Bringing TBI and Multi Port Fuel Injection to a New Level.     EFI Conversions and Tuning! Seattle to Portland! E-mail Tuning Consultant!
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Yet Another Newb - TunerPro Doesn't See Cable

  1. #1
    Carb and Points! OdieTurbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Endicott, NY
    Age
    49
    Posts
    7

    Question Yet Another Newb - TunerPro Doesn't See Cable

    Hi folks! I'm having issues with TunerPro - it doesn't even see my cable!

    Let me get some info out here:
    Car - 1987 Chevy Camaro V6 with a 1227302 ECM. Swapped in a 3.4L with the 3.4L injectors and it is running rich (BLM drops to 115 and stays there).
    Netbook - ASUS Eee PC running Windows 7 with 4GB RAM.
    TunerPro - $3A mask (3A.xdf) and A20.ads/adx file.
    Cable - USB to OBD-I ALDL cable from this site: http://www.obd2allinone.com/sc/detai...item=aldlobd1u

    Here's the situation:
    Turn on Netbook, start up TunerPro and wait for the timeout (I'll buy it if I can get it to work!). I have successfully loaded the $3A file and the A20 file. I go to "Tools > Preferences > Data Acq./Emulation" and get the pop-up. I change it to "Use Plug-In" then I go and choose my com port (COM 6). I click the test button - and it fails. If I save anyways and go back to the main screen, I get the "Not Connected" on the bottom. Having the car on or off doesn't seem to matter.

    As a professional Data Analyst and long-time computer geek, I'm pretty proficient with a computer. However, this has got me a bit stumped. I have gone through several different threads discussing this matter but all seemed to end up with a different cause. So, here I am asking the experts for some help! :)

    Additional Notes:
    • I am able to use this cable in WinALDL with no issues. I can log data easily and save it.
    • TunerPro crashes occasionally for no apparent reason. This may be a separate issue or not, I'm unsure. If needed, I can recreate the crash and give specific details.


    Thank you in advance for any help! I look forward to learning this software and learning how to get my car running better!
    Question Everything

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Six_Shooter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    2,901
    Make sure there is no other open program using the same com port.

    Alternatively you can change the assigned com port in the device manager to force the com port to be different.
    The man who says something is impossible, is usually interrupted by the man doing it.

  3. #3
    Carb and Points! OdieTurbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Endicott, NY
    Age
    49
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by Six_Shooter View Post
    Make sure there is no other open program using the same com port.

    Alternatively you can change the assigned com port in the device manager to force the com port to be different.
    Thanks for the tips! No other programs are open, so I don't think that is an issue. I will try to change the com port to see if that helps.
    Question Everything

  4. #4
    Fuel Injected! gregs78cam's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    N. Idaho
    Posts
    765
    In another thread someone mentioned that you should NOT have the cable plugged into the car when doing the test. Have you tried that?
    1978 Camaro Type LT, 383, Dual TBI, '7427, 4L80E
    1981 Camaro Z-28 Clone, T-Tops, 350/TH350
    1981 Camaro Berlinetta, V-6, 3spd
    1974 Chevy/GMC Truck, '90 TBI 350, '7427, TH350, NP203, 6" lift, 35s

  5. #5
    Carb and Points! OdieTurbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Endicott, NY
    Age
    49
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by gregs78cam View Post
    In another thread someone mentioned that you should NOT have the cable plugged into the car when doing the test. Have you tried that?
    Thanks for that tip, no I didn't try it with the cable unplugged. Just with the car on or off.
    Question Everything

  6. #6
    Fuel Injected!
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    IOWA, U.S.A
    Posts
    242
    good tip on not being plugged into the car for self test to work but i also never saw any mention of the driver thats being used for that usb cable, that could also be an issue..possibly..

  7. #7
    Carb and Points! OdieTurbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Endicott, NY
    Age
    49
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by xtreamvette69 View Post
    good tip on not being plugged into the car for self test to work but i also never saw any mention of the driver thats being used for that usb cable, that could also be an issue..possibly..
    Funny you mention that, I came across a post about that same issue with the version number of the driver. I printed it out and will try that if I need to. Thanks!

    Hopefully I'll get to play with it on Saturday and get it to work!
    Question Everything

  8. #8
    EFI GearHead ! EagleMark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    North Idaho
    Age
    60
    Posts
    10,477

    1990 Chevy Suburban 5.7L Auto ECM 1227747 $42!
    1998 Chevy Silverado 5.7L Vortec 0411 Swap to RoadRunner!
    -= =-

  9. #9
    Carb and Points! OdieTurbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Endicott, NY
    Age
    49
    Posts
    7
    Yeah! That's the post I came across :) I printed it out to take out to the garage with me!
    Question Everything

  10. #10
    Carb and Points! OdieTurbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Endicott, NY
    Age
    49
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by OdieTurbo View Post
    Yeah! That's the post I came across :) I printed it out to take out to the garage with me!
    And that was it! I rolled back the drivers to an earlier version and it worked! Thanks guys!
    Question Everything

Similar Threads

  1. Cable Installation to TunerPro RT
    By EagleMark in forum TunerPro Tuning Talk
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-07-2013, 01:59 AM
  2. getting started with tunerpro and aldl cable for dummies.
    By one92rs in forum TunerPro Tuning Talk
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-25-2012, 02:27 AM
  3. Newb
    By John B in forum Introductions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-11-2012, 03:53 AM
  4. Not so new newb from FL
    By 1BadAction in forum Introductions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-16-2012, 06:24 PM
  5. USB Cable won't connect to TunerPro for data Aqcusition.
    By EagleMark in forum TunerPro Tuning Talk
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-20-2012, 11:04 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •