Bringing TBI and Multi Port Fuel Injection to a New Level.     EFI Conversions and Tuning! Seattle to Portland! E-mail Tuning Consultant!
Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 81

Thread: Stand alone tranmission controller

  1. #1
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Tulsa, Ok
    Age
    41
    Posts
    426

    Stand alone tranmission controller

    Hello gang,

    I am currently building a transmission controller initally for the 4l60e/4l80e transmissions. More trannies will be added as demand arises.

    The unit is based on an Arduino board with the required driver hardware all enclosed in a neat little box, aside from the external inputs. These i inputs will consist of a vehicle speed sensor and use either a throttle position sensor or a map sensor, leaving it up to the installer to decide if they want to run a vac line ot install a TPS on their vehicle if not originally equipped.

    If there is any interest in testing a unit please lemme know.

    Currently I am writing code and look to have a working prototype or two in the next 30-60 days.

    Anyway, just putting this out there. More information will come as the project inches closer to fruition.

    Thanks for reading,

    Buddrow
    Last edited by buddrow; 02-26-2014 at 09:25 PM.
    If it don't fit force it, if it don't force fit f&%@ it!

  2. #2
    Fuel Injected! roughneck427's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Fresno CA
    Age
    41
    Posts
    254
    i had a guy call me on this today i was looking at a 16128420 16196390 tcm to do it tunercat had the tdf done already for them to burn a chip. I was looking at the wiring to it has the same info you posted a vss a tps and a map

  3. #3
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Tulsa, Ok
    Age
    41
    Posts
    426
    Ill have to take a look. Either way I am carrying on with my project. So if anyone is interested...;)

    fyi this is currently a non profit project but depending on demand and success it may become "commercial".
    If it don't fit force it, if it don't force fit f&%@ it!

  4. #4

  5. #5
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Tulsa, Ok
    Age
    41
    Posts
    426
    Steveo,

    I'll try to get some preliminary info up this weekend. Since it's based on the Arduino platform it's written in a C/C++ compliant language and right now is pretty rudimentary with a ton of "if" statements lol. I am interested in how much user adjustability people would be interested in. I.e. you want to raise line pressure or alter tps/map vs vehicle speed shift patterns. I have considered, initially, the use of a three position slider switch to choose from 3 levels of operation, since not everyone is comfortable writing code. But I am always open to suggestions as I wish this to be as user friendly as possible.

    Buddrow
    If it don't fit force it, if it don't force fit f&%@ it!

  6. #6
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,044
    well, it's an arduino, so ensure you have a defined data section, and have a tunerpro xdf that alters the tables/constants in all of your patterns, and your customers could just load the altered bin. wouldn't be that hard. just think "im building an ecm here".

    i could help you with that part, i'm not bad with c for embedded platforms (never had an arduino though)

  7. #7
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    703
    It sounds like an interesting project. If you can make it work, using a MAP sensor instead of a TPS sensor could be handy since that would be easier to install.

    If you expect much commercial success then you'll need to have it fairly adjustable. You pretty much need to have the ability to alter each shift curve.

  8. #8
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Tulsa, Ok
    Age
    41
    Posts
    426
    Steveo, Im not building an "ecm" Im building a tcm lol :) but I hear what youre saying. I may bug you on how to integrate the tunperpro xdf since I have no exp with that.
    If it don't fit force it, if it don't force fit f&%@ it!

  9. #9
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,044
    if the language would allow (never used this compiler) an easy way to (usually) ensure something ends up as a constant in the data section with a pointer to it (instead of inline with the code), putting it as a pointer to a constant in global space is usually what you want:

    Code:
    char *lockup_min_spd = 0x05;
    
    void function() {
      if(lockup_min_spd >= current_spd) /* do whatever */
    };
    of course the compiler will put it wherever the hell it wants in the binary, but locating it in the binary is easy after, just compile two versions, one 0x05 and one 0x06 and see what changes. then throw the location and any conversion in the xdf, and you're good to go.

    what you're trying to avoid by doing this, is the compiler going "oh! it'll be faster if we just replicate the data in this case" (or worse, using a #define, that pretty much forces it to replicate when used). that would mean you'd have to have two or more constants in your XDF that do the same thing, which would be dumb.

    many compilers will screw you over and optimize it out sometimes if you put it in local function scope, or do all sorts of trickery or optimizations on the value..

  10. #10
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Tulsa, Ok
    Age
    41
    Posts
    426
    Quote Originally Posted by steveo View Post
    if the language would allow (never used this compiler) an easy way to (usually) ensure something ends up as a constant in the data section with a pointer to it (instead of inline with the code), putting it as a pointer to a constant in global space is usually what you want:

    Code:
    char *lockup_min_spd = 0x05;
    
    void function() {
      if(lockup_min_spd >= current_spd) /* do whatever */
    };
    of course the compiler will put it wherever the hell it wants in the binary, but locating it in the binary is easy after, just compile two versions, one 0x05 and one 0x06 and see what changes. then throw the location and any conversion in the xdf, and you're good to go.

    what you're trying to avoid by doing this, is the compiler going "oh! it'll be faster if we just replicate the data in this case" (or worse, using a #define, that pretty much forces it to replicate when used). that would mean you'd have to have two or more constants in your XDF that do the same thing, which would be dumb.

    many compilers will screw you over and optimize it out sometimes if you put it in local function scope, or do all sorts of trickery or optimizations on the value..

    Thanks for the input Steveo. I have the constants global so any part of the code can use those variables. With only basic inputs(more are in the code for different gear selections, manual/auto mode, etc) like tps/map and vss it seems easier that way. I have to admit its been 20+ years since ive written much code(BASIC) until this project. The code is a bit "clunky" but at 16mips its more than adequate for this project. As of now its a basic shift box that reads 2 inputs and has 4 outputs. Ill have to sit i front of the laptop this weekend and figure out how to make an xdf and linking it to the controller.

    Buddrow
    If it don't fit force it, if it don't force fit f&%@ it!

  11. #11
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Tulsa, Ok
    Age
    41
    Posts
    426
    UPDATE:
    Project is moving right along. Code is nearing completion and hardware testing is coming in the next week or two.
    Looking for a tester or two if anyone is interested pm me.
    If it don't fit force it, if it don't force fit f&%@ it!

  12. #12
    Fuel Injected! mytmouz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    62
    I am following this. I have a 4L80 I am putting in yet another v8 Chevy LUV, but I am a ways away from finishing it up...

  13. #13
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Tulsa, Ok
    Age
    41
    Posts
    426
    The controller will oprate the 4L80 as well as the 4L60E. I will continue to update as progress comes so check back at least weekly. ;) would love some picks of another v8 luv ;)
    If it don't fit force it, if it don't force fit f&%@ it!

  14. #14
    Fuel Injected! steveo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2,044
    i'd test it if I had an auto but still willing to help with the xdf or some code cleanup/optimizing if ya want

  15. #15
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Tulsa, Ok
    Age
    41
    Posts
    426
    Steveo, Ill paste some code tomorrow if i can get time. I dont have internet out in the sticks where i live. I took a look at building the xdf file, doesnt look to bad but guidance is always appreciated. Still working on some if the shift timing parameters in the code. I can get 1-2 and 2-3 shifts to occur as i want but when i introduce the 3-4 code it gets buggy for some reason.

    Buddrow
    If it don't fit force it, if it don't force fit f&%@ it!

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 26
    Last Post: 01-29-2014, 02:02 PM
  2. 2014 Corvette E92 Controller tuning started!
    By EagleMark in forum OBDII Tuning
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-10-2013, 12:46 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •