Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 95 TBI into older 4x4 vss question

Electronic Ignition!

95 TBI into older 4x4 vss question

Hello, newbie here but I did my introduction post in the appropriate forum. Plus I recognize a few names.

So, I joined to ask about some help installing a 95 LO5/4l60e into a 72 4x4. I got alldata for my wiring(or most). But what I need help with is the vss. Ive searched and cant find a definite answer on how many ppm I need for the INPUT into the VSSB. All Ive gotten is that 95 is a bastard child and they did all sorts of crazy stuff.

I can not use the stock one because it is in the tailshaft that is being removed to install my np205. So I need to get one of the inline mechanical to electric creators.
    I do plan to use the VSSB because I read I need it to send a signal for the transmission.

So does anyone know that for a true 95, is it a 2,4,8k ppm to be sent to the vssb.

Fuel Injected!
    I believe it is a 4kppm system. In order for the trans to shift correctly you will also need the DRAC module fo the 4wd as they are calibrated differently to allow for the low range in the tcase. http://www.gearhead-efi.com/gearhead-efi/doc/DRAC2.pdf goto this link it will give u i fo on the drac and how to modify it to work for ur application.
    If it don't fit force it, if it don't force fit f&%@ it!

Electronic Ignition!
    I dont know what a DRAC is. But my transfercase is all old school mechanical, no electronics. The truck i'm pulling everything from is 2wd, and I'm modifying the trans to accept my np205

Use a cable to VSS converter. It will screw into the fitting on the tail shaft of the T-case and the speedo cable will screw into it. That will send a VSS signal to the ECM, while still allowing your cable driven speedo to function.