Page 1 of 8 123456 ... LastLast

Thread: Project MULE - 350 Vortec Tuned Port Injection build on 91 Suburban.

Project MULE - 350 Vortec Tuned Port Injection build on 91 Suburban.

(UPDATED 07-05-2014)

We have found out our Suburban (as great as it is) is just out of power when loaded down and hitting the hills.
    We decided to go with a SBC just due to the fact I found one real cheap and I don’t have to switch much of anything on the truck. Other engine ideas were explored, 5.3, 6.0 7.4 vortec and even the 8.1. The deals I ended up with for the main parts of this project just said “SBC”.

Below is the initial list of parts. I have already spoke with Compcams and TPIS. With all the info and weights I had Compcams recommended the cam in the list below. I have been doing some serious research even picked up a few reference books. Now this is not my first time building a motor but it is my first time building (per-say) a fuel injection system. If you see something wrong or I am missing please don’t flame me as this is my first initial list of something new. Input is always welcome.

Engine short block: 99 5.7 Vortec
    Heads: EQ CH350C Vortec Heads (with pre-'87 intake bolt pattern)
    Cam: compcams XR264HR #8-501-08
    GMPP Roller lifters #12499225
    Chevrolet Performance Timing Chain Sets 12371043
    Est 9.5:1 CR
    90-92 Tuned Port Injection
    Stock runners
    Stock TB
    Stock Corvette (Pre '87) TPI intake
    24lb blue top injectors
    BBK Adjustable fuel psi regulator #BBK-1714
    Speed density setup
    1227730 ECM
    All new sensors.

Other stuff
    ALDLdorid app
    Tunerpro on the laptop
    1320 Electronics ALDL Blutooth transmitter

I have read some stuff here on the forums and I would really like to avoid having to write cusom .BIN files like I have seen here. As much as I know I need to get it running. Data log with Tunerpro send that info off to someone and they will burn a proper EPROM.