Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: $42 Tuning Questions??

$42 Tuning Questions??

I am very new to the tuning game and I have been in the process of tuning my Jeep with a 355 Chevy with Vortec heads and mild comp cam
    http://www.compcams.com/Company/CC/c...x?csid=98&sb=2.
    Here’s a link to my original post when I first came on board it has more details on the actual build of my Jeep and it’s motor
    http://www.gearhead-efi.com/Fuel-Inj...-proram-issues

I had Dave w of Old School EFI tune a chip for me after having issues with TBIchips.com.
    Dave has done an outstanding job getting all of the issues I was having fixed and has the Jeep running very well now.

However during this 7 month process I have learned a lot with a BIG thanks to Dave W and this forum.

I just recently bought a burn 2 from Moates so that I could burn my own chips if I needed to make small changes. Plus it just made sense to be able to burn my own chip rather than mailing them back and forth. Not to mention I believe I have caught the tuning bug and plan to continue to learn and try to increase my knowledge for future projects. I am now thinking about buying the Auto prom and selling the Burn 2.

Back on subject and my main question today has to do with the setting of the distributor’s base timing.

On my current tune I have to distributor set between 9 and 10 degrees BTDC (With anything less than 7 degrees the motor just falls on its face under acceleration).
    With the base timing in the bin set at 0 and the spark bias set at 9.84.
    Also I have double checked the balancer to make sure that it has not spun. The mark is reading perfectly on 0 at TDC. In addition I have added a knock sensor to the system that I originally didn't have.