Thread: Open Loop tuning/New to tuner pro

Fuel Injected!

Open Loop tuning/New to tuner pro

Im new to Tuner Pro and have a buddy that has a early 90's camaro wanting me to tune it. I understand the chipping process etc as i have used Moates gear in the past.

I was looking at some file i got off here to start I just dont see where i have to switch from Cloosed Loop to Open Loop.
    1. eyou have to tune in Open loop correct? this is just fundamental tuning basics.
    2. Is there a Cloosed Loop ECT table that you have to default to say 300 degrees to prevent Cloosed loop form happening such as OBD-2 GM tuning?

Thank you guys.

Depends on the mask? Most do have a Closed Loop Enable temp and then you can run Open Loop to use Wide Band data.

Or run Closed Loop and use BLM/LTFT data.

1990 Chevy Suburban 5.7L Auto ECM 1227747 $42!
    1998 Chevy Silverado 5.7L Vortec 0411 Swap to RoadRunner!
    -= =-

Fuel Injected!
    Thank you Mark.

In tuner pro can I set up my LM2 in serial mode? Ill just hold steady state in the VE and adjust accordingly to the dyno wideband if not.

So i can make adjustments to the VE table even though its still in closed loop and get my fuel trims to zero. Also what is BLM? Thank You.

There's no way to connect WB Serial like in EFI Live. There are some ways to get AD channels in some ECM/PCM using EGR if not used.

Wide Band won't help much Closed Loop, O2 sensor is going to adjust to Stoich. BLM or the Long Term Fuel Trim is data to use in Closed Loop. It goes Open Loop in PE so those numbers won't help and it's back to Wide Band.

-= =-

Fuel Injected!
    Hmm the ecu he is using is only speed density so i shouldn't need to use PE tables. At least he is just speed density seeing there is no maf on his car.