Thread: 454 TBI Swap 78 K30 Trouble with TunerproRT and Winaldl, etc.

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Fuel Injected!

454 TBI Swap 78 K30 Trouble with TunerproRT and Winaldl, etc.

Yes, I'm a newbie, been trolling on here for a while, just now registered. Searched for countless hours using forums and google, and I'm exhausted after trying to fix this truck.

Here is the background and I'll get on with the problems.

78 K30 Frame and Running gear, 454/TH400/205
    88 S10 Cab,

My dad bought the truck a year a go to wheel while we dovetail, bob, shorten, and turn his 84 suburban on 1-tons into an 84 Avalanche. When we bought the truck it had a street avenger carb that someone had attempted to convert into a truck avenger. Truck ran good on flat ground, but sucked in the hills with fuel spilling out of vent tube into the venture. Truck would run rich on full throttle and very lean on part throttle. Ditched the carb, and bought parts to swap to fuel injection.

Howell Harness for 95 C3500HD 7.4L, and Prom to remove VSS and EGR functions
    95 ECM, 16197427, BHMH Bin
    95 GM OEM 7.4L Throttle Body

We installed the harness and all sensors. ( IAC, MAP, Heated O2, TPS, CTS). Running a factory style GM HEI....

Bottom line is, the truck runs super rich, and Howell has not been very helpful.

Using a Volt meter, as well as a borrowed OBD1 Scanner, we have checked all the sensors and everything is working correctly. Vacuum is steady at idle at 18.5-19". Idles choppy at 750-900 rpms. Small cam in 454, not too much overlap, considering idle vacuum. No other mechanical problems or vacuum leaks. Checked and rechecked all the typical easy fixes, and checked for leaks using propane, and found nothing.

The Heated O2 Sensor is in the Pass side header, just downstream of the collector, and measures around .89V at idle, pointing out the Rich Condition.
    The Map Sensor voltage is between 1.5-1.8V at idle, again 18.5-19".