

  11. #11
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    ny
    Age
    41
    Posts
    154
    ok i grabbed another ecu from a running truck...has stock chip in it anlw 5469.. heres the log
    Attached Files Attached Files

  12. #12
    Super Moderator dave w's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    3,332
    I'll have to look at these files later, my lunch break at work is over.

    dave w

  13. #13
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    ny
    Age
    41
    Posts
    154
    ok thanks for you help!

  14. #14
    Super Moderator dave w's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    3,332
    Quote Originally Posted by hammertime371 View Post
    ok i grabbed another ecu from a running truck...has stock chip in it anlw 5469.. heres the log
    Seems maybe there is something else wrong. The stock bin log.xdl showed the same errors at the end of the log.

    What might be wrong, I can't see in the data log.

    dave w

  15. #15
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    ny
    Age
    41
    Posts
    154
    Is because I shut the engine off befor I stopped the log??

Similar Threads

  1. 250 conversion
    By j-stylez in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 03-29-2014, 04:39 PM
  2. New here and about to under take a conversion
    By climber8483 in forum Introductions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-04-2013, 03:13 PM
  3. hello from connecticut with a tpi conversion
    By monte350 in forum Introductions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-19-2013, 10:16 AM
  4. new efi conversion
    By jester in forum Introductions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-23-2013, 03:31 PM
  5. My First EFI Conversion
    By EagleMark in forum GM EFI Systems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-18-2011, 06:00 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •